Our Organization

The CRTC’s senior roles are Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson of Broadcasting and Vice-Chairperson of Telecommunications. These are full-time positions.

There can be up to 13 full-time Commissioners. All Commissioners are appointed by Cabinet.

The Secretary General supports the CRTC’s operational activities, for example, Human Resources and Finance. The Secretary General reports directly to the Chairperson.

Reporting upwards to the Chairperson are the Executive Directors of the Telecommunications and Broadcasting Sectors as well as the Chief Consumer Officer. Supporting them are the Executive Director of Communications and External Relations and the Chief Compliance and Enforcement Officer.

Under the Lobbying Act, the Chairperson, Vice-Chairpersons and Secretary General are designated public office holders.

Date modified: