ARCHIVED - Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2010-783

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

PDF version

Additional Reference: 2010-783-1, 2010-783-2, 2010-783-3 and 2010-783-4

Ottawa, 22 October 2010

Notice of hearing

9 May 2011
Gatineau, Quebec

Review of the regulatory framework relating to vertical integration

Deadline for submission of interventions/comments: 7 March 2011

The Commission hereby initiates a public proceeding to review its regulatory framework relating to vertical integration.

As part of this proceeding, the Commission will hold a hearing commencing on 9 May 2011 at the Conference Centre, Phase IV, 140 Promenade du Portage, Gatineau, Quebec.

The Commission will accept comments from interested parties that it receives on or before 7 March 2011.

[Broadcasting interventions/comments form]

Background

1.      In Broadcasting Decision 2010-782, also issued today, the Commission approved an application by Shaw Communications Inc. (Shaw), on behalf of Canwest Global Communications Corp. (Canwest Global), for authority to transfer the effective control of Canwest Global’s licensed broadcasting subsidiaries to Shaw, through a wholly owned subsidiary of Shaw known as 7316712 Canada Inc.

2.      This is but one example of a growing trend of industry consolidation and vertical integration taking place in the Canadian broadcasting industry. Others include the transfer of control of TVA to Quebecor Media Inc. in 2001 (see Decision 2001-384) and the transfer of five Citytv stations to Rogers Media Inc. in 2007 (see Broadcasting Decision 2007-360). Most recently, on 10 September 2010, BCE Inc. (BCE) announced its intention to seek the Commission’s approval for a share transfer pursuant to which BCE would acquire sole control of CTVglobemedia Inc.

3.      For the purpose of the Commission’s regulatory framework, “vertical integration” refers to the ownership, by one entity, of both programming and distribution undertakings, or, both programming undertakings and production companies.

4.      The Commission has examined issues arising from vertical integration on a case-by-case basis when considering applications for new services or for transfers of ownership or control involving broadcasters and independent production companies. The Commission acknowledges that the potential for preferential treatment exists in such cases yet remains of the view that vertical integration can lead to benefits, such as cost savings and increased efficiencies. Appropriate safeguards, where required, are applied either broadly by regulation or on a case-by-case basis in the form of conditions of licence or expectations.

5.      During the proceeding leading up to Broadcasting Decision 2010-782, several interveners expressed concerns that vertically integrated distributors have the potential to behave in an anti-competitive manner, to the detriment of the Canadian broadcasting industry. These parties proposed several safeguards in addition to those already in place to further dissuade anti-competitive behavior including, where they do not already exist, reverse onus provisions as they apply to undue preference or disadvantage allegations.

6.      Some parties requested, moreover, that the Commission provide more clarity regarding what types of conduct would constitute an undue preference or an undue disadvantage. Providing more clarity before a complaint arises would, they argued, reduce complaints and assist the Commission in dealing with any remaining complaints on a timelier basis.

The public hearing

7.      In light of this growing trend of industry consolidation and the transition to digital technology, the Commission will hold a public hearing to consider whether it is appropriate that it expand upon existing safeguards, including in particular the reverse onus provisions as they apply to undue preference or disadvantage allegations, so as to better take into account systemic changes in the broadcasting industry. It is the Commission’s preliminary view that the reverse onus provisions should be made generally applicable to all programming undertakings as well as to all broadcasting distribution undertakings.

8.      In this hearing, the Commission also intends to review and, where appropriate, update the issues examined in Broadcasting Public Notice 2005-35. Without limiting the range of issues set out in that notice on which parties may wish to comment, the Commission highlights in particular “Possible suspension of proposed changes in distribution pending dispute resolution,” identified in paragraphs 29 to 33 of that notice. The Commission’s preliminary view is that a party to a dispute should generally be held harmless during the period in which the Commission is considering the dispute.

9.      The Commission notes that the aim of this public hearing is to put in place norms for commercial interaction amongst interested parties within the broadcasting sector that would provide all players with a fair opportunity to negotiate for such key elements as programming rights and details of carriage. With specific regard to programming rights, the Commission reiterates its view that generally it prefers to see distribution of programs on a non-exclusive basis, as this enhances consumer choice and furthers a competitive workplace.

10.  It is not the intention of the Commission to interpose itself into the wholesale commercial environment, but to regulate or, alternatively, establish guidelines only where measures appear warranted by the record of this proceeding. In this regard, parties will be expected to present a compelling case that any specific ex ante and/or ex post measures are necessary and in the best interests of the Canadian broadcasting system.

Public proceeding

11.  The Commission will hold a public hearing commencing on 9 May 2011 at the Conference Centre, Phase IV, 140 Promenade du Portage, Gatineau, Quebec, to address the matters set out in this notice.

12.  The Commission invites written comments that address the issues and questions set out above. The deadline for filing written comments is 7 March 2011. The Commission will only accept submissions that it receives on or before that date. It cannot be held responsible for postal delays and will not notify a party whose submission is received after the deadline date. The submission will not be considered by the Commission and will not be part of the public file.

13.  Following the public hearing, interested parties may have an opportunity to file brief final written comments.

14.  Parties wishing to appear at the public hearing, either in person or by video conference from one of the Commission’s regional offices, must state their request on the first page of their written submissions. Parties requesting appearance must provide clear reasons, on the first page of their submissions, as to why the written submission in not sufficient and why an appearance is necessary. Only those parties whose requests to appear have been granted will be contacted by the Commission and invited to appear at the public hearing. While submissions will not otherwise be acknowledged, they will be considered by the Commission and will form part of the public record of the proceeding, provided the procedures set out herein have been followed.

15.  Persons requiring communications support such as assistance listening devices and sign language interpretation are requested to inform the Commission at least twenty (20) days before the commencement of the public hearing so that the necessary arrangements can be made.

Procedure for filing comments

16.  Interested parties can file their comments to the Secretary General of the Commission in only one of the following formats:

by using the
[Broadcasting interventions/comments form]

or

by mail to
CRTC, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0N2

or

by fax at
819-994-0218

17.  Submissions longer than five pages should include a summary.

18.  Each paragraph of the submission should be numbered. In addition, where the comment is filed by electronic means, the line ***End of document*** should be entered following the last paragraph of the document, as an indication that the document has not been damaged during electronic transmission.

Important notice

19.  All information that parties provide as part of this public process, except information granted confidentiality, whether sent by postal mail, facsimile, e-mail or through the Commission’s website at www.crtc.gc.ca, becomes part of a publicly accessible file and will be posted on the Commission’s website. This information includes personal information, such as full names, e-mail addresses, postal/street addresses, telephone and facsimile numbers, and any other personal information parties provide.

20.  The personal information that parties provide will be used and may be disclosed for the purpose for which the information was obtained or compiled by the Commission, or for a use consistent with that purpose.

21.  Documents received electronically or otherwise will be put on the Commission’s website in their entirety exactly as received, including any personal information contained therein, in the official language and format in which they are received. Documents not received electronically will be available in PDF format.

22.  The information that parties provide to the Commission as part of this public process is entered into an unsearchable database dedicated to this specific public process. This database is accessible only from the web page of this particular public process. As a result, a general search of the Commission’s website with the help of either its own search engine or a third-party search engine will not provide access to the information that was provided as part of this public process.

23.  The Commission encourages interested parties to monitor the public examination file and the Commission’s website for additional information that they may find useful when preparing their comments.

Examination of documents

24.  A list of all comments will also be available on the Commission’s website. An electronic version of all comments submitted will be accessible from this list. To access the list, select “Lists of interventions/comments” under “Public Proceedings” from the Commission’s website.

25.  The public may examine public comments and related documents at the following Commission offices during normal business hours.

Location of Commission offices

Toll-free telephone: 1-877-249-2782
Toll-free TDD: 1-877-909-2782

Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
Central Building
1 Promenade du Portage, Room 206
Gatineau, Quebec
J8X 4B1
Tel.: 819-997-2429
Fax: 819-994-0218

Regional offices

Metropolitan Place
99 Wyse Road
Suite 1410
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
B3A 4S5
Tel.: 902-426-7997
Fax: 902-426-2721

205 Viger Avenue West
Suite 504
Montréal, Quebec
H2Z 1G2
Tel.: 514-283-6607

55 St. Clair Avenue East
Suite 624
Toronto, Ontario
M4T 1M2
Tel.: 416-952-9096

Kensington Building
275 Portage Avenue
Suite 1810
Winnipeg, Manitoba
R3B 2B3
Tel.: 204-983-6306
Fax: 204-983-6317

2220 – 12th Avenue
Suite 620
Regina, Saskatchewan
S4P 0M8
Tel.: 306-780-3422

10405 Jasper Avenue
Suite 520
Edmonton, Alberta
T5J 3N4
Tel.: 780-495-3224

858 Beatty Street
Suite 290
Vancouver, British Columbia
V6B 1C1
Tel.: 604-666-2111
Fax: 604-666-8322

Secretary General

Related documents

  • Change in the effective control of Canwest Global Communications Corp.’s licensed broadcasting subsidiaries, Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2010-782, 22 October 2010

  • Transfer of effective control of 1708487 Ontario Inc., 1738700 Ontario Inc. and CHUM Television Vancouver Inc. to Rogers Media Inc., Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2007-360, 28 September 2007

  • Good commercial practices, Broadcasting Public Notice CRTC 2005-35, 18 April 2005

  • Transfer of effective control of TVA to Quebecor Média inc., Decision CRTC 2001-384, 5 July 2001

Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes
Symbole du Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

ARCHIVÉ - Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2010-783

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Les décisions, avis et ordonnances (DAO) archivés demeurent en vigueur pourvu qu'ils n'aient pas été modifiés ou annulés par le Conseil, une cour ou le gouvernement. Le texte de l'information archivée n’a pas été modifié ni mis à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les modifications aux DAO sont indiquées au moyen de « tirets » ajoutés au numéro DAO original. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Version PDF

Référence supplémentaire : 2010-783-1, 2010-783-2, 2010-783-3 et 2010-783-4

Ottawa, le 22 octobre 2010

Avis d’audience

9 mai 2011
Gatineau (Québec)

Examen du cadre réglementaire relatif à l’intégration verticale

Date limite de dépôt des interventions/observations : 7 mars 2011

Le Conseil lance par la présente une instance publique afin d’examiner le cadre réglementaire relatif à l’intégration verticale.

Dans le cadre de la présente instance, le Conseil tiendra une audience à partir du 9 mai 2011, au Centre de conférences, Phase IV, 140, promenade du Portage, Gatineau (Québec).

Le Conseil acceptera les observations des parties intéressées qui seront déposées au plus tard le 7 mars 2011.

[formulaire d’interventions/d’observations - radiodiffusion]

Le contexte

1.      Dans la décision de radiodiffusion 2010-782 également publiée aujourd’hui, le Conseil a approuvé une demande déposée par Shaw Communications Inc. (Shaw), au nom de Canwest Global Communications Corp. (Canwest Global), visant à obtenir l’autorisation de transférer à Shaw, par le biais de sa filiale à part entière appelée 7316712 Canada Inc., le contrôle effectif des filiales de radiodiffusion autorisées de Canwest Global.

2.      Ce transfert est l’un des nombreux exemples de la tendance croissante de l’industrie canadienne de la radiodiffusion au regroupement des entreprises et à l’intégration verticale. Le transfert du contrôle de TVA à Quebecor Média inc. en 2001 (voir la décision 2001-384) ou le transfert de cinq stations Citytv à Rogers Media Inc. en 2007 (voir la décision de radiodiffusion 2007-360) en sont d’autres exemples. Plus récemment, le 10 septembre 2010, BCE Inc. (BCE) a annoncé son intention d’obtenir l’autorisation du Conseil afin d’effectuer un transfert d’actions qui lui permettrait d’acquérir la totalité du contrôle de CTVglobemedia Inc.

3.      Aux fins du cadre réglementaire du Conseil, « l’intégration verticale » désigne la propriété, par une seule et même entité, d’entreprises de programmation et de distribution, ou encore d’entreprises programmation et de sociétés de production.

4.      Le Conseil a examiné au cas par cas les questions soulevées par l’intégration verticale lorsqu’il s’est penché sur chaque demande visant l’exploitation de nouveaux services ou l’autorisation d’effectuer des transferts de propriété ou de contrôle comprenant notamment des radiodiffuseurs et des sociétés de production indépendantes. Bien qu’il admette que ce genre de situations entraîne un risque de traitement préférentiel, le Conseil continue cependant à donner crédit aux avantages de l’intégration verticale (comme les réductions de coûts, de meilleurs rendements, etc.). Le cas échéant, le Conseil applique des balises appropriées soit en vertu de règlements généraux, soit au cas par cas par le biais de conditions de licence ou d’attentes.

5.      Au cours de l’instance ayant mené à la décision de radiodiffusion 2010-782, plusieurs intervenants ont dit craindre que les entreprises de distribution verticalement intégrées adoptent des comportements anticoncurrentiels au détriment de l’industrie canadienne de radiodiffusion. Ces parties ont proposé diverses balises, outre celles qui existent déjà, pour mieux dissuader ce type de comportement, y compris, lorsqu’elles n’existaient pas déjà, des clauses de renversement de la preuve applicables aux allégations de préférence indue ou de désavantage indu.

6.      Certaines parties ont également demandé au Conseil de clarifier les comportements qui constitueraient une préférence indue ou un désavantage indu. Selon elles, de telles précisions préalables réduiraient la quantité de plaintes à cet égard et aideraient le Conseil à traiter le reste des plaintes dans de meilleurs délais.

L’audience publique

7.      Compte tenu de la tendance croissante au regroupement des entreprises et de la transition à la technologie numérique, le Conseil tiendra une audience publique pour étudier la pertinence d’étoffer les balises existantes, notamment les clauses de renversement de la preuve applicables aux allégations de désavantage indu ou de préférence indue, afin de mieux tenir compte des changements systémiques de l’industrie de la radiodiffusion. Le Conseil estime à première vue que ces clauses devraient normalement s’appliquer à toutes les entreprises de programmation et à toutes les entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion.

8.      Le Conseil compte aussi, le cas échéant, revoir à cette audience les points étudiés dans l’avis public de radiodiffusion 2005-35 et faire le point sur ces questions. Sans vouloir limiter l’éventail des questions présentées dans cet avis que les parties pourraient vouloir commenter, le Conseil insiste plus particulièrement sur la « suspension éventuelle de la mise en œuvre des changements à la distribution jusqu'à résolution du différend » définie aux paragraphes 29 à 33 de cet avis. Le Conseil estime a priori qu’une partie à un différend devrait généralement être considérée comme innocente tout au long de l’examen du différend.

9.      Le Conseil note que le but de la présente audience publique est d’instaurer des normes d’interaction commerciale entre les parties intéressées du secteur de la radiodiffusion qui devront offrir à tous les joueurs une juste possibilité d’en négocier les éléments clés tels que les droits de programmation ou les détails de distribution. Pour ce qui est des droits de programmation en particulier, le Conseil réitère sa position selon laquelle il préfère que les émissions soient distribuées de manière non exclusive, car cela accroît les choix des consommateurs et favorise la concurrence dans ce milieu.

10.  Le Conseil ne compte pas s’interposer dans l’environnement commercial, mais plutôt réglementer ou sinon établir des principes directeurs uniquement lorsque le dossier de la présente instance semble justifier des mesures. À cet égard, le Conseil s’attend à ce que les parties justifient la nécessité de chaque mesure précise ex ante ou ex poste et à ce que ces mesures servent au mieux les intérêts du système canadien de radiodiffusion.

Instance publique

11.  Le Conseil tiendra une audience publique à compter du 9 mai 2011 au Centre de conférences, Phase IV, 140, promenade du Portage, Gatineau (Québec), en vue de se pencher sur les questions énoncées dans le présent avis.

12.  Le Conseil sollicite des observations à l’égard des sujets et questions énoncés ci-dessus. La date butoir pour le dépôt des observations est fixée au 7 mars 2011. Le Conseil n’acceptera que les soumissions qu’il reçoit à ou avant cette date. Il ne peut être tenu responsable des délais occasionnés par la poste et n’avisera pas un intervenant lorsque son intervention est reçue après la date limite. Dans un tel cas, l’intervention ne sera pas considérée par le Conseil et ne sera pas déposée au dossier public.

13.  Après l’audience publique, les parties intéressées pourront soumettre de brèves observations écrites finales.

14.  Les parties désirant comparaître à l’audience, soit en personne ou par vidéoconférence à partir des bureaux régionaux du Conseil, doivent indiquer leur intention à la première page de leurs mémoires. Les parties désirant comparaître doivent expliquer clairement, à la première page de leur mémoire, pourquoi leur mémoire ne suffit pas et pourquoi une comparution leur semble nécessaire. Le Conseil ne communiquera qu’avec les parties dont il a accepté la demande de comparution afin de les inviter à comparaître à l’audience publique. Le Conseil n’accusera pas officiellement réception des observations. Il en tiendra toutefois pleinement compte et il les versera au dossier public de la présente instance, à la condition que la procédure de dépôt ci-dessous ait été suivie.

15.  Les personnes qui requièrent des auxiliaires de communication comme les dispositifs techniques pour malentendants et l’interprétation gestuelle voudront bien en aviser le Conseil au moins vingt (20) jours avant le début de l’audience afin de lui permettre de prendre les dispositions nécessaires.

Procédure de dépôt d’observations

16.  Les observations écrites doivent être acheminées au Secrétaire général du Conseil selon une seule des façons suivantes :

en remplissant le
[formulaire d’interventions/d’observations - radiodiffusion]

ou

par la poste à l’adresse
CRTC, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0N2

ou

par télécopieur au numéro
819-994-0218

17.  Les mémoires de plus de cinq pages doivent inclure un sommaire.

18.  Les paragraphes du document devraient être numérotés. Pour les observations soumises par voie électronique, la mention ***Fin du document*** devrait être ajoutée à la fin du document, pour indiquer que le document n’a pas été modifié pendant la transmission électronique.

Avis important

19.  Tous les renseignements fournis par les parties dans le contexte de ce processus public, sauf ceux qui font l’objet d’une demande de traitement confidentiel, qu’ils soient envoyés par la poste, par télécopieur, par courriel ou au moyen du site web du Conseil à www.crtc.gc.ca, seront versés à un dossier public et seront affichés sur le site web du Conseil. Ces renseignements comprennent les renseignements personnels, tels que le nom, l’adresse courriel, l’adresse postale, les numéros de téléphone et de télécopieur ainsi que tout autre renseignement personnel que les parties fournissent.

20.  Les renseignements personnels ainsi fournis seront divulgués et utilisés aux fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis par le Conseil ou compilés initialement ou pour un usage qui est compatible avec ces fins.

21.  Les documents reçus en version électronique ou autrement seront affichés intégralement sur le site web du Conseil, tels qu’ils ont été reçus, y compris tous les renseignements personnels qu’ils contiennent, dans la langue officielle et le format d’origine dans lesquels ils sont reçus. Les documents qui ne sont pas reçus en version électronique seront disponibles en version PDF.

22.  Les renseignements fournis au Conseil dans le cadre de ce processus public sont déposés dans une base de données impropre à la recherche et réservée exclusivement à ce processus public. Cette base de données ne peut être consultée qu’à partir de la page web de ce processus public. En conséquence, une recherche généralisée du site web du Conseil, à l’aide de son moteur de recherche ou de tout autre moteur de recherche, ne permettra pas d’accéder aux renseignements fournis dans le cadre de ce processus public.

23.  Le Conseil encourage les parties intéressées à examiner le contenu du dossier public et le site web du Conseil pour tout renseignement complémentaire qu’elles pourraient juger utile lors de la préparation de leurs observations.

Examen des documents

24.  Une liste de toutes les observations sera également disponible sur le site web du Conseil. La version électronique de toutes les observations soumises sera accessible à partir de cette liste. On peut y accéder en sélectionnant « Liste d’interventions/observations » sous la rubrique « Instances publiques » du site web du Conseil.

25.  Les observations et les documents connexes sont disponibles pendant les heures normales d’affaires aux bureaux suivants du Conseil.

Bureaux du Conseil

Tél. sans frais : 1-877-249-2782
ATS sans frais : 1-877-909-2782

Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
Édifice central
1, promenade du Portage, pièce 206
Gatineau (Québec)
J8X 4B1
Tél. : 819-997-2429
Télécopieur : 819-994-0218

Bureaux régionaux

Place Metropolitan
99, chemin Wyse
Bureau 1410
Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse)
B3A 4S5
Tél. : 902-426-7997
Télécopieur : 902-426-2721

205, avenue Viger Ouest
Bureau 504
Montréal (Québec)
H2Z 1G2
Tél. : 514-283-6607

55, avenue St. Clair Est
Bureau 624
Toronto (Ontario)
M4T 1M2
Tél. : 416-952-9096

Édifice Kensington
275, avenue Portage
Bureau 1810
Winnipeg (Manitoba)
R3B 2B3
Tél. : 204-983-6306
Télécopieur : 204-983-6317

2220, 12e Avenue
Bureau 620
Regina (Saskatchewan)
S4P 0M8
Tél. : 306-780-3422

10405, avenue Jasper
Bureau 520
Edmonton (Alberta)
T5J 3N4
Tél. : 780-495-3224

858, rue Beatty
Bureau 290
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)
V6B 1C1
Tél. : 604-666-2111
Télécopieur : 604-666-8322

Secrétaire général

Documents connexes

  • Changement du contrôle effectif des filiales de radiodiffusion autorisées de Canwest Global Communications Corp., décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2010-782, 22 octobre 2010

  • Transfert de contrôle effectif de 1708487 Ontario Inc., 1738700 Ontario Inc. et CHUM Television Vancouver Inc. à Rogers Media Inc., décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2007-360, 28 septembre 2007

  • Bonnes coutumes commerciales, avis public de radiodiffusion CRTC 2005-35, 18 avril 2005

  • Transfert du contrôle effectif de TVA à Quebecor Média inc., décision CRTC 2001-384, 5 juillet 2001