CRTC releases 2012 financial results for Canadian commercial radio stations

OTTAWA-GATINEAU, June 19, 2013 — Today, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) released statistical and financial information on the 675 commercial radio stations operating in Canada. These annual reports allow Canadians to stay informed about the state of the Canadian communications industry.

Revenues for the broadcast year ended August 31, 2012, increased marginally over the previous year despite competition from satellite, online and mobile services. Total revenues for AM and FM stations increased by 0.4%, from $1.61 billion in 2011 to $1.62 billion in 2012. Expenses declined by $3.7 million during the same period. As a result, profits before interest and taxes (PBIT) rose from $311 million to $323 million, and the PBIT margin improved from 19.3% to 19.9%.

Revenues generated by commercial radio stations are used to provide a variety of programming to Canadians, support established and emerging Canadian talent, and offer employment opportunities to thousands of Canadians. In 2012, these stations employed 10,050 people and paid $681 million in salaries.

FM radio

Canada’s FM radio stations continued to generate the majority of total revenues. The addition of 11 new FM stations in 2012 brought the number operating in Canada to 546. In 2012, these stations earned $1.31 billion in revenues, slightly up from $1.3 billion in 2011, while producing a wide array of high-quality Canadian programming that informs and entertains listeners.

Revenues for English-language FM stations remained virtually the same at $1.04 billion, while those for French-language FM stations increased by 1.7% to $251.8 million. Revenues for ethnic FM stations grew by 1.9% for a total of $20 million.

AM radio

The number of AM stations in Canada declined from 134 in 2011 to 129 in 2012 as some stations converted to the FM band. This trend is reflected in the total revenues, which declined by 1.6% to $306 million compared to $311 million in 2011.

Earnings for English-language AM stations remained relatively the same at approximately $275 million. In contrast, ethnic AM stations saw their revenues increase by over 3% to $25.2 million.

Commercial radio policy

In its recently released Three-Year Plan, the CRTC announced that it will be reviewing its commercial radio policy in 2013-2014. This review will be launched in fall 2013.

CRTC reports

Each year, the CRTC compiles financial data on the Canadian broadcasting and telecommunications industries to produce a series of reports. This year’s report on the radio sector provides data on a national basis and by individual markets, as well as on the 82 radio stations operated by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.

The CRTC recently published the 2012 financial results for conventional television stations, specialty, pay and pay-per-view television services and video-on-demand services, and broadcasting distribution companies. It will publish the 2013 edition of its Communications Monitoring Report in September.

Commercial Radio – Statistical and Financial Summaries 2008–2012

The CRTC

The CRTC is an administrative tribunal that regulates and supervises broadcasting and telecommunications in Canada.

 

Resources

Commercial Radio - Statistical and Financial Summaries 2008-2012

- 30 -

 

Follow us on Twitter @crtceng

Media Relations:
communications@crtc.gc.ca
Tel: 819-997-9403, Fax: 819-997-4245

General Inquiries:
   Tel: 819-997-0313, TDD: 819-994-0423, Fax: 819-994-0218
   Toll-free # 1-877-249-CRTC (2782)
   TDD - Toll-free # 1-877-909-CRTC (2782)
   Ask a question or make a complaint

These documents are available in alternative format upon request.

 

Date modified:

Le CRTC publie les résultats financiers de 2012 concernant les stations de radio commerciale canadiennes

OTTAWA-GATINEAU, le 19 juin 2013 — Aujourd’hui, le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) a publié des données statistiques et financières sur les 675 stations de radio commerciale exploitées au Canada. Ces rapports annuels permettent aux Canadiens et aux autres parties intéressées de demeurer informés de la situation de l’industrie canadienne des communications.

Les recettes pour l’année de radiodiffusion ayant pris fin le 31 août 2012 ont légèrement augmenté par rapport à l’an dernier en dépit de la concurrence des services par satellite, en ligne et mobiles. Les recettes totales des stations AM et FM ont augmenté de 0,4 %, de 1.61 milliard de dollars en 2011 à 1,62 milliard de dollars en 2012. Les dépenses ont diminué de 3,7 millions de dollars au cours de la même période. Par conséquent, les bénéfices avant intérêts et impôts (BAII) ont grimpé de 311 à 323 millions de dollars ce qui s’est traduit par une hausse de la marge de BAII (en pourcentage), qui a passé de 19,3 % à 19,9 %.

Les revenus générés par les stations de radio commerciale permettent d’offrir une variété d’émissions aux Canadiens, d’appuyer les artistes canadiens établis et émergents et d’offrir des emplois à des milliers de Canadiens. En 2012, ces stations ont employé 10 050 personnes et versé 681 millions de dollars en salaires.

Radio FM

Les stations de radio FM canadiennes ont continué de produire la majeure partie des revenus totaux. L’ajout de onze nouvelles stations FM en 2012 a porté le nombre de stations exploitées au pays à 546. Ensemble, ces stations ont réalisé des gains de 1,31 milliard de dollars en 2012, ce qui représente une légère hausse par rapport aux 1,3 milliard de dollars de l’année précédente, et produit une vaste gamme d’émissions canadiennes de qualité qui renseignent et divertissent les auditeurs.

Les recettes des stations de radio FM de langue anglaise n’ont pratiquement pas varié à 1,04 milliard de dollars, alors que celles des stations FM de langue française ont fait un gain de 1,7 % à 251,8 millions de dollars. Les revenus des stations FM à caractère ethnique ont grimpé de 1,9 % pour atteindre un total de 20 millions de dollars.

Radio AM

Le nombre de stations AM au Canada a diminué de 134 en 2011 à 129 en 2012 en raison de la conversion de certaines d’entre elles à la bande FM. Cette tendance s’est répercutée sur les recettes totales qui ont chuté de 1,6 %, pour un total de 306 millions de dollars par rapport à 311 millions de dollars en 2011.

Les gains pour les stations AM de langue anglaise sont demeurés relativement les mêmes à environ 275 millions de dollars. Par contre, les stations AM à caractère ethnique ont vu leurs revenus croître de plus de 3 %, atteignant 25,2 millions de dollars.

Politique de la radio commerciale

Dans son plus récent plan triennal, le CRTC a annoncé qu’il réviserait sa politique sur la radio commerciale en 2013-2014.  Cette revue sera lancée à l’automne 2013.

Rapports du CRTC

Chaque année, le CRTC compile les données financières des industries canadiennes de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications afin de produire une série de rapports. Cette année, le rapport sur le secteur de la radio contient des données pour l’ensemble du pays et des données ventilées par marché, ainsi que sur les 82 stations de radio exploitées par la Société Radio-Canada.

Récemment, le CRTC a publié les résultats financiers 2012 concernant les stations de télévision conventionnelles, les services de télévision spécialisés, payants et à la carte, ainsi que les services de vidéo sur demande, et les entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion. Il publiera en septembre la version 2013 de son Rapport de surveillance des communications.

Radio commerciale – Relevés statistiques et financiers 2008–2012

Le CRTC

Le CRTC est un tribunal administratif qui réglemente et surveille la radiodiffusion et les télécommunications au Canada.

 

Ressources

Radio commerciale - Relevés statistiques et financiers 2008-2012

- 30 -

 

Suivez nous sur Twitter @CRTCfra

Relations avec les médias :
communications@crtc.gc.ca
Tél. : 819-997-9403, télécopieur : 819-997-4245

Renseignements généraux :
   Tél. : (819) 997-0313, ATME : 819-994-0423, télécopieur : 819-994-0218
   No sans frais 1-877-249-CRTC (2782)
   ATME - No sans frais 1-877-909-CRTC (2782)
   Question à poser ou plainte à formuler?

Ces documents sont disponibles, sur demande, en média substitut.

Date de modification :