Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
Symbol of the Government of Canada

CRTC denies BCE’s bid to acquire Astral

Transaction not in the interest of Canadians and Canada’s broadcasting system

OTTAWA-GATINEAU, October 18, 2012 — Today, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) denied BCE’s application to acquire control of Astral Media’s television and radio services because it is not in the public interest. Astral Media operates 84 radio stations and 20 pay and specialty television channels in both official languages.

“BCE failed to persuade us that the deal would benefit Canadians,” said Jean-Pierre Blais, Chairman of the CRTC. “It would have placed significant market power in the hands of one of the country’s largest media companies. We could not have ensured a robust Canadian broadcasting system without imposing extensive and intrusive safeguards, which would have been to the detriment of the entire industry.”

The proposed transaction raised substantial concerns related to healthy competition, the concentration of ownership in the television and radio markets, vertical integration and the exercise of market power in an anti-competitive manner. The CRTC was not persuaded that the transaction would have provided significant and unequivocal benefits to the Canadian broadcasting system and to Canadians sufficient to outweigh its concerns.

BCE already controls numerous television and radio services, as well as a national broadcasting distribution service. It is the largest Internet service provider in Canada, the second largest wireless service provider and the third largest television distributor. The acquisition of Astral Media’s services would have created a situation where a company of BCE’s size and scale would be able to exert its market power unfairly and hinder healthy competition.

The CRTC also denied BCE’s application to convert CKGM Montréal from an English- to a French-language station. BCE indicated that it was only interested in changing the station’s language format if its acquisition of Astral Media were approved.

Today’s decision follows a public proceeding, which included a public hearing held from September 10 to 14, 2012.

Broadcasting Decision CRTC 2012-574

The CRTC

The CRTC is an administrative tribunal that regulates and supervises broadcasting and telecommunications in Canada.

 

- 30 -

 

Follow us on Twitter @crtceng

Media Relations:
communications@crtc.gc.ca
Tel: 819-997-9403, Fax: 819-997-4245

General Inquiries:
   Tel: 819-997-0313, TDD: 819-994-0423, Fax: 819-994-0218
   Toll-free # 1-877-249-CRTC (2782)
   TDD - Toll-free # 1-877-909-CRTC (2782)
   Ask a question or make a complaint

These documents are available in alternative format upon request.


Background information on the public interest test

The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission’s (CRTC) mandate is to regulate and supervise the Canadian broadcasting system in the public interest. This includes granting television and radio licences, and authorizing the transfer of those licences.

There is no single definition of the “public interest” test. To determine if an ownership transaction is in the public interest, the CRTC relies on the various policy objectives set out in the Broadcasting Act. The provisions relevant to the examination of a transaction include:

  • the Canadian broadcasting system, operating primarily in the English and French languages and comprising public, private and community elements, makes use of radio frequencies that are public property and provides, through its programming, a public service essential to the maintenance and enhancement of national identity and cultural sovereignty [section 3(1)(b)]
  • English and French-language broadcasting, while sharing common aspects, operate under different conditions and may have different requirements [section 3(1)(c)]
  • the Canadian broadcasting system should:
    • …serve to safeguard, enrich and strengthen the cultural, political, social and economic fabric of Canada [section 3(1)(d)(i)], and
    • …encourage the development of Canadian expression by providing a wide range of programming that reflects Canadian attitudes, opinions, ideas, values and artistic creativity, by displaying Canadian talent in entertainment programming and by offering information and analysis concerning Canada and other countries from a Canadian point of view [section 3(1)(d)(ii)]
  • the programming provided by the Canadian broadcasting system should…(i) be varied and comprehensive…(ii) be drawn from local, regional, national and international sources…(iv) provide a reasonable opportunity for the public to be exposed to the expression of differing views on matters of public concern, and (v) include a significant contribution from the independent production sector [section 3(1)(i)]

Where a transaction raises concerns regarding access to programming services by television distributors, the CRTC applies two other sections of the Act. These provisions stipulate that television distributors should:

  • provide efficient delivery of programming at affordable rates, using the most effective technologies available at reasonable cost [section 3(t)(ii)]
  • where programming services are supplied to them by broadcasting undertakings pursuant to contractual arrangements, provide reasonable terms for the carriage, packaging and retailing of those programming services [section 3(t)(iii)]

The public interest is also defined by the policies and regulations the CRTC has established to support the Act’s objectives.

Broadcasters do not own their television and radio licences. They must obtain the CRTC’s approval for any change of ownership. Given that competing applications are not solicited, the applicant has the duty to demonstrate that its proposal would provide significant benefits to the Canadian broadcasting system.

This approach was first expressed by the CRTC in a working paper published in 1978, Proposed CRTC Procedures and Practices Relating to a Broadcasting Matter. At the time, the CRTC expressed that the duty to demonstrate that a transaction is in the public interest “becomes of extra importance in the case of a transaction which by its very magnitude is likely to have a major impact on the broadcasting system.”

In 1986, the CRTC further elaborated on its approach in its decision to deny Power Corp.’s application to acquire Télé-Métropole (Broadcasting Decision CRTC 1986-367). The CRTC stated that the onus was on the applicant to demonstrate that its proposal was the best one under the circumstances, given the potentially negative consequences of ownership concentration.

In 1989, the CRTC set out its approach to ownership transactions in a public notice (Public Notice CRTC 1989-109). In this notice, the CRTC explicitly stated that:

  • the applicant must demonstrate that the proposed transaction is in the public interest
  • it is the applicant’s responsibility to demonstrate that its application is the best possible proposal, and
  • the applicant must propose a package of “significant and unequivocal benefits that will yield measurable improvements to the communities served by the broadcasting service and to the Canadian broadcasting system.”

This chart shows the share of total viewing hours by broadcaster for the English-language TV market. Bell: 33.7% (or 202,042,000 hours), Astral: 6.0% (or 36,045,000 hours), Astral’s Joint Ventures: 3.0% (or 18,300,000 hours), Bell/Astral Combined:  42.7% (or 256,387,000 hours), Shaw: 21.9% (or 131,187,000 hours), Corus: 10.4% (or 64,516,000 hours), Rogers: 8.7% (or 52,274,000 hours), CBC/SRC:  9.4% (or 56,362,000 hours), Others: 6.4% (or 38,211,000 hours).

This chart shows the share of total viewing hours by broadcaster for the French-language TV market. Bell: 8.3% (or 17,831,000 hours), Astral: 16.6% (or 35,760,000 hours), Astral’s Joint Ventures: 8.2% (or 17,653,000 hours), Bell/Astral Combined:  33.1% (or 71,245,000 hours), Québecor: 30.5% (or 65,738,000 hours), Remstar: 7.7% (or 16,544,000 hours), CBC/SRC:  18.3% (or 39,558,000 hours), Others: 16.4% (or 22,518,000 hours).

Le CRTC refuse d’autoriser l’achat d’Astral par BCE

La transaction ne sert pas l’intérêt des Canadiens ni celui du système canadien de radiodiffusion

OTTAWA-GATINEAU, le 18 octobre 2012 — Aujourd’hui, le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) a refusé la demande de BCE d’acquérir le contrôle des services de télévision et de radio d’Astral Media, parce que cette transaction ne sert pas l’intérêt public. Astral Media exploite 84 stations de radio et 20 services de télévision payante et spécialisée dans les deux langues officielles.

« BCE n’a pas apporté de preuve convaincante que la transaction profiterait aux Canadiens », a indiqué le président du CRTC, Jean-Pierre Blais. « Cette transaction aurait donné un immense pouvoir commercial à l’une des plus grandes entreprises canadiennes de médias. Pour assurer la solidité du système canadien de radiodiffusion, le CRTC aurait dû imposer des balises étendues et importunes, qui auraient nui à toute l’industrie. »

La transaction proposée soulevait des préoccupations sérieuses à l’égard de la saine concurrence, de la concentration de la propriété dans les marchés de la radio et de la télévision, de l’intégration verticale ainsi que de l’exercice anticoncurrentiel du pouvoir dans le marché. Le CRTC n’est pas convaincu que cette transaction aurait procuré aux Canadiens et au système canadien de radiodiffusion suffisamment d’avantages à la fois importants et sans équivoque pour l’emporter sur ces préoccupations.

BCE contrôle déjà de nombreux services de radio et de télévision, de même qu’un service national de distribution de radiodiffusion. Elle est le premier fournisseur de services Internet au Canada, le deuxième fournisseur de services sans fil et la troisième entreprise de distribution de télévision. L’acquisition des services d’Astral Media aurait créé une situation où une société de la taille et de l’envergure de BCE aurait pu exercer son pouvoir commercial de manière inéquitable et faire obstacle à une saine concurrence.

Le CRTC a aussi refusé la demande de BCE de convertir la station de radio de langue anglaise CKGM Montréal en une station de langue française. BCE avait indiqué n’être intéressée à cette modification de la langue de la station que si son projet d’acquisition d’Astral Media était approuvé.

La décision rendue aujourd’hui fait suite à une instance publique, qui a comporté une audience publique tenue du 10 au 14 septembre 2012.

Décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2012-574

Le CRTC

Le CRTC est un tribunal administratif qui réglemente et surveille la radiodiffusion et les télécommunications au Canada.

 

Ressources

Décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 2012-574

Avis de consultation CRTC 2012-370

Images

Marché de la télé de langue anglaise

Marché de la télé de langue française

- 30 -

 

Suivez nous sur Twitter @CRTCfra

Relations avec les médias :
communications@crtc.gc.ca
Tél. : 819-997-9403, télécopieur : 819-997-4245

Renseignements généraux :
   Tél. : (819) 997-0313, ATME : 819-994-0423, télécopieur : 819-994-0218
   No sans frais 1-877-249-CRTC (2782)
   ATME - No sans frais 1-877-909-CRTC (2782)
   Question à poser ou plainte à formuler?

Ces documents sont disponibles, sur demande, en média substitut.


Renseignements supplémentaires sur le critère de l’intérêt public

Le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) a pour mandat de réglementer et de surveiller le système canadien de radiodiffusion dans l’intérêt public. Ses responsabilités comprennent l’attribution de licences de radio et de télévision et l’autorisation de transférer ces licences.

Il n’existe pas de définition unique du critère de l’intérêt public. Afin de décider si une transaction de propriété est dans l’intérêt public, le CRTC fait appel aux différents objectifs de la politique énoncée dans la Loi sur la radiodiffusion (la Loi). Les dispositions pertinentes à l’examen d’une transaction comprennent les suivantes :

  • le système canadien de radiodiffusion, composé d’éléments publics, privés et communautaires, utilise des fréquences qui sont du domaine public et offre, par sa programmation essentiellement en français et en anglais, un service public essentiel pour le maintien et la valorisation de l’identité nationale et de la souveraineté culturelle; [article 3(1)b)]
  • les radiodiffusions de langues française et anglaise, malgré certains points communs, diffèrent quant à leurs conditions d’exploitation et, éventuellement, quant à leurs besoins; [article 3(1)c)]
  • le système canadien de radiodiffusion devrait :
    • […] servir à sauvegarder, enrichir et renforcer la structure culturelle, politique, sociale et économique du Canada [article 3(1)d)(i)]; et
    • […] favoriser l’épanouissement de l’expression canadienne en proposant une très large programmation qui traduise des attitudes, des opinions, des idées, des valeurs et une créativité artistique canadiennes, qui mette en valeur des divertissements faisant appel à des artistes canadiens et qui fournisse de l’information et de l’analyse concernant le Canada et l’étranger considérés d’un point de vue canadien; [article 3(1)d)(ii)]
  • la programmation offerte par le système canadien de radiodiffusion devrait à la fois (i) être variée et aussi large que possible […] (ii) puiser aux sources locales, régionales, nationales et internationales […] (iv) dans la mesure du possible, offrir au public l’occasion de prendre connaissance d’opinions divergentes sur les sujets qui l’intéressent, et (v) faire appel de façon notable aux producteurs canadiens indépendants. [article 3(1)i)]

Lorsqu’une transaction soulève des inquiétudes sur l’accès des entreprises de distribution de télévision aux services de programmation, le CRTC applique deux autres articles de la Loi qui prévoient que les entreprises de distribution de télévision :

  • devraient assurer efficacement, à l’aide des techniques les plus efficientes, la fourniture de la programmation à des tarifs abordables; [article 3t)(ii)]
  • devraient offrir des conditions acceptables relativement à la fourniture, la combinaison et la vente des services de programmation qui leur sont fournis, aux termes d’un contrat, par les entreprises de radiodiffusion. [article 3t)(iii)]

L’intérêt public est aussi déterminé par les règlements et les politiques que le CRTC a mis au point au soutien des objectifs de la Loi.

Les radiodiffuseurs ne sont pas propriétaires de leurs licences de radio et de télévision. Ils doivent demander l’autorisation du CRTC pour transférer leurs licences. Étant donné que, dans ces cas, il n’y a pas d’appel de demandes concurrentes, le demandeur a le fardeau de démontrer que sa proposition procurera des avantages importants au système canadien de radiodiffusion.

Cette approche a été énoncée pour la première fois dans un document de travail du CRTC publié en 1978 et intitulé Projet des pratiques et méthodes du CRTC relatives aux questions de radiodiffusion. Le CRTC avait alors exprimé l’avis que le fardeau de prouver qu’une transaction est dans l’intérêt public est particulièrement important lorsque celle-ci est d’une envergure telle qu’elle peut vraisemblablement avoir une grande incidence sur le système de radiodiffusion.

En 1986, le CRTC avait précisé son approche à l’occasion de sa décision de refuser la demande de Power Corporation en vue d’acquérir Télé-Métropole (décision de radiodiffusion CRTC 86-367). Le CRTC avait alors déclaré qu’il incombait exclusivement au demandeur de lui prouver que sa demande constituait la meilleure proposition dans les circonstances, compte tenu des conséquences potentiellement négatives d’une concentration de propriété.

En 1989, le CRTC a défini son approche en matière de transactions de propriété dans un avis public (avis public CRCT 89-109) dans lequel il a explicitement déclaré ce qui suit :

  • la requérante doit prouver que la transaction proposée sert l’intérêt public;
  • il incombe au demandeur de prouver que sa demande représente la meilleure proposition possible; et
  • le demandeur doit proposer un bloc précis « d’avantages significatifs et sans équivoque qui se traduiront par des améliorations mesurables pour les localités desservies par l’entreprise de radiodiffusion et pour le système de la radiodiffusion canadienne ».

Ce graphique présente la répartition en pourcentage des heures d’écoute par diffuseur du marché de la télévision de langue anglaise.  Bell: 33,7 % (ou 202 042 000 heures), Astral: 6,0 % (ou 36 045 000 heures), coentreprises d’Astral: 3,0 % (ou 18 300 000 heures), Bell/Astral combiné:  42,7 % (ou 256 387 000 heures), Shaw: 21,9 % (ou 131 187 000 heures), Corus: 10,4 % (ou 64 516 000 heures), Rogers: 8,7 % (ou 52 274 000 heures), SRC/CBC:  9,4 % (ou 56 362 000 heures), autres: 6,4 % (ou 38 211 000 heures).

Ce graphique présente la répartition en pourcentage des heures d’écoute par diffuseur du marché de la télévision de langue française.  Bell: 8,3 % (ou 17 831 000 heures), Astral: 16,6 % (ou 35 760 000 heures), coentreprises d’Astral: 8,2 % (ou 17 653 000 heures), Bell/Astral combiné:  33,1 % (ou 71 245 000 heures), Québecor: 30,5 % (ou 65 738 000 heures), Remstar: 7,7 % (ou 16 544 000 heures), SRC/CBC:  18,3 % (ou 39 558 000 heures), autres: 16,4 % (ou 22 518 000 heures).