Illegal Calls from People Claiming to be from the National Do Not Call List

The CRTC is warning Canadians about illegal calls from individuals who claim that they are calling on behalf of the National Do Not Call List (DNCL) operator.

The originators of these calls are falsely displaying (spoofing) the National DNCL toll-free phone number. These individuals are making claims that the call recipient’s telephone number is about to expire from the National DNCL and that the number must re-registered over the phone.

Neither the CRTC nor the National DNCL operator contact Canadians regarding the status of their telephone numbers on the National DNCL. In 2014, the CRTC enhanced the privacy of Canadians by making registrations to the National DNCL permanent. This means that there is no need to re-register telephone numbers. Numbers remain on the list, unless an individual specifically requests that it be removed.

If you have received a call from a representative claiming to be from the National DNCL operator, please do not provide any personal information, including your telephone numbers. We encourage you to make a complaint to the National DNCL or call 1-866-580-DNCL (3625).

What are the penalties for violating these rules?

The CRTC takes violations of the National DNCL and the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules seriously. If found in violation, individuals can be issued monetary penalties of up to $1,500 per violation and corporations can be issued penalties of up to $15,000 per violation.

Spoofing is a violation of the Unsolicited Telecommunication Rules.

Des individus effectuent des appels illégaux au nom de la Liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus

Le CRTC prévient les Canadiens que des individus effectuent des appels illégaux au nom de l’administrateur de la Liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus (LNNTE).

Les auteurs de ces appels affichent faussement (mystification de l’appelant) le numéro sans frais de la LNNTE. Ces appelants prétendent que le numéro de téléphone des personnes contactées doit être réenregistré sur la LNNTE car l’inscription arrive à échéance.

Ni le CRTC, ni l’administrateur de la LNNTE ne contactent les Canadiens concernant le statut de leur numéro de téléphone sur la LNNTE. En 2014, la sauvegarde de la vie privée des Canadiens a été améliorée lorsque le CRTC a rendu la LNNTE permanente. En effet, il n’est plus nécessaire d’enregistrer les numéros de téléphone de nouveau et ils demeurent sur la liste à moins qu’un individu demande qu’il soit retiré.

Si vous recevez un appel d’une personne prétendant appeler au nom de l’administrateur de la LNNTE, veuillez ne divulguer aucune information personnelle, y compris vos numéros de téléphone. Nous vous encourageons à soumettre une plainte à la LNNTE ou à appeler au 1-866-580-DNCL (3625).

Quelles sont les sanctions en cas d’infractions aux règles?

Le CRTC prend très au sérieux les infractions aux règles de la LNNTE et sur les télécommunications non sollicitées. Les personnes reconnues coupables peuvent se voir imposer une sanction pouvant aller jusqu’à 1 500 $ et les sociétés jusqu’à 15 000 $.

La mystification de l’appelant est une violation des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées.