Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
Symbol of the Government of Canada

ARCHIVED - Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2011-77

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

PDF version

Additional references: 2011-77-1 - 2011-77-2

Ottawa, 8 February 2011

Call for comments

Review of billing practices for wholesale residential high-speed access services

File number: 8661-C12-201102350

In this notice, the Commission launches, of its own initiative, a review of its regulatory approach with regard to the terms upon which large incumbent telephone and cable carriers provide their services to wholesalers, who, in turn, provide high-speed Internet access to retail residential customers. The Commission’s approach in reviewing this matter will be based on two fundamental principles: (1) as a general rule, ordinary consumers served by small Internet Service Providers (ISPs) should not have to fund the bandwidth used by the heaviest retail Internet service consumers; and (2) smaller ISPs should continue to be in a position to offer competitive and innovative alternatives.

Introduction

1.               The Internet is a driver of innovation and the backbone of a modern economy. In recent years the way Canadians use the Internet has changed tremendously, in part because of the convergence of telecommunications and broadcasting services. It is vital that Canadians be able to access the Internet.

2.               The residential retail Internet market in Canada consists of large and small service providers. The large incumbent telephone and cable companies serve approximately 94 percent of the residential retail market and have invested in and built extensive networks. In addition, there are a number of smaller Internet service providers (Small ISPs) serving approximately 6 percent of the residential retail market.

3.               These Small ISPs offer innovative services and compete with the large incumbents. However, Small ISPs have generally not built their networks to the same degree as the large incumbents and, as such, typically rely on wholesale services[1] mandated by the Commission and provided by the large incumbents to reach residential consumers. The Commission regulates the rates for these wholesale services, but it does not regulate the rates or bandwidth thresholds[2] charged by the large incumbents to their retail customers. The business wholesale market is regulated distinctly and is not part of these proceedings.

4.               Certain large incumbents implemented usage-based billing (UBB) at the retail level some time ago.  As stated above, the Commission does not regulate rates or bandwidth thresholds for retail Internet services provided by the large incumbents or Small ISPs.

Network congestion and fairness

5.               Consumers continue, and will continue, to increase the amount of bandwidth they use in accessing the Internet to engage in such activities as streaming audio or video, downloading files, or other heavy usage applications. This trend in demand can create network congestion.

6.               Accordingly, in 2009,[3] the Commission developed a comprehensive regulatory approach to Internet traffic management practices on the basis of the following key principles:

                       i.         When congestion occurs, an ISP’s first response should always be to invest in more network capacity. In a competitive marketplace where consumers have choice, it is in the ISP’s best interests to have a robust network.

                     ii.         Given that network upgrades are not always the most practical solution, if it is necessary to manage Internet traffic, this should be done through transparent, economic measures.[4]

                   iii.         Traffic shaping and other technical measures should only be employed as a last resort, and in such cases consumers should be advised in advance of the application of these measures.

7.               The Commission’s regulatory approach with regard to the matter of UBB for mandated wholesale services has been developed over time and through a series of decisions. The Commission’s approach is based on two fundamental principles:

                       i.         As a general rule, ordinary consumers served by Small ISPs should not have to fund the bandwidth used by the heaviest retail Internet service consumers.

                     ii.         It is in the best interest of consumers that Small ISPs, which offer competitive alternatives to the incumbent carriers, should continue to do so.

8.               Following a series of decisions,[5] the implementation of UBB rates charged by Bell Aliant Regional Communications, Limited Partnership and Bell Canada (the Bell companies) to their Small ISP wholesale customers, as well as changes to the wholesale UBB rates charged by certain incumbent cable carriers, was to take effect on 1 March 2011.

9.               The Commission received an application from Vaxination Informatique requesting that the Commission stay the implementation of Telecom Decision 2011-44. In addition, the Commission received a request from the Bell companies, that implementation of their revised wholesale tariffs be delayed until 1 May 2011. The Commission also received numerous comments from the general public on this matter.

10.               On 3 February 2011, the Commission announced its intention to delay the implementation of these decisions and initiate a review of billing practices regarding wholesale residential high-speed access services.

Call for comments

11.               The Commission considers that its fundamental principles related to fairness and the ability of Small ISPs to offer competitive alternatives continue to be valid. However, in light of the above, the Commission has determined that it would be appropriate to conduct a review of this matter, of its own initiative. Accordingly, the Commission is initiating this public process. The objective of this review is that Small ISPs continue to be afforded the flexibility to bring pricing discipline, innovation, and consumer choice to the residential retail Internet service market.

12.               Comments are invited on:

                       i.         How best to implement the following principles with respect to large incumbents’ wholesale services used by Small ISPs;

a.       As a general rule, ordinary consumers served by Small ISPs should not have to fund the bandwidth used by the heaviest retail Internet service consumers.

b.      It is in the best interest of consumers that Small ISPs, which offer competitive alternatives to the incumbent carriers, should continue to do so.

                     ii.         Whether the Commission should set a minimum threshold level for the sale of bandwidth by large incumbent carriers to the Small ISPs and, if so, what should it be;

                   iii.         Whether it is appropriate to hold an online consultation as part of its review; and

                   iv.         Whether it is appropriate to hold an oral public hearing as part of its review.

13.               In their comments, parties should provide full supporting rationale and all evidence on which they rely. In addition, parties requesting or proposing changes to the regulatory approach are expected to demonstrate, as applicable, how such changes would:

                       i.         Benefit consumers to allow them fulsome access to the Internet;

                     ii.         Respect the principle that ordinary consumers served by Small ISPs should not fund the bandwidth used by the heaviest retail Internet service consumers; and

                   iii.         Ensure that Small ISPs retain flexibility and continue to be a source of innovation in the industry.

14.               In light of this public process, the Commission has determined that the implementation of wholesale UBB as approved in Telecom Decisions 2010-255, 2010-802, and 2011-44 is hereby suspended pending disposition of its current review.

Procedure

15.               Parties interested in participating in this proceeding and receiving copies of all submissions must notify the Commission of their intention to do so by filling out the online form or by writing to the Secretary General (by mail: CRTC, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0N2; by fax: 819-994-0218) by 22 February 2011 (the registration date). Parties are to provide their email addresses, where available. If parties do not have access to the Internet, they are to indicate when they notify the Commission whether they wish to receive disk versions of hard-copy filings.

16.               As soon as possible after the registration date, the Commission will post on its website a complete list of interested parties, their mailing addresses, and, if available, their email addresses, identifying those parties who wish to receive disk versions.

17.               Any person who wishes merely to file written comments in this proceeding, without receiving copies of the various submissions, may do so by writing to the Commission by 29 April 2011 at the address or fax number noted above, or by using the following comments link.

18.               All parties may file comments with the Commission regarding the above-noted issues, serving copies on all other parties, by 28 March 2011.

19.               All parties may file reply comments with the Commission, serving copies on all other parties, by 29 April 2011.

20.               The Commission will not formally acknowledge comments. It will, however, fully consider all comments, which will form part of the public record of the proceeding.

21.               If a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date.

22.               Parties may file their submissions electronically or on paper. Submissions longer than five pages should include a summary.

23.               Electronic submissions should be in HTML format. Alternatively, Microsoft Word may be used for text and Microsoft Excel for spreadsheets.

24.               Each paragraph of all submissions should be numbered. In addition, the line ***End of document*** should follow the last paragraph. This will help the Commission verify that the document has not been damaged during electronic transmission.

25.               The Commission encourages parties to monitor the record of this proceeding and/or the Commission’s website for additional information that they may find useful when preparing their submissions.

Important notice

26.               Note that all information that parties provide as part of this public process, except information granted confidentiality, whether sent by postal mail, facsimile, email, or through the Commission’s website at www.crtc.gc.ca, becomes part of a publicly accessible file and will be posted on the Commission’s website. This includes personal information, such as full names, email addresses, postal/street addresses, telephone and facsimile numbers, and any other personal information parties provide.

27.               The personal information that parties provide will be used and may be disclosed for the purpose for which the information was obtained or compiled by the Commission, or for a use consistent with that purpose.

28.               Documents received electronically or otherwise will be posted on the Commission’s website in their entirety exactly as received, including any personal information contained therein, in the official language and format in which they are received. Documents not received electronically will be made available in PDF format.

29.               Please note that the information that parties provide to the Commission as part of this public process is entered into an unsearchable database dedicated to this specific public process. This database is accessible only from the web page of this particular public process. As a result, a general search of the Commission’s website with the help of either its search engine or a third-party search engine will not link directly to the information that was provided as part of this public process.

Location of CRTC offices

30.               Submissions may be examined or will be made available promptly upon request at Commission offices during normal business hours.

Toll-free telephone: 1-877-249-2782
Toll-free TDD: 1-877-909-2782

Central Building
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
1 Promenade du Portage, Room 206
Gatineau, Quebec  J8X 4B1
Tel.: 819-997-2429
Fax: 819-994-0218

Regional offices

Metropolitan Place
99 Wyse Road, Suite 1410
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia  B3A 4S5
Tel.: 902-426-7997
Fax: 902-426-2721

205 Viger Avenue West, Suite 504
Montréal, Quebec  H2Z 1G2
Tel.: 514-283-6607

55 St. Clair Avenue East, Suite 624
Toronto, Ontario  M4T 1M2
Tel.: 416-952-9096

Kensington Building
275 Portage Avenue, Suite 1810
Winnipeg, Manitoba  R3B 2B3
Tel.: 204-983-6306
Fax: 204-983-6317

2220 – 12th Avenue, Suite 620
Regina, Saskatchewan  S4P 0M8
Tel.: 306-780-3422

10405 Jasper Avenue, Suite 520
Edmonton, Alberta  T5J 3N4
Tel.: 780-495-3224

858 Beatty Street, Suite 290
Vancouver, British Columbia  V6B 1C1
Tel.: 604-666-2111
Fax: 604-666-8322

Secretary General

Related documents

  • Usage-based billing for Gateway Access Services and third-party Internet access services, Telecom Decision CRTC 2011-44, 25 January 2011
  • Bell Aliant Regional Communications, Limited Partnership and Bell Canada – Application to review and vary Telecom Decision 2010-255 concerning usage-based billing for Gateway Access Services, Telecom Decision CRTC 2010-802, 28 October 2010
  • Bell Aliant Regional Communications, Limited Partnership and Bell Canada – Applications to introduce usage-based billing and other changes to Gateway Access Services, Telecom Decision CRTC 2010-255, 6 May 2010
  • Review of the Internet traffic management practices of Internet service providers, Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2009-657, 21 October 2009
  • Revised regulatory framework for wholesale services and definition of essential service, Telecom Decision CRTC 2008-17, 3 March 2008
  • Cogeco, Rogers, Shaw, and Videotron - Third-party Internet access service rates, Telecom Decision CRTC 2006-77, 21 December 2006


Footnotes:
[1]     In Telecom Decision 2008-17, the Commission determined that the large telephone companies’ aggregated asymmetric digital subscriber line access services and the cable carriers’ third-party Internet access services were to be classified as conditional mandated non-essential services.

[2]     A bandwidth threshold is a predefined level of network usage that may be included with a retail Internet service package.  Additional rates may apply when the user exceeds that threshold.

[3]     See Telecom Regulatory Policy 2009-657.

[4]     UBB is an example of an economic measure.

[5]     See Telecom Decisions 2010-255, 2010-802, and 2011-44.

ARCHIVÉ - Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2011-77

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Les décisions, avis et ordonnances (DAO) archivés demeurent en vigueur pourvu qu'ils n'aient pas été modifiés ou annulés par le Conseil, une cour ou le gouvernement. Le texte de l'information archivée n'a pas été modifié ni mis à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les modifications aux DAO sont indiquées au moyen de « tirets » ajoutés au numéro DAO original. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Version PDF

Autres références : 2011-77-1 - 2011-77-2

Ottawa, le 8 février 2011

Appel aux observations

Examen des pratiques de facturation concernant les services d’accès à haute vitesse de résidence de gros

Numéro de dossier : 8661-C12-201102350

Dans le présent avis, le Conseil amorce, de sa propre initiative, un examen de son approche réglementaire en ce qui concerne les modalités selon lesquelles les grands câblodistributeurs et compagnies de téléphone fournissent leurs services à des entreprises de gros qui, à leur tour, fournissent des services d’accès Internet à haute vitesse aux clients résidentiels de détail. L’approche du Conseil pour l’examen de cette question se fonde sur deux principes fondamentaux : 1) en règle générale, les simples consommateurs desservis par les petits fournisseurs de services Internet (FSI) ne devraient pas avoir à financer la bande passante utilisée par les plus grands consommateurs des services Internet de détail et que 2) les plus petits FSI devraient continuer être en mesure d’offrir des solutions de rechange concurrentielles et innovatrices.

Introduction

1.         Internet est un moteur pour l’innovation et le fondement de l’économie moderne. Ces dernières années, la manière dont les Canadiens utilisent Internet a énormément changé, en partie à la suite de la convergence des services de télécommunication et de radiodiffusion. Il est crucial que les Canadiens puissent avoir accès à Internet.

2.         Le marché Internet de résidence de détail au Canada compte des grands et des petits fournisseurs de services. Les grands câblodistributeurs et compagnies de téléphone desservent environ 94 % du marché de détail de résidence; ils ont également construit des réseaux étendus et ont investi dans ceux-ci. De plus, il y a également plusieurs plus petits fournisseurs de services Internet (petits FSI), qui desservent environ 6 % du marché résidentiel de détail.

3.         Ces petits FSI offrent des services novateurs et livrent une concurrence aux grandes entreprises titulaires. Toutefois, les réseaux des petits FSI n’ont généralement pas la même étendue que ceux des grandes entreprises titulaires et, ainsi, la capacité des petits FSI à desservir les consommateurs résidentiels repose ordinairement sur les

services[1] de gros exigés par le Conseil et fournis pour les consommateurs résidentiels par les grandes entreprises titulaires. Le Conseil réglemente les tarifs de ces services de gros, mais il ne réglemente pas les tarifs ou les limites de bande passante[2] que facturent les grandes entreprises titulaires à leurs clients de détail. Le marché des services de gros d’affaires est soumis à une réglementation distincte et n’est pas visée par ces instances.

4.         Certaines grandes entreprises titulaires ont mis en œuvre il y a quelque temps la facturation à l’utilisation pour le marché de détail. Comme il est mentionné ci-dessus, le Conseil ne réglemente pas les tarifs ni les limites de bande passante pour les services Internet de détail fournis par les grandes entreprises titulaires ou par les petits FSI.

Congestion des réseaux et équité

5.         Les consommateurs continuent, et continueront, d’utiliser davantage de bande passante sur Internet pour se livrer à diverses activités, telles que la diffusion en flux de contenu musical ou vidéo, le téléchargement de fichiers ou l’emploi d’autres applications de grande utilisation. Cette tendance de la demande peut entraîner une congestion des réseaux.

6.         En conséquence, en 2009[3], le Conseil a élaboré une approche réglementaire exhaustive des pratiques de gestion du trafic Internet selon les principes clés suivants :

                       i.         Lorsqu’il y a congestion, la première mesure qu’un FSI doit toujours prendre est d’investir en vue d’accroître la capacité de son réseau. Dans un marché de concurrence où les consommateurs ont un choix de fournisseurs, il y va de l’intérêt du FSI de posséder un réseau robuste.

                     ii.         Compte tenu que la modernisation des réseaux n’est pas toujours la solution la plus pratique, si la gestion du trafic Internet est nécessaire, celle-ci devrait être effectuée par des mesures[4] économiques et transparentes.

                   iii.         Le lissage du trafic et autres mesures techniques ne devraient être employés qu’en dernier recours et, le cas échéant, les consommateurs devraient être avisés d’avance de l’application de ces mesures.

7.      L’approche réglementaire du Conseil sur la question de la facturation à l’utilisation des services de gros obligatoires a été élaborée au fil du temps par l’intermédiaire d’une série de décisions. L’approche du Conseil s’articule sur deux principes fondamentaux :

                       i.         En règle générale, les simples consommateurs desservis pas les petits FSI ne ne devraient pas avoir à financer la bande passante utilisée par les plus grands consommateurs des services Internet de détail.

                     ii.         Les consommateurs ont tout intérêt à ce que les petits FSI, qui offrent des solutions de rechange concurrentielles aux entreprises titulaires, continuent à le faire.

8.         À la suite d’une série de décisions[5], la mise en œuvre des tarifs de facturation à l’utilisation que Bell Aliant Communications régionales, société en commandite et de Bell Canada (les compagnies Bell) facturent à leurs petits FSI clients de gros, ainsi que les changements aux tarifs de facturation de gros que chargent certains câblodistributeurs titulaires devaient entrer en vigueur le 1er mars 2011.

9.         Le Conseil a reçu une demande présentée par Vaxination Informatique, dans laquelle l’entreprise demande au Conseil de reporter la mise en œuvre de la décision de télécom 2011-44. De plus, le Conseil a reçu une demande présentée par les compagnies Bell, dans laquelle elles demandent que l’entrée en vigueur de leurs nouveaux tarifs de gros soit reportée au 1er mai 2011. Le Conseil a également reçu de nombreux commentaires du grand public à ce sujet.

10.     Le 3 février 2011, le Conseil a annoncé son intention de reporter la mise en œuvre de ces décisions et amorce un examen des pratiques de facturation concernant les services d’accès à haute vitesse de résidence de gros.

Appels aux observations

11.     Le Conseil considère que ses principes fondamentaux reliés à l’équité et la capacité des petits FSI à offrir des solutions de rechange concurrentielles continuent d’être valables. Toutefois, à la lumière de ce qui précède, le Conseil établit qu’il convient de procéder, de sa propre initiative, à un examen de la question. Par conséquent, le Conseil amorce un processus public. Cet examen vise à ce que les petits FSI continuent d’avoir la flexibilité nécessaire pour amener une discipline en matière de fixation des prix, de l’innovation et du choix pour les consommateurs dans le marché des services Internet de résidence de détail.

12.     Les observations devraient porter sur :

i.        La meilleure manière de mettre en œuvre les principes suivants en ce qui concerne les services de gros des grandes entreprises titulaires utilisés par les petits FSI.

a)        En règle générale, les simples consommateurs desservis par les petits FSI ne devraient pas avoir à financer la bande passante utilisée par les plus grands consommateurs des services Internet de détail.

b)        Les consommateurs ont tout intérêt à ce que les petits FSI, qui offrent des solutions de rechange concurrentielles aux entreprises titulaires, continuent à le faire.

ii.      La question à savoir si le Conseil devrait fixer une limite minimale pour la vente de bande passante par les grandes entreprises titulaires aux petits FSI et, dans l’affirmative, à quoi devrait être fixée la limite.

iii.    La question à savoir s’il est approprié de tenir une consultation en ligne dans le cadre de son examen.

iv.    La question à savoir s’il est approprié de tenir une audience publique orale dans le cadre de son examen.

13.    Dans leurs observations, les parties doivent également fournir une justification complète et tous les éléments de preuve sur lesquels elles s’appuient. De plus, les parties qui demandent ou proposent des modifications à l’approche réglementaire doivent démontrer, le cas échéant, comment de tels changements :

i.        serviraient les intérêts des consommateurs en leur permettant d’avoir pleinement accès à Internet;

ii.      respecteraient le principe selon lequel les simples consommateurs desservis par les petits FSI ne devraient pas avoir à financer la bande passante utilisée par les plus grands consommateurs des services Internet de détail;

iii.    assureraient que les petits FSI conservent de la latitude et qu’ils demeurent une source d’innovation au sein de l’industrie.

14.     À la lumière de ce processus public, le Conseil détermine donc que la mise en œuvre de la facturation à l’utilisation de gros tel qu’il a été approuvé dans les décisions de télécom 2010-255, 2010-802 et 2011-44 est suspendue jusqu’à ce que le Conseil ait terminé son examen actuel de la question.

Procédure

15.  Les parties qui souhaitent participer à l’instance et recevoir des copies des mémoires doivent en informer le Conseil au plus tard le 22 février 2011 (la date d’inscription) en remplissant le formulaire en ligne ou en adressant leur requête au Secrétaire général par la poste à l’adresse CRTC, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0N2 ou par télécopieur au numéro 819-994-0218. Les parties doivent indiquer leurs adresses électroniques, le cas échéant. Les parties qui n’ont pas accès à Internet doivent indiquer si elles souhaitent recevoir des versions sur disquette des mémoires déposés en copie papier.

16.    Le Conseil affichera sur son site Web, dès que possible après la date d’inscription, une liste complète des parties intéressées, leurs adresses postales et leurs adresses électroniques (si disponibles), avec mention des parties qui souhaitent recevoir des versions sur disquette.

17.     Toute personne souhaitant simplement présenter des observations écrites dans le cadre de la présente instance, sans recevoir de copies des divers mémoires déposés, peut le faire en communiquant avec le Conseil à l’adresse ou au numéro de télécopieur indiqués ci-dessus ou en accédant au lien « observations » au plus tard le 29 avril 2011.

18.     Les parties peuvent déposer auprès du Conseil des observations sur les questions susmentionnées et elles doivent en signifier copie à toutes les autres parties au plus tard le 28 mars 2011.

19.     Les parties peuvent déposer des observations en réplique auprès du Conseil et en signifier copie à toutes les autres parties au plus tard le 29 avril 2011.

20.     Le Conseil n’accusera pas officiellement réception des observations. Il en tiendra toutefois pleinement compte et les versera au dossier public de l’instance.

21.     Si un document doit être déposé ou signifié à une date précise, il doit être effectivement reçu, et non pas simplement envoyé, à la date indiquée.

22.     Les parties peuvent déposer leurs mémoires en version papier ou par voie électronique. Les mémoires de plus de cinq pages devraient inclure un résumé.

23.     Les mémoires présentés par voie électronique devraient être en format HTML. Comme autre choix, on peut utiliser Microsoft Word pour les présentations de textes et Microsoft Excel pour les présentations de tableaux numériques.

24.     Chaque paragraphe des mémoires devrait être numéroté. La mention ***Fin du document*** devrait également être ajoutée après le dernier paragraphe du mémoire. Cela permettra au Conseil de s’assurer que le document n’a pas été détérioré lors de la transmission par voie électronique.

25.     Le Conseil encourage aussi les parties à examiner le contenu du dossier public de la présente instance (ou le site Web du Conseil) pour tout renseignement complémentaire qu’elles pourraient juger utile à la préparation de leurs mémoires.

Avis important

26.     Veuillez noter que tous les renseignements fournis par les parties dans le cadre de ce processus public, sauf ceux qui font l’objet d’une demande de traitement confidentiel, qu’ils soient envoyés par la poste, par télécopieur, par courriel ou au moyen du site Web du Conseil à www.crtc.gc.ca, seront versés à un dossier public et affichés sur le site Web du Conseil. Ces renseignements comprennent les renseignements personnels, tels que le nom, l’adresse électronique, l’adresse postale, les numéros de téléphone et de télécopieur ainsi que tout autre renseignement personnel que les parties fournissent.

27.     Les renseignements personnels ainsi fournis seront divulgués et utilisés aux fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis par le Conseil ou compilés initialement ou pour un usage qui est compatible avec ces fins.

28.     Les documents reçus en version électronique ou autrement seront affichés intégralement sur le site Web du Conseil, tels qu’ils ont été envoyés, y compris tous les renseignements personnels qu’ils contiennent, dans la langue officielle et le format d’origine dans lesquels ils sont reçus. Les documents qui ne sont pas reçus en version électronique seront disponibles en version PDF.

29.     Veuillez noter que les renseignements fournis au Conseil dans le cadre de ce processus public sont déposés dans une base de données impropre à la recherche et réservée exclusivement à ce processus public. Cette base de données ne peut être consultée qu’à partir de la page Web de ce processus public. Par conséquent, une recherche généralisée du site Web du Conseil, à l’aide de son moteur de recherche ou de tout autre moteur de recherche, ne permettra pas d’accéder directement aux renseignements fournis dans le cadre de ce processus public.

Emplacement des bureaux du CRTC

30.     Les documents déposés peuvent être examinés aux bureaux du Conseil pendant les heures normales de bureau, ou seront accessibles rapidement sur demande.
Téléphone sans frais : 1-877-249-2782
ATS sans frais : 1-877-909-2782

Édifice central
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
1, promenade du Portage, bureau 206
Gatineau (Québec)  J8X 4B1
Tél. : 819-997-2429
Télécopieur : 819-994-0218

Bureaux régionaux

Place Metropolitan
99, chemin Wyse, bureau 1410
Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse)  B3A 4S5
Tél. : 902-426-7997
Télécopieur : 902-426-2721

205, avenue Viger Ouest, bureau 504
Montréal (Québec)  H2Z 1G2
Tél. : 514-283-6607

55, avenue St. Clair Est, bureau 624
Toronto (Ontario)  M4T 1M2
Tél. : 416-952-9096

Édifice Kensington
275, avenue Portage, bureau 1810
Winnipeg (Manitoba)  R3B 2B3
Tél. : 204-983-6306
Télécopieur : 204-983-6317

2220, 12e Avenue, bureau 620
Regina (Saskatchewan)  S4P 0M8
Tél. : 306-780-3422

10405, avenue Jasper, bureau 520
Edmonton (Alberta)  T5J 3N4
Tél. : 780-495-3224

858, rue Beatty, bureau 290
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)  V6B 1C1
Tél. : 604-666-2111
Télécopieur : 604-666-8322

Secrétaire général

Documents connexes

  • Facturation à l’utilisation concernant les services d’accès par passerelle et les services d’accès Internet de tiers, Décision de télécom CRTC 2011-44, 25 janvier 2011
  • Bell Aliant Communications régionales, société en commandite, et Bell Canada – Demande de révision et de modification de la décision de télécom 2010-255 concernant la facturation à l’utilisation applicable aux services d’accès par passerelle, Décision de télécom CRTC 2010-802, 28 octobre 2010
  • Demandes présentées par Bell Aliant Communications régionales, société en commandite, et Bell Canada visant à instaurer la facturation à l’utilisation et à apporter d’autres modifications à leurs services d’accès par passerelle de gros, Décision de télécom CRTC 2010-255, 6 mai 2010
  • Examen des pratiques de gestion du trafic Internet des fournisseurs de services Internet, Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2009-657, 21 octobre 2009
  • Cadre de réglementation révisé concernant les services de gros et la définition de service essentiel, Décision de télécom CRTC 2008-17, 3 mars 2008
  • Cogeco, Rogers, Shaw et Vidéotron – Tarifs du service d’accès Internet de tiers, Décision de télécom CRTC 2006-77, 21 décembre 2006


Notes de bas de page :
[1]     Dans la décision de télécom 2008-17, le Conseil a déterminé que les services d’accès groupé de ligne numérique à paires asymétriques des grandes compagnies de téléphone et que les services d’accès Internet de tiers des câblodistributeurs devaient être classés comme des services non essentiels obligatoires et conditionnels.

[2]     Une limite de bande passante est un niveau préétabli d’utilisation du réseau pouvant être précisé dans un forfait de services Internet de détail. Des frais supplémentaires pourraient être appliqués lorsque l’utilisateur dépasse la limite.

[3]     Voir la politique réglementaire de télécom 2009-657

[4]     La facturation à l’utilisation est un exemple de mesure économique.

[5]     Voir les décisions de télécom 2010-255, 2010-802 et 2011-44