

Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission

Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes

Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2023-299

PDF version

Ottawa, 29 August 2023

Various licensees Various locations across Canada

Various conventional and educational television programming undertakings, community programming services, discretionary services, on-demand services and terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings – Administrative renewals

- 1. The Commission **renews** the broadcasting licences for the conventional and educational television programming undertakings, community programming services, discretionary services, on-demand services and terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings set out in the appendix to this decision from 1 September 2023 to 31 December 2023, subject to the terms and **conditions** in effect under the current licences.
- 2. Pursuant to subsections 49(1) and 50(2) of the *Online Streaming Act*, which made a certain number of amendments to the *Broadcasting Act* when it came into force on 27 April 2023, obligations that previously existed as conditions of licence are now deemed to be conditions imposed under an order made pursuant to section 9.1 of the new *Broadcasting Act*, or subsection 11.1(2) in the case of expenditure requirements. As such, the conditions of licence for these licensees became conditions of service and continue to apply to the licensees.
- **3**. This decision does not dispose of any issue that may arise with respect to the renewal of these licences, including any non-compliance issues.

Secretary General

This decision is to be appended to each licence.

Canadã

Appendix to Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2023-299

Conventional and educational television programming undertakings, community programming services, discretionary services, on-demand services and terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings for which the broadcasting licences expire 31 August 2023 and are administratively renewed until 31 December 2023

Conventional television programming undertakings for which the broadcasting
licences expire 31 August 2023

Licensee	Call sign and location, or description of service
Thunder Bay Electronics	CHFD-DT Thunder Bay, Ontario
Limited	CKPR-DT Thunder Bay, Ontario
2190015 Ontario Inc.	CHCH-DT Hamilton, Ontario, and its transmitters CHCH-DT-1 Ottawa, CHCH-DT-2 London, CHCH-DT-3 Muskoka, CHCH-TV-4 Sudbury, CHCH-TV-5 Sault Ste. Marie, CHCH-TV-6 North Bay and CHCH-TV-7 Timmins
0859291 B.C. Ltd.	CHEK-DT Victoria, British Columbia
Pattison Media Ltd.	CFJC-TV Kamloops, British Columbia, and its transmitters CFJC-TV-3 Merritt, CFJC-TV-4 Clinton, CFJC-TV-5 Williams Lake, CFJC-TV-6 100 Mile House, CFJC-TV-8 Chase, CFJC-TV-11 Quesnel, CFJC-TV-12 Nicola and CFJC-TV-19 Pritchard
	CKPG-TV Prince George, British Columbia, and its transmitters CKPG-TV-1 Hixon, CKPG-TV-4 Mackenzie and CKPG-TV-5 Quesnel
	CHAT-TV Medicine Hat, Alberta, and its transmitters CHAT-TV-1 Pivot, and CHAT-TV-2 Maple Creek, Saskatchewan
Télé Inter-Rives ltée	CIMT-DT Rivière-du-Loup, Quebec, and its transmitters CIMT-DT-2 Trois-Pistoles, CIMT-DT-4 Baie-Saint-Paul, CIMT-DT-6 Rivière-du-Loup, CIMT-DT-7 Les Escoumins and CIMT-DT-8 Cabano, and CIMT-DT-1 Edmundston, New Brunswick
Télévision MBS inc.	CFTF-DT Rivière-du-Loup, Quebec, and its transmitters CFTF-DT-2 Trois-Pistoles, CFTF-DT-3 Cabano, CFTF-DT-4 Forestville, CFTF-DT-5 Baie-Comeau, CFTF-DT-6 Rivière-du-Loup, CFTF-DT-7 Sept-Îles, CFTF-DT-8 Les Escoumins, CFTF-DT-9 Gaspé, CFTF-DT-10 Baie-Saint-Paul, CFTF-DT-11 Carleton-sur-Mer and CFTF-DT-12 Rimouski, and CFTF-DT-1 Edmundston, New Brunswick

CHAU-TV Communications ltée	CHAU-DT Carleton-sur-Mer, Quebec, and its transmitters CHAU-DT-1 Sainte-Marguerite-Marie, CHAU-DT-3 Port-Daniel, CHAU-DT-4 Chandler, CHAU-DT-5 Percé, CHAU-DT-6 Gaspé, CHAU-DT-7 Rivière-au-Renard, CHAU-DT-8 Cloridorme, CHAU-DT-9 L'Anse-à-Valleau and CHAU-DT-12 Îles-de-la-Madeleine, and CHAU-DT-2 Saint-Quentin, CHAU-DT-10 Tracadie and CHAU-DT-11 Kedgwick, New Brunswick
RNC MÉDIA inc.	CHOT-DT Gatineau, Quebec CFGS-DT Gatineau, Quebec CFEM-DT Rouyn-Noranda, Quebec CFVS-DT Val-d'Or, Quebec

Educational television programming undertakings for which the broadcasting licences expire 31 August 2023

Licensee	Province / Call sign and location
Ontario French-language Educational Communications Authority (TFO)	Ontario
Ontario Educational Communications Authority (TVO)	CICA-DT Toronto, Ontario, and its transmitters CICO-DT-32 Windsor, CICO-DT-59 Chatham, CICO-DT-28 Kitchener, CICO-DT-18 London, CICO-DT-24 Ottawa, CICO-DT-9 Thunder Bay, CICO-DT-53 Belleville and CICO-DT-92 Cloyne

Community programming services for which the broadcasting licences expire 31 August 2023

Licensee	Type of service and location / Call sign and location
Southshore Broadcasting Inc.	CFTV-DT Leamington, Ontario
The Valemount Entertainment Society	CHVC-TV Valemount, British Columbia, and its transmitter CHVC-TV-1 Valemount
Télévision communautaire des Basques et du Haut- Pays	Independent, French-language digital community channel, Regional County Municipalities of Les Basques, Témiscouata and Rivière-du-Loup, and their surrounding areas, Quebec
Télévision communautaire Frontenac	Independent community programming service, Montréal and its surrounding areas, Quebec

Licensee	Name of service
Knowledge Network Corporation	Knowledge
Moviola: Short Film Channel Inc.	Rewind
Wild TV Inc.	Wild tv (The Hunting Channel)
NTD Television	New Tang Dynasty Television

Discretionary services for which the broadcasting licences expire 31 August 2023

On-demand services for which the broadcasting licences expire 31 August 2023

Licensee	Name of service
Saskatchewan Telecommunications	MaxTV SaskTel Pay-Per-View
Access Communications Co-operative Limited	Access OnDemand
2251723 Ontario Inc.	Vmedia
TELUS Communications Inc.	Optik TV

Terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings for which the broadcasting licences expire 31 August 2023

Licensee	Locations/areas served
2251723 Ontario Inc.	Montréal and its surrounding areas, Quebec
AEBC Internet Corp.	Greater Victoria, Okanagan Valley, Kamloops, Nanaimo, Prince George, Courtenay, Duncan, Whistler, Powell River and its surrounding areas, British Columbia
	Vancouver and Lower Mainland, British Columbia
	Calgary, Edmonton, Lethbridge, Red Deer, Medicine Hat, St. Albert, Fort McMurray, Airdrie, Spruce Grove, Fort Saskatchewan, Grande Prairie, Stony Plain, Leduc, Sylvan Lake, Chestermere, Strathmore, Beaumont and its surrounding areas, Alberta