Leonard Katz appointed Acting Chairman of the CRTC

OTTAWA-GATINEAU, January 25, 2012 — Today, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) announced that Leonard Katz will serve as Acting Chairman until the Government of Canada appoints a new Chairperson.

Mr. Katz has served as the CRTC’s Vice-Chairman of Telecommunications since October 2007. He previously served as the Executive Director of Broadcasting and Telecommunications. Before joining the CRTC, he spent 30 years in the private sector, serving as President and Chief Operating Officer of Digimerge Technologies and President of Rogers Business Solutions, among other senior roles.

Under the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Act, CRTC Commissioners may authorize one of the Vice-Chairpersons to exercise the powers and duties of the Chairperson when a Governor-in-Council appointment has not been made.

The mandate of the previous Chairman, Konrad von Finckenstein, Q.C., ended yesterday.

The CRTC

The CRTC is an independent public authority that regulates and supervises broadcasting and telecommunications in Canada.

 

Resources

Biography – Leonard Katz

- 30 -

 

Follow us on Twitter @crtceng

Media Relations:
MediaRelations, Tel: 819-997-9403, Fax: 819-997-4245

General Inquiries:
   Tel: 819-997-0313, TDD: 819-994-0423, Fax: 819-994-0218
   Toll-free # 1-877-249-CRTC (2782)
   TDD - Toll-free # 1-877-909-CRTC (2782)
   Ask a question or make a complaint

These documents are available in alternative format upon request.

 

Date modified:

Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes
Symbole du Gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Leonard Katz nommé président par intérim du CRTC

OTTAWA-GATINEAU, le 25 janvier 2012 — Aujourd’hui, le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) a annoncé que Leonard Katz assurerait l’intérim de la présidence jusqu’à ce que le gouvernement du Canada nomme un nouveau président.

M. Katz assure les fonctions de vice-président des Télécommunications au CRTC depuis octobre 2007. Auparavant, il a occupé le poste de directeur exécutif de la Radiodiffusion et des Télécommunications. Avant de se joindre au Conseil, il a travaillé 30 ans dans le secteur privé, occupant entre autres les postes de président et directeur de l’exploitation de Digimerge Technologies et de Rogers Business Solutions.

En vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, les conseillers du CRTC peuvent, en cas de vacance du poste de président, autoriser l’un des vice-présidents à assumer la présidence si le gouverneur en conseil n’a pas annoncé une nomination.

Le mandat du président sortant, Konrad von Finckenstein, c.r., s’est terminé hier.

Le CRTC

Le CRTC est un organisme public indépendant qui réglemente et surveille la radiodiffusion et les télécommunications au Canada.

 

- 30 -

 

Suivez nous sur Twitter @CRTCfra

Relations avec les médias :
   Relations médiatiques, Tél. : 819-997-9403, télécopieur : 819-997-4245

Renseignements généraux :
   Tél. : (819) 997-0313, ATME : 819-994-0423, télécopieur : 819-994-0218
   No sans frais 1-877-249-CRTC (2782)
   ATME - No sans frais 1-877-909-CRTC (2782)
   Question à poser ou plainte à formuler?

Ces documents sont disponibles, sur demande, en média substitut.