Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2013-602

PDF version

Ottawa, 12 November 2013

Notice of hearing

22 November 2013
Various locations

Deadline for submission of interventions/comments/answers: 18 November 2013
Deadline for submission of replies: 19 November 2013

[Submit an intervention/comment/answer or view related documents]

The Commission will hold a hearing on 22 November 2013 at 12:30 p.m., at the Commission Headquarters, 1 Promenade du Portage, Gatineau, Quebec. The Commission intends to consider the following applications, subject to interventions, without the appearance of the parties:

Applicant/Licensee and Locality

1. Rogers Communications Inc., on behalf of Mountain Cablevision Limited and Fido Solutions Inc., to be partners in a general partnership carrying on business as Rogers Communications Partnership
Across Canada
Application 2013-1479-9

2. Cogeco Diffusion inc.
Lévis, Saint-Jérôme, Val-Morin, Mont-Tremblant, Trois-Rivières, Sherbrooke and Gatineau, Quebec
Application 2013-1417-9

1. Rogers Communications Inc., on behalf of Mountain Cablevision Limited and Fido Solutions Inc., to be partners in a general partnership carrying on business as Rogers Communications Partnership
Across Canada
Application 2013-1479-9

Application by Rogers Communications Inc. (RCI), on behalf of Mountain Cablevision Limited (Mountain) and Fido Solutions Inc. (Fido), to be partners in a general partnership carrying on business as Rogers Communications Partnership (collectively, the applicant), for authority to effect a corporate reorganization within the partnership.

The applicant is also requesting new broadcasting licences to continue the operation of the broadcasting undertakings set out below under the same terms and conditions as those in effect under the current licences.

RCI and Fido, partners in a general partnership carrying on business as Rogers Communications Partnership (RCP), are the current licensees of the terrestrial broadcasting distribution undertakings operated by RCP under regional licences serving various locations in Ontario, New Brunswick, and Newfoundland and Labrador, of the national video-on-demand programming undertaking known as Rogers On Demand, and of both the national terrestrial and direct-to-home pay-per-view services known as Rogers Sportsnet.

Mountain is currently wholly owned by RCI.

The Commission notes that this corporate reorganization involves a change at the partner level of RCP, which consists of replacing RCI by Mountain as one of the licensed partners. Mountain and Fido will continue to be wholly owned by RCI.

For the purpose of compliance with the Direction to the CRTC (Ineligibility of Non-Canadians), the applicant has proposed the establishment of an Independent Programming Committee at the licensees’ level.

Applicant’s address:

333 Bloor Street East
Toronto, Ontario
M4W 1G9
Fax: 416-935-4818
Email: cable.regulatory@rci.rogers.com
Email to request electronic version of application: cable.regulatory@rci.rogers.com

2. Cogeco Diffusion inc.
Lévis, Saint-Jérôme, Val-Morin, Mont-Tremblant, Trois-Rivières, Sherbrooke and Gatineau, Quebec
Application 2013-1417-9

Application by Cogeco Diffusion inc., for authority to acquire, as part of a corporate reorganization, the assets of the radio stations CFOM-FM Lévis, CKOY-FM Sherbrooke, CKOB-FM Trois-Rivieres, CKOF-FM Gatineau, and CIME-FM Saint-Jérôme and its transmitters CIME-FM-1 Val-Morin and CIME-FM-2 Mont-Tremblant, from Cogeco Diffusion Acquisitions inc.

The applicant is also requesting new broadcasting licences to continue the operation of the stations under the same terms and conditions as those in effect under the current licences.

Cogeco Diffusion inc. is wholly owned by Cogeco Diffusion Acquisitions inc. which in turn is wholly owned by Cogeco inc.

Following the closing of the proposed transaction, Cogeco Diffusion inc. would become the licensee of the above-mentioned radio stations.

Applicant’s address:

800 de la Gauchetière Street West
Suite 1100
Montréal, Quebec
H5A 1M1
Fax: 514-874-0776
Email: mtl-telecom@cogeco.com
Email to request electronic version of application: mtl-telecom@cogeco.com

Procedure

Deadline for interventions, comments or answers

18 November 2013

The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure, SOR/2010-277 (the Rules of Procedure), set out, among other things, the rules for content, format, filing and service of interventions and answers of respondents, the procedure for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure, and the conduct of the public hearing. Accordingly, the procedure set out below must be read in conjunction with the Rules of Procedure and its accompanying documents, which can be found on the Commission’s website under “CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure.”

An intervention or an answer from a respondent must be filed with the Commission and served on the applicant on or before the above-mentioned date. An answer from a respondent must also be served on any other respondent.

In accordance with the Rules of Procedure, a document must be filed with, not merely sent to, the Commission by 5 p.m. Vancouver time (8 p.m. Ottawa time) on the date it is due. The Commission takes no responsibility for postal delays and will not notify a party whose submission is received after the deadline date. Late submissions will not be considered by the Commission and will not be made part of the public file.

The applicant, respondents and interveners are permitted to coordinate, organize and file, in a single submission, interventions of other interested persons who share their position but do not wish to appear at the hearing as a “Joint Supporting Intervention.” More information on how to do so and a template for the covering letter to be filed by the parties can be found in Changes to certain practices for filing interventions – Expansion of filing practices to include the filing of joint supporting comments for broadcasting policy proceedings, Broadcasting Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-28-1, 10 December 2010.

Interventions and answers will be considered by the Commission and will form part of the public record of the proceeding without further notification to parties, provided the procedures set out in the Rules of Procedure and this notice have been followed. Parties will be contacted only if their submissions raise procedural questions.

Submissions must be filed by sending them to the Secretary General of the Commission by only one of the following means:

by using the
[Intervention/comment/answer form]

or

by mail to
CRTC, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0N2

or

by fax at
819-994-0218

A true copy of each intervention or answer from a respondent must be sent to the applicant and, in the case of a respondent to an application, to any other respondent.

The Commission advises those who file and serve by electronic mode to exercise caution when using e-mail for service of documents, as it may be difficult to establish that service has occurred.

Parties must ensure that, before initiating service through electronic mode, they will be able to satisfy the Commission, upon request, that service was completed. The sender must keep proof of the sending and the receipt of the document for 180 days after the day on which it is filed.

Submissions longer than five pages should include a summary.

Each paragraph of the submission should be numbered. In addition, where the intervention is filed by electronic means, the line ***End of document*** should be entered following the last paragraph of the document, as an indication that the document has not been altered during electronic transmission.

Interventions and answers must clearly identify the application referred to and indicate whether parties support or oppose the application, or, if they propose changes to it, include the facts and grounds for their proposal.

In the event that an application to be considered during the non-appearing phase of the hearing is brought to an oral phase of the hearing, and if parties wish to appear, they must provide reasons why their written interventions or answers are not sufficient and why an appearance is necessary. Parties requiring communication support must state their request on the first page of their intervention. Only those parties whose requests to appear have been granted will be contacted by the Commission and invited to appear at the public hearing.

Persons requiring communications support such as assistance listening devices and sign language interpretation are requested to inform the Commission at least twenty (20) days before the commencement of the public hearing so that the necessary arrangements can be made.

Important notice

All information that parties provide as part of this public process, except information designated confidential, whether sent by postal mail, facsimile, e-mail or through the Commission’s website at www.crtc.gc.ca, becomes part of a publicly accessible file and will be posted on the Commission’s website. This information includes personal information, such as full names, e-mail addresses, postal/street addresses, telephone and facsimile numbers, and any other personal information parties provide.

The personal information that parties provide will be used and may be disclosed for the purpose for which the information was obtained or compiled by the Commission, or for a use consistent with that purpose.

Documents received electronically or otherwise will be put on the Commission’s website in their entirety exactly as received, including any personal information contained therein, in the official language and format in which they are received. Documents not received electronically will be available in PDF format.

The information that parties provide to the Commission as part of this public process is entered into an unsearchable database dedicated to this specific public process. This database is accessible only from the web page of this particular public process. As a result, a general search of the Commission’s website with the help of either its own search engine or a third-party search engine will not provide access to the information that was provided as part of this public process.

The Commission encourages parties and interested persons to monitor the record of the proceeding, available on the Commission’s website, for additional information that they may find useful when preparing their submissions.

Examination of documents

An electronic version of the applications is available on the Commission’s website by selecting the application number within this notice. It is also available from the applicants, either on their websites or upon request by contacting the applicants at their email addresses, provided above.

A list of all interventions and answers will also be available on the Commission’s website. The list is accessible by selecting “View all proceedings open for comment” from the “Public Proceedings” section of the Commission’s website and clicking on the “Interventions/Answers” link associated with this notice.

Documents are also available during normal office hours at the Commission offices and documentation centres directly involved with these applications, or, upon request, within two (2) working days, at any other Commission offices and documentation centres.

Location of Commission offices

Toll-free telephone: 1-877-249-2782
Toll-free TDD: 1-877-909-2782

Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
Central Building
1 Promenade du Portage, Room 206
Gatineau, Quebec
J8X 4B1
Tel.: 819-997-2429
Fax: 819-994-0218

Regional offices

Nova Scotia

Metropolitan Place
99 Wyse Road
Suite 1410
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
B3A 4S5
Tel.: 902-426-7997
Fax: 902-426-2721

Quebec

205 Viger Avenue West
Suite 504
Montréal, Quebec
H2Z 1G2
Tel.: 514-283-6607

Ontario

55 St. Clair Avenue East
Suite 624
Toronto, Ontario
M4T 1M2
Tel.: 416-952-9096

Manitoba

360 Main Street
Suite 970
Winnipeg, Manitoba
R3C 3Z3
Tel.: 204-983-6306
Fax: 204-983-6317

Saskatchewan

2220 – 12th Avenue
Suite 620
Regina, Saskatchewan
S4P 0M8
Tel.: 306-780-3422

Alberta

100 – 4th Avenue South-West
Suite 403
Calgary, Alberta
T2P 3N2
Tel.: 403-292-6660
Fax: 403-292-6686

British Columbia

858 Beatty Street
Suite 290
Vancouver, British Columbia
V6B 1C1
Tel.: 604-666-2111
Fax: 604-666-8322

Secretary General

Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes
Symbole du Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2013-602

Version PDF

Ottawa, le 12 novembre 2013

Avis d’audience

22 novembre 2013
Diverses collectivités

Date limite pour le dépôt des interventions/observations/réponses : 18 novembre 2013
Date limite pour le dépôt des répliques : 19 novembre 2013

[Soumettre une intervention/observation/réponse ou consulter les documents connexes]

Le Conseil tiendra une audience le 22 novembre 2013 à 12 h 30, à l’administration centrale, 1, promenade du Portage, Gatineau (Québec). Le Conseil se propose d’étudier les demandes suivantes, sous réserve d’interventions, sans la comparution des parties :

Demandeur/Titulaire et endroit

1. Rogers Communications Inc., au nom de Mountain Cablevision Limited et Fido Solutions Inc., devant être associés dans une société en nom collectif faisant affaires sous le nom de Rogers Communications Partnership
L’ensemble du Canada
Demande 2013-1479-9

2. Cogeco Diffusion inc.
Lévis, Saint-Jérôme, Val-Morin, Mont-Tremblant, Trois-Rivières, Sherbrooke et Gatineau (Québec)
Demande 2013-1417-9

1. Rogers Communications Inc., au nom de Mountain Cablevision Limited et Fido Solutions Inc., devant être associés dans une société en nom collectif faisant affaires sous le nom de Rogers Communications Partnership
L’ensemble du Canada
Demande 2013-1479-9

Demande présentée par Rogers Communications Inc. (RCI), au nom de Mountain Cablevision Limited (Mountain) et Fido Solutions Inc. (Fido), devant être associés dans une société en nom collectif faisant affaires sous le nom de Rogers Communications Partnership (collectivement le demandeur) en vue d’obtenir l’autorisation de procéder à une réorganisation intrasociété au sein de la société en nom collectif.

Le demandeur demande également de nouvelles licences de radiodiffusion afin de poursuivre l’exploitation des entreprises de radiodiffusion décrites plus bas selon les mêmes modalités et conditions que celles en vigueur dans les licences actuelles.

RCI et Fido, associés dans une société en nom collectif faisant affaires sous le nom de Rogers Communications Partnership (RCP), sont les titulaires actuels des entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion terrestres exploitées par RCP en vertu de licences régionales desservant diverses localités au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Ontario et à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, de l’entreprise nationale de programmation de vidéo-sur-demande connue sous le nom de Rogers On Demand, et des services nationaux de télévision à la carte, l’un terrestre et l’autre par satellite de radiodiffusion directe, tous deux connus sous le nom de Rogers Sportsnet.

Mountain est présentement une filiale à part entière de RCI.

Le Conseil note que cette réorganisation intrasociété donnerait lieu à un changement parmi les associés de RCP, lequel consisterait à remplacer RCI par Mountain à titre de l’un des associés titulaires. Mountain et Fido continueraient d’être détenus à part entière par RCI.

Afin de se conformer aux Instructions au CRTC (inadmissibilité de non-Canadiens), le demandeur a proposé la création du Comité de Programmation Indépendant au niveau des titulaires.

Adresse du demandeur :

333, rue Bloor Est
Toronto (Ontario)
M4W 1G9
Télécopieur : 416-935-4818
Courriel : cable.regulatory@rci.rogers.com
Courriel pour demander la version électronique de la demande : cable.regulatory@rci.rogers.com

2. Cogeco Diffusion inc.
Lévis, Saint-Jérôme, Val-Morin, Mont-Tremblant, Trois-Rivières, Sherbrooke et Gatineau (Québec)
Demande 2013-1417-9

Demande présentée par Cogeco Diffusion inc. afin d’acquérir, par l’entremise d’une réorganisation intra-société, l’actif des stations de radio CFOM-FM, CKOY-FM, CKOB-FM, CKOF-FM et CIME-FM et ses émetteurs CIME-FM-1 et CIME-FM-2, de Cogeco Diffusion Acquisitions inc.

Le demandeur demande également de nouvelles licences de radiodiffusion afin de poursuivre l’exploitation des stations selon les mêmes modalités et conditions que celles en vigueur dans les licences actuelles.

Cogeco Diffusion inc. est une filiale à part entière de Cogeco Diffusion Acquisitions inc., qui à son tour est une filiale à part entière de Cogeco inc.

Suite à la clôture de la transaction proposée, Cogeco Diffusion inc. deviendrait le titulaire des stations de radio susmentionnées.

Adresse du demandeur :

800, rue de la Gauchetière Ouest
Bureau 1100
Montréal (Québec)
H5A 1M1
Télécopieur : 514-874-0776
Courriel : mtl-telecom@cogeco.com
Courriel pour demander la version électronique de la demande : mtl-telecom@cogeco.com

Procédure

Date limite d’interventions, observations ou réponses

18 novembre 2013

Les Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, DORS/2010-277 (les Règles de procédure), établissent, entre autres choses, les règles à l’égard du contenu, du format, du dépôt et de la signification des interventions et réponses des intimés, la procédure à suivre pour le dépôt de renseignements confidentiels et pour demander leur communication, ainsi que le déroulement d’une audience publique. Par conséquent, la procédure énoncée ci-dessous doit être lue en parallèle avec les Règles de procédure et les documents qui s’y rattachent. Ces documents peuvent être consultés sur le site web du Conseil, sous « Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC ».

Une intervention ou la réponse d’un intimé doit être déposée au Conseil et signifiée au demandeur au plus tard à la date susmentionnée. La réponse d’un intimé doit également être signifiée à tous les autres intimés.

Conformément aux Règles de procédure, un document doit être déposé ou signifié à une date précise, il doit être effectivement reçu par le Conseil, et non pas simplement envoyé, au plus tard à 17 h, heure de Vancouver (20 h, heure d’Ottawa), à la date d’échéance. Le Conseil ne peut être tenu responsable des délais causés par la poste et n’avise pas une partie lorsque son mémoire est reçu après la date limite. Dans un tel cas, le mémoire n’est pas considéré par le Conseil et n’est pas déposé au dossier public.

Le demandeur, les intimés et les intervenants sont autorisés à recueillir, organiser et déposer, en un mémoire unique, au nom d’autres personnes intéressées qui partagent leur opinion mais qui ne désirent pas comparaître à l’audience, les interventions favorables à leur demande dans une intervention favorable conjointe. Le modèle de lettre d’accompagnement qui doit être déposé par les parties et plus d’information sur la façon de procéder sont énoncés dans Modifications à certaines pratiques de dépôt d’interventions – application des pratiques de dépôt aux observations favorables conjointes lors d’une instance de politique de radiodiffusion, bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion CRTC 2010-28-1, 10 décembre 2010.

Le Conseil examine les interventions et les réponses reçues et les verse au dossier public de l’instance sans autre avis de sa part aux parties, pourvu que la procédure énoncée dans les Règles de procédure et dans le présent avis ait été suivie. Le Conseil communique avec une partie uniquement si son observation écrite soulève des questions de procédure.

Les mémoires doivent être déposés auprès du Secrétaire général du Conseil selon une seule des façons suivantes :

en remplissant le
[Formulaire d’intervention/observation/réponse]

ou

par la pos

awa (Ontario) K1A 0N2

ou

par télécopieur au numéro
819-994-02

te à l’adresse
CRTC, Ott18

Une copie conforme de chaque intervention ou réponse d’un intimé doit être envoyée au demandeur et, dans le cas d’un intimé à l’égard d’une demande, à tous les autres intimés.

Le Conseil recommande à toutes les personnes qui déposent un document et en signifient copie par voie électronique de se montrer prudentes lors de l’envoi de documents par courriel, car la preuve de l’envoi peut être difficile à faire.

Avant d’utiliser le courrier électronique, les parties doivent s’assurer de pouvoir en prouver l’envoi au Conseil, sur demande. L’expéditeur doit conserver la preuve de l’envoi et de la réception du document pour une période de 180 jours à compter de la date du dépôt du document.

Les mémoires de plus de cinq pages devraient inclure un sommaire.

Les paragraphes du mémoire devraient être numérotés. De plus, dans le cas des interventions soumises par voie électronique, la mention ***Fin du document*** devrait être ajoutée à la suite du dernier paragraphe du document afin d’indiquer que le document n’a pas été modifié pendant la transmission électronique.

Toute intervention ou réponse doit clairement mentionner la demande, faire état de l’appui ou de l’opposition et, si l’intervenant ou l’intimé propose des modifications, présenter des faits et des motifs à cet égard.

Advenant qu’une demande devant être étudiée lors de la phase sans comparution de l’audience soit présentée lors d’une phase orale de l’audience et qu’une partie désire comparaître, celle-ci doit expliquer pourquoi son intervention ou sa réponse écrite ne suffit pas et pourquoi une comparution est nécessaire. Les parties qui requièrent des auxiliaires de communications doivent en faire la requête à la première page de leur intervention. Le Conseil n’invitera à comparaître à l’audience publique que les parties dont il a déjà accepté la demande de comparution.

Les personnes qui requièrent des auxiliaires de communication comme les dispositifs techniques pour malentendants et l’interprétation gestuelle voudront bien en aviser le Conseil au moins vingt (20) jours avant le début de l’audience afin de lui permettre de prendre les dispositions nécessaires.

Avis important

Tous les renseignements fournis par les parties dans le cadre du présent processus public, sauf ceux qui font l’objet d’une désignation de confidentialité, qu’ils soient envoyés par la poste, par télécopieur, par courriel ou au moyen du site web du Conseil, www.crtc.gc.ca, sont versés à un dossier accessible au public et sont affichés sur le site web du Conseil. Ces renseignements comprennent les renseignements personnels, tels le nom, l’adresse courriel, l’adresse postale ou civique, les numéros de téléphone et de télécopieur, ainsi que tout autre renseignement personnel que les parties fournissent.

Les renseignements personnels ainsi fournis sont utilisés et divulgués aux fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis par le Conseil ou compilés initialement, ou pour un usage qui est compatible avec ces fins.

Les documents reçus en version électronique ou autrement sont affichés intégralement sur le site web du Conseil, tels qu’ils ont été reçus, y compris tous les renseignements personnels qu’ils contiennent, dans la langue officielle et le format dans lesquels ils sont reçus. Les documents qui ne sont pas reçus en version électronique sont disponibles en version PDF.

Les renseignements fournis au Conseil dans le cadre du présent processus public sont déposés dans une base de données impropre à la recherche et réservée exclusivement à ce processus public. Cette base de données ne peut être consultée qu’à partir de la page web du présent processus public. En conséquence, une recherche générale du site web du Conseil, à l’aide de son moteur de recherche ou de tout autre moteur de recherche, ne permettra pas d’accéder aux renseignements fournis dans le cadre du présent processus public.

Le Conseil encourage les personnes intéressées et les parties à examiner le contenu du dossier de l’instance, qui peut être consulté sur le site web du Conseil, pour tout renseignement complémentaire qu’elles pourraient juger utile lors de la préparation de leurs mémoires.

Examen des documents

Les demandes peuvent être consultées en version électronique en sélectionnant le numéro de la demande énoncé dans le présent avis. Elles peuvent également être consultées auprès des demandeurs, soit sur leurs sites web ou sur demande en communiquant avec les demandeurs aux adresses courriel indiquées ci-dessus.

Une liste de toutes les interventions et des réponses pourra également être consultée sur le site web du Conseil. On peut y accéder en sélectionnant « Voir la liste des instances en période d’observations ouverte » sous la rubrique « Instances publiques » du site web du Conseil, puis en cliquant sur le lien « Interventions/Réponses » associé au présent avis.

Les documents peuvent également être consultés pendant les heures normales du bureau aux bureaux du Conseil et aux centres de documentation concernés par ces demandes, ou encore, sur demande et dans un délai de deux (2) jours ouvrables, aux autres bureaux et centres de documentation du Conseil.

Bureaux du Conseil

Tél. sans frais : 1-877-249-2782
ATS sans frais : 1-877-909-2782

Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
Édifice central
1, promenade du Portage, pièce 206
Gatineau (Québec)
J8X 4B1
Tél. : 819-997-2429
Télécopieur : 819-994-0218

Bureaux régionaux

Nouvelle-Écosse

Place Metropolitan
99 Wyse Road
Bureau 1410
Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse)
B3A 4S5
Tél. : 902-426-7997
Télécopieur : 902-426-2721

Québec

205, avenue Viger Ouest
Bureau 504
Montréal (Québec)
H2Z 1G2
Tél. : 514-283-6607

Ontario

55, avenue St. Clair Est
Bureau 624
Toronto (Ontario)
M4T 1M2
Tél. : 416-952-9096

Manitoba

360, rue Main
Bureau 970
Winnipeg (Manitoba)
R3C 3Z3
Tél. : 204-983-6306
Télécopieur : 204-983-6317

Saskatchewan

2220 – 12th Avenue
Bureau 620
Regina (Saskatchewan)
S4P 0M8
Tél. : 306-780-3422

Alberta

100 – 4th Avenue South-West
Bureau 403
Calgary (Alberta)
T2P 3N2
Tél. : 403-292-6660
Télécopieur : 403-292-6686

Colombie-Britannique

858, rue Beatty
Bureau 290
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)
V6B 1C1
Tél. : 604-666-2111
Télécopieur : 604-666-8322

Secrétaire général