Public Notice CRTC 1998-62 | CRTC
 

Public Notice

  Ottawa, 9 July 1998
  Public Notice CRTC 1998-62
 

Exemption order respecting certain native radio undertakings

  1. In Public Notice CRTC 1998-4 dated 28 January 1998, and pursuant to section 9(4) of the Broadcasting Act (the Act), the Commission proposed to exempt from licensing requirements persons carrying on certain native radio undertakings. The Commission received submissions from four interested parties in response to its proposal: the Association for Indigenous Radio (AIR), a native broadcasting society; Television Northern Canada (TVNC), a native broadcaster; the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC); and one individual.
  2. The Commission acknowledges the comments and suggestions contained in these submissions, and has taken these into account in developing various modifications to the exemption criteria proposed in its January 1998 public notice. These modifications are reflected in the Exemption Order Respecting Certain Native Radio Undertakings (the Order), which is attached as Appendix A to this notice.
  3. This Order exempts native radio stations in remote areas from licensing and from most sections of the Radio Regulations, 1986 (the regulations). The Commission is satisfied that this exemption is the most efficient way to ensure that the broadcasting undertakings falling within the exempted class are able to devote the maximum amount of their limited resources to the provision of service, rather than to the fulfilment of administrative requirements.
  4. At the same time, given the important role played by this sector within the Canadian broadcasting system, the Commission will wish to maintain a record of the number and location of native radio stations operating in Canada. It is satisfied that a simple registration process will enable it to do so. Accordingly, the Commission expects new native radio stations that meet the exemption criteria and wish to take advantage of the exemption order to fill in the registration form included as Appendix B to this notice and submit it to the Commission.
  5. This registration is for information purposes only, and completion of the registration form does not constitute a Commission determination that the undertaking in question meets the exemption criteria. The registration process need only be completed once, when a new station in the exempted class begins operation. Native radio stations that have been licensed in the past need not register with the Commission.
  6. In its submission, the CBC raised certain concerns about the proposed exemption order. These concerns relate primarily to the degree of recourse available to members of a community in situations where they believe an exempted station is not adequately fulfilling its mandate. The Commission acknowledges these concerns, but is confident that the criteria set out in the purpose and description sections of the final Order provide a clear outline of the mandate and function of these services. Members of a community who believe that their local station does not meet the criteria set out in the exemption order may bring their concerns to the Commission.
  7. In Public Notice CRTC 1998-4, the Commission specifically asked for comments on whether persons operating exempted stations should be required to adhere to regulations relating to Canadian content and the retention of logger tapes.
  8. TVNC, in its comment, noted that native radio stations "usually feature local, Canadian talent and have no desire to diminish the number of hours devoted to Canadian programming." At the same time, however, it indicated that the limited resources available to these services make it "difficult to comply with the current requirements of providing broadcast logs and monitoring [Canadian content] levels."
  9. The Commission agrees with TVNC that native radio stations can continue to contribute to the Canadian broadcasting system without being required to adhere to specific regulations regarding Canadian content in music programming. The Commission further agrees that a simpler requirement would allow exempted stations, in TVNC's words, to "comply without allocating valuable resources to the necessary paperwork which could be better utilized producing and broadcasting aboriginal programs."
  10. Accordingly, persons carrying on native radio undertakings that meet the exemption criteria are exempted from the Canadian and musical content requirements contained in section 2.2 of the regulations, as amended from time to time. The text of the purpose section of the Order has been changed from that contained in the Commission's original proposal to note that "[t]hese undertakings...make the greatest practicable use of Canadian creative and other resources in the creation and presentation of programming."
  11. Both AIR and TVNC indicated that exempting native radio stations from the requirement to retain program logs and logger tapes would free significant amounts of financial and other resources that could be devoted to improving the service provided to communities. The Commission agrees that placing such a focus on improved service would be a productive use of the limited amount of resources available to these stations. Accordingly, stations that meet the exemption criteria are exempted from the logs and records requirements contained in section 8 of the regulations.
  12. In their submissions, TVNC and the CBC commented on the broadcasting of religious programming by native radio stations. The Commission considers that it would not be appropriate to include within the scope of this Order undertakings that offer a service that is primarily religious in nature. Accordingly, the Commission has added a new criterion to the exemption order to address this concern. This criterion states: "The primary purpose of the undertaking is not to provide a religious programming service." The Commission considers that this criterion will ensure that an exempted station is not used primarily as a vehicle to promote the views of one religious group or denomination in a community.
  13. The Commission emphasizes that the Canadian content, logger tape, program log and balance in programming requirements remain important components of its regulatory and policy framework for the Canadian broadcasting system. The Commission's decision to exempt certain native radio stations from those requirements is based on the fact that, although culturally important, these stations have limited resources, provide radio services in unique circumstances and, by definition, operate in areas where no commercial stations are operating.
  14. The Commission notes that AIR, although generally supportive of the proposed exemption order, raised two concerns in its submission. AIR noted that "digital radio will be the radio mechanism of the future" and questioned whether exemption would reduce the entitlement of native radio stations to digital radio frequencies. AIR also commented on the definition of a "low power" radio station and the use of low power frequencies by native radio stations.
  15. The Commission considers that the exemption of native radio undertakings should not be permitted to have any negative impact on their ability to make use of digital technology. It notes in this regard that all Type A native radio stations currently in operation have been included in the Department of Industry's allotment plan for digital radio. Although broadcasting certificates from the Department of Industry will still be required for native radio broadcasting undertakings that are exempted from CRTC licensing, the Commission expects that future requests for certificates from exempted native radio stations will not be given lower priority for digital radio frequencies than those from licensed services. Nevertheless, all stations using unprotected low-power frequencies may continue to be treated differently from stations using protected frequencies.
  16. With respect to AIR's comments about the use of low power frequencies by native radio undertakings, the Commission notes that neither the definition of a native radio undertaking nor the exemption criteria includes any reference to the level of power used by such an undertaking. Thus, a station's eligibility for exemption is not affected by this technical parameter. In the Commission's view, any other issue or concern about the definition of low-power radio stations should be raised in the context of the Commission's policy on low-power radio frequencies (as set out in Public Notice CRTC 1992-21 dated 21 March 1992).
  17. The exemption order applies to native radio undertakings whose service contours do not enclose any area in which a commercial radio programming undertaking is licensed to operate. The Commission wishes to clarify that this restriction includes areas served by the retransmission facilities of commercial stations, as well as the service areas of terrestrial radiocommunication distribution undertakings that rebroadcast the programming of a commercial radio station. In other words, native radio undertakings are exempted only where there is no commercial radio station, no rebroadcaster of a commercial radio station, and no terrestrial radiocommunication distribution undertaking of a commercial radio station operating in all or any part of the area served by the native radio undertaking or its rebroadcasters.
  18. The Commission notes that a station must meet the exemption criteria at all times. Thus, in situations where a commercial radio service, including that provided by a rebroadcaster or a terrestrial radiocommunication distribution undertaking, begins operating in all or any part of the area served by a previously-exempted native radio station, or where the previously-exempted station ceases to comply with any of the other exemption criteria, the native radio station will no longer fall within the scope of the Exemption Order and will thus be subject to licensing requirements and all applicable regulations under the Act.
  19. Finally, the Commission notes that certain native radio undertakings that do not meet the strict definition of a Type A native radio station may have been given "Type A" status on a case-by-case basis in the past. Any such station that does not meet the exemption criteria set out in the exemption order attached to this notice will not, of course, be exempted and will continue to require a broadcasting licence from the Commission.
  20. In addition to the modifications noted above, other minor changes are reflected in the final Order in the interests of increased clarity and precision.
  Laura M. Talbot-Allan
Secretary General
  This document is available in alternative format upon request.
 

Appendix A to Public Notice 1998-62

 

EXEMPTION ORDER RESPECTING CERTAIN NATIVE RADIO UNDERTAKINGS

  The Commission, by this order made pursuant to section 9(4) of the Broadcasting Act (the Act), exempts those persons carrying on radio programming undertakings of the class defined below from the requirements of Part II of the Act, with the exception of the requirements set out in sections 32 and 34. Such persons shall also be subject to the requirements of sections 3, 3.1, 4 and 5 (broadcasting content) of the Radio Regulations, 1986, with the necessary modifications
  I. Purpose
  The purpose of these radio programming undertakings is to provide radio programming that reflects the interests and needs of, and is specifically oriented to, the native communities they serve. These undertakings have a distinct role in fostering the development of aboriginal cultures and, where possible, the preservation of ancestral languages. These undertakings broadcast programming in any native Canadian language or in either or both of the two official languages, and make the greatest practicable use of Canadian creative and other resources in the creation and presentation of programming.
  II. Description
  1. The undertaking is owned and controlled by a not-for-profit organization whose structure provides for board membership by the native population of the region served.
  2. The primary purpose of the undertaking is not to provide a religious programming service.
  3. No commercial AM, FM or digital radio programming undertaking or terrestrial radiocommunication distribution undertaking that distributes the programming of a commercial radio undertaking is licensed to operate in all or in any part of the undertaking's geographical area enclosed within: (a) in the case of a native AM station, the 5 millivolt-per-metre daytime official contour; or (b) in the case of a native FM station, the 500 microvolt-per-metre official contour. For greater clarity, the official contour includes the service contour marked for each transmitter on the map that pertains to that station and that is most recently published under the Department of Industry Act by the Minister of Industry.
  4. The Commission would not be prohibited from licensing the undertaking by virtue of any Act of Parliament, of the Direction to the CRTC (Ineligibility of Non-Canadians), the Direction to the CRTC (Ineligibility to Hold Broadcasting Licences) or of any other direction to the Commission by the Governor in Council.
  5. The undertaking's programming complies with the guidelines on gender portrayal set out in the Canadian Association of Broadcasters' (CAB) Sex-Role Portrayal Code for Television and Radio Programming and the provisions of the CAB's Broadcast Code for Advertising to Children as may be amended from time to time and approved by the Commission.
  6. The undertaking meets all technical requirements of the Department of Industry and has acquired all authorizations or certificates prescribed by the Department.
 

Appendix B to Public Notice CRTC 1998-62

 

Registration for Exempted Native Radio Stations

  New native radio stations that meet the exemption criteria set out in the Exemption Order Respecting Certain Native Radio Undertakings and that have never held a licence from the Commission should complete and submit this form. This form is also available on the Commission's web site, at http://www.crtc.gc.ca .
  Community
  Province
  Name of station or Call sign
  Band O AM O FM
  Frequency
  Transmitter power (watts)
  Name of person or group
responsible for the station
  Mailing address of station
  Name, address and/or
email address of person
who completed form
(if different from above)
  This registration form is for information purposes only. Completion of this form does not constitute a Commission determination that the undertaking identified herein meets the exemption criteria set out in the Commission's Exemption Order Respecting Certain Native Radio Undertakings.
  Please complete and submit to: CRTC, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0N2, FAX: (819) 994-0218.
  Forms may also be submitted to one of the following CRTC Regional Offices:
  HALIFAX MONTREAL WINNIPEG
Bank of Commerce Bldg. Place Montreal Trust 275 Portage Ave.
1809 Barrington Street 1800 McGill College Ave. Suite 1810
Suite 1007 Suite 1920 Winnipeg, Manitoba
Halifax, Nova Scotia Montreal, Quebec R3B 2B3
B3J 3K8 H3A 3J6 FAX: (204) 983-6317
FAX: (902) 426-2721 FAX: (514) 283-3689
  VANCOUVER
530-580 Hornby St.
Vancouver, B.C.
V6C 3B6
FAX: (604) 666-8322
Date modified:

Avis public

Ottawa, le 9 juillet 1998
Avis public CRTC 1998-62
Ordonnance d'exemption concernant certaines entreprises radiophoniques autochtones
1. Dans l'avis public CRTC 1998-4 du 28 janvier 1998, et conformément à l'article 9(4) de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion (la Loi), le Conseil a proposé d'exempter de l'obligation de détenir une licence les personnes qui exploitent certaines entreprises radiophoniques autochtones. En réponse à la proposition, les quatre parties intéressées suivantes ont déposé des mémoires : l'Association for Indigenous Radio (l'AIR), une société de radiodiffusion autochtone; Television Northern Canada (TVNC), un radiodiffuseur autochtone; la Société Radio-Canada (la SRC); et un particulier.
2. Le Conseil a pris note des observations et suggestions contenues dans ces mémoires et il en a tenu compte lorsqu'il a élaboré diverses modifications aux critères d'exemption proposés dans son avis public de janvier 1998. Ces modifications se reflètent dans l'Ordonnance d'exemption concernant les entreprises radiophoniques autochtones (l'ordonnance) qui se trouve à l'annexe A du présent avis public.
3. Cette ordonnance exempte les stations radiophoniques autochtones situées dans des régions éloignées de l'obligation de détenir une licence et de la plupart des articles du Règlement de 1986 sur la radio (le Règlement). Le Conseil est convaincu que cette exemption constitue le moyen le plus efficace de faire en sorte que les entreprises de radiodiffusion appartenant à la catégorie exemptée soient en mesure de consacrer le maximum de leurs ressources restreintes à la fourniture du service plutôt qu'à la satisfaction d'exigences administratives.
4. D'autre part, compte tenu de l'importance du rôle que joue ce secteur dans le système canadien de radiodiffusion, le Conseil désire consigner le nombre de stations radiophoniques autochtones exploitées au Canada et leur emplacement. Il est convaincu qu'un simple processus d'inscription lui permettra de le faire. Par conséquent, le Conseil s'attend que les nouvelles stations radiophoniques autochtones qui satisfont aux critères d'exemption et désirent profiter de l'ordonnance d'exemption remplissent le formulaire d'inscription se trouvant à l'annexe B du présent avis et le déposent auprès de lui.
5. L'inscription se fait à des fins d'information seulement et le fait de remplir le formulaire à cet égard ne constitue pas une décision du Conseil indiquant que l'entreprise en question satisfait aux critères d'exemption. L'inscription n'a lieu qu'une seule fois, au moment où commence l'exploitation d'une nouvelle station appartenant à la catégorie exemptée. Les stations radiophoniques autochtones qui ont obtenu une licence dans le passé n'ont pas à s'inscrire auprès du Conseil.
6. Dans son mémoire, la SRC a soulevé certaines préoccupations au sujet du projet d'ordonnance d'exemption. Ces préoccupations portent principalement sur les recours que peuvent exercer les membres d'une collectivité lorsqu'ils estiment qu'une station exemptée ne remplit pas correctement son mandat. Le Conseil est conscient de ces préoccupations, mais il est convaincu que les critères énoncés dans les parties intitulées But et Description de l'ordonnance définitive exposent clairement le mandat et les fonctions de ces services. Les membres d'une collectivité qui croient que leur station locale ne remplit pas les critères établis dans l'ordonnance d'exemption peuvent soumettre leurs préoccupations au Conseil.
7. Dans l'avis public CRTC 1998-4, le Conseil a expressément sollicité des observations sur la question de savoir si les personnes exploitant des stations exemptées devraient être tenues de respecter les dispositions réglementaires concernant le contenu canadien et la conservation de rubans-témoins.
8. Dans ses observations, TVNC a fait remarquer que les stations radiophoniques autochtones [TRADUCTION] « présentent habituellement des talents canadiens locaux et ne désirent aucunement diminuer le nombre d'heures consacrées aux émissions canadiennes ». Par contre, elle a indiqué que les ressources restreintes dont disposent ces services rendent [TRADUCTION] « difficile le respect des exigences actuelles concernant la fourniture de registres de radiodiffusion et la surveillance des niveaux [de contenu canadien] ».
9. Le Conseil convient avec TVNC que les stations radiophoniques autochtones peuvent continuer de contribuer au système canadien de radiodiffusion sans être tenues de respecter des dispositions réglementaires particulières concernant le contenu canadien de la programmation musicale. Il convient également qu'une exigence plus simple permettrait aux stations exemptées, pour citer TVNC, [TRADUCTION] « de s'y conformer sans affecter à la paperasserie nécessaire de précieuses ressources qui pourraient être mieux utilisées en produisant et en diffusant des émissions autochtones ».
10. Par conséquent, les personnes exploitant des entreprises radiophoniques autochtones qui satisfont aux critères d'exemption n'ont pas à se conformer aux exigences en matière de contenu musical et canadien de l'article 2.2 du Règlement, tel que modifié de temps à autre. Le libellé de la partie But de l'ordonnance est différent de celui que contenait la proposition initiale du Conseil de manière à mentionner que « [C]es entreprises... font appel dans toute la mesure du possible aux ressources créatrices et autres ressources canadiennes dans la création et la présentation de la programmation ».
11. L'AIR et TVNC ont toutes deux indiqué que le fait d'exempter des stations radiophoniques autochtones de l'obligation de conserver des registres des émissions et des rubans-témoins permettrait de faire des économies substantielles sur le plan des ressources financières et autres et de consacrer ces économies à l'amélioration du service offert aux collectivités. Le Conseil convient que le fait de mettre l'accent sur l'amélioration du service constituerait une utilisation efficace des ressources restreintes dont disposent ces stations. Par conséquent, les stations qui satisfont aux critères sont exemptées des exigences relatives aux registres et aux enregistrements qui sont exposées à l'article 8 du Règlement.
12. Dans leurs mémoires, TVNC et la SRC ont formulé des observations sur la diffusion d'émissions à caractère religieux par des stations radiophoniques autochtones. Le Conseil estime qu'il ne conviendrait pas d'inclure dans la portée de la présente ordonnance les entreprises qui offrent principalement un service de nature religieuse. Par conséquent, afin de tenir compte de cette préoccupation, le Conseil a ajouté à l'ordonnance d'exemption un nouveau critère qui porte que « L'entreprise n'a pas pour but premier d'offrir un service de programmation à caractère religieux ». Le Conseil estime que ce critère permettra de faire en sorte qu'une station exemptée ne soit pas utilisée principalement comme un moyen de promouvoir les vues d'une confession ou d'un groupe religieux dans une collectivité.
13. Le Conseil tient à souligner que les exigences relatives au contenu canadien, aux rubans-témoins, aux registres d'émissions et à une programmation assurant l'équilibre demeurent des composantes importantes de ses cadres de politique et de réglementation du système canadien de radiodiffusion. En exemptant certaines stations radiophoniques autochtones de ces exigences, le Conseil a tenu compte du fait que ces stations, malgré leur importance sur le plan culturel, disposent de ressources limitées, oeuvrent dans des conditions uniques et, par définition, dans des régions où aucune station commerciale n'est exploitée.
14. Le Conseil fait remarquer que l'AIR, quoique favorable dans l'ensemble au projet d'ordonnance d'exemption, a soulevé deux préoccupations dans son mémoire. Elle a déclaré que [TRADUCTION] « la radio numérique sera la technologie radiophonique de l'avenir » et soulevé la question de savoir si l'exemption nuirait au droit des stations radiophoniques autochtones d'obtenir des fréquences radiophoniques numériques. Elle a également formulé des observations sur la définition de station de radio « de faible puissance » et sur l'utilisation de fréquences de faible puissance par les stations radiophoniques autochtones.
15. Le Conseil estime que l'exemption pour les entreprises radiophoniques autochtones ne devrait avoir aucune incidence négative sur leur capacité d'utiliser la technologie numérique. Il fait remarquer à cet égard que toutes les stations radiophoniques autochtones de type A qui sont actuellement exploitées ont été incluses dans le plan d'allotissement pour la radiodiffusion audionumérique du ministère de l'Industrie. Bien que les entreprises radiophoniques autochtones exemptées de l'obligation de détenir une licence du CRTC continueront d'être tenues d'obtenir un certificat de radiodiffusion du ministère de l'Industrie, le Conseil s'attend que les futures demandes de certificat présentées par de telles stations ne seront pas considérées comme étant moins importantes que les demandes provenant de services autorisés pour ce qui est de l'obtention de fréquences radiophoniques numériques. Quoiqu'il en soit, toutes les stations qui utilisent des fréquences de faible puissance non protégées pourraient continuer à recevoir un traitement différent de celui qui est accordé aux stations qui utilisent des fréquences protégées.
16. En ce qui a trait aux observations de l'AIR concernant l'utilisation de fréquences de faible puissance par des entreprises radiophoniques autochtones, le Conseil fait remarquer que le niveau de puissance utilisé par une telle entreprise n'est mentionné ni dans la définition d'entreprise radiophonique autochtone ni dans les critères d'exemption. Ce paramètre technique n'influe donc pas sur l'admissibilité d'une station à une exemption. De l'avis du Conseil, toute autre question ou préoccupation concernant la définition de station radiophonique de faible puissance devrait être soulevée dans le contexte de la politique du Conseil concernant les fréquences radiophoniques de faible puissance (exposée dans l'avis public CRTC 1992-21 du 21 mars 1992).
17. L'ordonnance d'exemption s'applique aux entreprises radiophoniques autochtones dont le périmètre de rayonnement ne comprend aucune zone où l'exploitation d'une entreprise de programmation de radio commerciale est autorisée. Le Conseil désire expliquer que cette restriction comprend les zones desservies par les installations de retransmission de stations commerciales, de même que les zones de desserte d'entreprises de distribution de radiocommunication par liens terrestres qui rediffusent la programmation d'une station de radio commerciale. Autrement dit, les entreprises radiophoniques autochtones ne sont exemptées que dans les cas où aucune station de radio commerciale, aucun réémetteur d'une station de radio commerciale ni aucune entreprise de distribution de radiocommunication par liens terrestres d'une station de radio commerciale ne sont exploités dans la totalité ou une partie de la zone desservie par l'entreprise radiophonique autochtone ou ses réémetteurs.
18. Le Conseil fait remarquer qu'une station doit remplir les critères d'exemption en tout temps. Ainsi, dans les cas où un service de radio commerciale, y compris le service offert par un réémetteur ou une entreprise de distribution de radiocommunication par liens terrestres, commence à être exploitée dans la totalité ou une partie de la zone desservie par une station radiophonique autochtone déjà exemptée, ou dans les cas où la station déjà exemptée cesse de se conformer à tout autre critère d'exemption, la station radiophonique autochtone ne sera plus visée par l'ordonnance d'exemption et sera donc assujettie aux exigences en matière de licences et à toutes les dispositions réglementaires pertinentes en vertu de la Loi.
19. En dernier lieu, le Conseil fait remarquer que certaines entreprises radiophoniques autochtones qui ne correspondent pas exactement à la définition de station radiophonique autochtone de type A ont pu obtenir, de façon ponctuelle, le statut d'entreprise de type A dans le passé. Si une telle station ne remplit pas les critères exposés dans l'ordonnance d'exemption annexée au présent avis, elle ne sera évidemment pas exemptée et continuera de devoir obtenir une licence de radiodiffusion auprès du Conseil.
20. En plus des modifications susmentionnées, l'ordonnance définitive comporte d'autres modifications mineures pour plus de clarté et de précision.
La secrétaire générale
Laura M. Talbot-Allan
Ce document est disponible, sur demande, en média substitut.
Annexe A à l'avis public CRTC 1998-62
ORDONNANCE D'EXEMPTION CONCERNANT CERTAINES ENTREPRISES RADIOPHONIQUES AUTOCHTONES
Le Conseil, par la présente ordonnance en vertu de l'article 9(4) de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion (la Loi), exempte les personnes exploitant des entreprises de programmation de radio de la catégorie définie ci-dessous des obligations de la partie II de la Loi, à l'exception des obligations mentionnées aux articles 32 et 34. Ces personnes sont également assujetties aux obligations des articles 3, 3.1, 4 et 5 (contenu de la radiodiffusion) du Règlement de 1986 sur la radio, sous réserve des modifications pertinentes.
I. But
Ces entreprises de programmation de radio visent à offrir une programmation radiophonique qui reflète les intérêts et les besoins des collectivités autochtones qu'elles desservent et qui est axée sur ces collectivités. Elles ont pour rôle distinct d'encourager l'épanouissement des cultures autochtones et, si possible, de préserver les langues ancestrales. Ces entreprises diffusent la programmation dans une langue canadienne autochtone, dans les deux langues officielles ou dans l'une ou l'autre de ces deux langues et font appel dans toute la mesure du possible aux ressources créatrices et autres ressources canadiennes dans la création et la présentation de la programmation.
II. Description
1. L'entreprise est possédée et contrôlée par un organisme sans but lucratif dont la structure permet à la population autochtone de la région desservie de faire partie du conseil d'administration.
2. L'entreprise n'a pas pour but premier d'offrir un service de programmation à caractère religieux.
3. Aucune entreprise de programmation de radio AM, FM ou numérique commerciale ni aucune entreprise de distribution de radiocommunication par liens terrestres distribuant la programmation d'une entreprise de radio commerciale n'est autorisée à être exploitée dans la zone géographique de l'entreprise ou dans une partie de cette zone située à l'intérieur du : a) périmètre de rayonnement officiel de jour de 5 millivolts par mètre, dans le cas d'une station AM autochtone; ou b) du périmètre de rayonnement officiel de 500 microvolts par mètre, dans le cas d'une station FM autochtone. Pour plus de clarté, le périmètre de rayonnement officiel comprend, dans le cas de chaque émetteur, le périmètre de rayonnement indiqué sur la carte la plus récente représentant la station et publiée en vertu de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie par le ministre de l'Industrie.
4. Il ne serait pas interdit au Conseil d'attribuer une licence à l'entreprise en vertu d'une Loi du Parlement, des Instructions au CRTC (Inadmissibilité de non-Canadiens), des Instructions au CRTC (Inadmissibilité aux licences de radiodiffusion) ou de toute autre instruction donnée au Conseil par le gouverneur en conseil.
5. La programmation de l'entreprise se conforme aux lignes directrices relatives à la représentation non sexiste des personnes exposées dans le Code d'application concernant les stéréotypes sexuels à la radio et à la télévision de l'Association canadienne des radiodiffuseurs (l'ACR), ainsi qu'aux dispositions du Code de la publicité radio-télévisée destinée aux enfants de l'ACR, telles que modifiées de temps à autre et approuvées par le Conseil.
6. L'entreprise respecte les exigences techniques du ministère de l'Industrie et a obtenu les autorisations ou certificats prescrits par le ministère.
Annexe B à l'avis public CRTC 1998-62
Inscription pour les stations de radio autochtones exemptées
Les nouvelles stations de radio autochtones qui remplissent les critères d'exemption établis dans l'Ordonnance d'exemption relative à certaines entreprises radiophoniques autochtones et qui n'ont jamais détenu de licence du Conseil doivent remplir et soumettre ce formulaire. Le formulaire est également accessible sur le site Web du Conseil, à http://www.crtc.gc.ca
Localité
Province
Nom de la station ou indicatif d'appel
Bande O AM O FM
Fréquence
Puissance de l'émetteur (watts)
Nom de la personne et/ou
du groupe responsable de la station
Adresse postale de la station
Nom, adresse et/ou adresse de
courrier électronique de la personne
qui a rempli ce formulaire
(si différents de ci-dessus)
Ce formulaire d'inscription n'est utilisé qu'à des fins d'information. Le fait de le remplir ne constitue pas une décision du Conseil selon laquelle l'entreprise identifiée remplit les critères d'exemption exposés dans l'Ordonnance d'exemption relative à certaines entreprises radiophoniques autochtones.
Veuillez remplir et soumettre au : CRTC, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0N2, FAX : (819) 994-0218.
On peut également soumettre les formulaires à l'un des bureaux régionaux suivants du CRTC :
HALIFAX MONTRÉAL WINNIPEG
Édifice Bank of Commerce Place Montréal Trust 275, Portage Avenue
Pièce 1007 Pièce 1920 Pièce 1810
1809, rue Barrington 1800, avenue McGill College Winnipeg (Manitoba)
Halifax (N.É.) Montréal (Québec) R3B 2B3
B3J 3K8 H3A 3J6 FAX : (204) 983-6317
FAX : (902) 426-2721 FAX : (514) 283-3689
VANCOUVER
530 - 580, rue Hornby
Vancouver, (C.-B.)
V6C 3B6
FAX : (604) 666-8322
also available in English

Date de modification :