Quarterly Financial Report for the quarter ended December 31st, 2012

2012-2013

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report (QFR) has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. This QFR should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates as well as Canada’s Economic Action Plan 2012 (Budget 2012). It has not been subject to an external audit or review.

1.1 Authority, Mandate and Program Activities

The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) was created by Parliament in 1968 under the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Act. The CRTC reports to Parliament through the Minister of Canadian Heritage.

The CRTC is vested with the authority to regulate and supervise all aspects of the Canadian broadcasting system, as well as the telecommunications services providers and common carriers that come under federal jurisdiction. The CRTC’s powers in the area of broadcasting regulation derive from the Broadcasting Act. Its powers over telecommunications come from the Telecommunications Act and from various “special acts” of Parliament passed for specific telecommunications companies. CRTC also has statutory authority to discharge specific responsibilities under Canada’s Anti-spam legislation (CASL).

In December 2010, Royal Assent was granted for Anti-spam legislation entitled An Act to promote the efficiency and adaptability of the Canadian economy by regulating certain activities that discourage reliance on electronic means of carrying out commercial activities, and to amend the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Act, the Competition Act, the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act and the Telecommunications Act (herein referred to as CASL).Under this law, the CRTC has obtained new investigative and enforcement responsibilities and powers to counter spam, malware, botnets, and network re-routing. The law may come into force during 2013‑14.

Further details about the CRTC’s authority, mandate and program activities can be found below and in the department’s Report on Plans and Priorities (RPP) and Main Estimates located on the Treasury Board website at www.tbs-sct.gc.ca.

1.2 Basis of Presentation

This QFR has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the CRTC’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates A and B for both the 2011-12 and the 2012-13 fiscal years. This QFR has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant authorizing the Government to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

The CRTC uses the modified accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

In this QFR, only those revenues netted against expenditures (i.e. respendable revenue) are being reported. All other revenue that is designated as non-respendable revenue, is not reported in the quarterly financial reports, but will be reported annually in the Public Accounts of Canada and in the CRTC’s Departmental Performance Report.

As part of the Parliamentary business of supply, the Main Estimates must be tabled in Parliament on or before March 1 preceding the new fiscal year. Budget 2012 was tabled in Parliament on March 29, after the tabling of the Main Estimates on February 28, 2012. As a result the measures announced in the Budget 2012 could not be reflected in the 2012-13 Main Estimates.

In fiscal year 2012-2013, frozen allotments will be established by Treasury Board authority in departmental votes to prohibit the spending of funds already identified as savings measures in Budget 2012. In future years, the changes to departmental authorities will be implemented through the Annual Reference Level Update, as approved by Treasury Board, and reflected in the subsequent Main Estimates tabled in Parliament.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date results

The CRTC is financed in part by the Government through Parliamentary Appropriations (e.g. Statutory Vote for Employee Benefits Plans (EBP) and Budgetary Vote for investigation and enforcement activities associated with CASL) and the balance by vote-netted fees it collects from the regulated industries.

Vote-netting is a means of funding selected programs or activities wherein Parliament authorizes a department to apply revenues collected from fee payers towards costs directly incurred for specific activities. The CRTC has the authority to use a portion of the Part I licence fees collected from broadcasters and a portion of the annual telecommunications fees collected from telecommunications carriers to finance the costs it incurs in regulating the broadcasting and telecommunications industries (i.e. respendable revenue). The balance of these two fees recovers the costs for items funded through appropriations (e.g. EBP) and costs incurred by other government departments on the CRTC’s behalf and are classified as non-respendable revenue.

The vote-netted revenue for the entire year is collected primarily within the first two quarters of each fiscal year. As a result, it is expected that the CRTC quarterly financial reports will always show the net operating expenditures in a credit position. Further details on CRTC fees and revenues can be found in the 2012-13 RPP.

The CRTC’s quarterly and year-to-date spending are in line with that of the previous fiscal year.

For 2012-13, there is a net decrease in budgetary authorities of $.5 million compared to the authorities granted in 2011-12 Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates A and B. This is due to a decrease in operating and statutory costs. Factors contributing to the net decrease include:

Decreases

Increases

This QFR reflects the results of the current fiscal period in relation to the Main Estimates, for which full supply was released on June 28, 2012, and Supplementary Estimates A and B.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

To date, the CRTC’s National Do Not Call List (DNCL) investigation and enforcement activities have been funded by interim measures on a year-to-year basis. Funding approved for 2010-11, 2011-12 and 2012-13 totaled $3.0 million ($2.6 million in voted authorities and $0.4 million for EBP). In addition, for each of these years $0.3 million was approved, and was held centrally in an earmarked reserve, to offset Public Works and Government Services Canada accommodation requirements associated with CRTC’s DNCL investigation and enforcement staff.

In the previous fiscal year (i.e. 2011-12) budgetary authorities for DNCL activities were approved in the first quarter as part of the Supplementary Estimates A process. For fiscal year 2012-13, the budgetary authorities for DNCL activities were approved as part of the Supplementary Estimates B process.;

Starting in 2013-14, a long term funding solution will be implemented that involves cost recovery of CRTC’s DNCL investigation and enforcement activities from telemarketers. On June 29, 2012 Bill C-38 “An Act to Implement Certain Provisions of the Budget Tabled in Parliament on March 29, 2012 and other measures” received Royal Assent. As part of this Bill, changes to the Telecommunications Act (e.g. section 41.21(1)) were approved that will allow the Commission to make regulations prescribing fees for the purposes of recovering all or a portion of the costs that the Commission determines to be attributable to its responsibilities under section 41.2 of the Telecommunications Act.

In accordance with section 41.21(3) of the Telecommunications Act, the CRTC conducted a public consultation (Notice of Consultation 2012-588) regarding the creation of new fees regulations entitled the “Unsolicited Telecommunications Fees Regulations”. The Commission considered all public comments received and subsequently approved the new fees regulations. The Commission’s decision regarding these new regulations was published on January 28, 2013 in Decision 2013-26. The new regulations and fee structure will come into effect on April 1, 2013, for the 2013-14 fiscal year.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

There have been no significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs over the past year with the exception of CASL and the CRTC accepting responsibility for the development and operation of a SPAM reporting center (SRC). An administrative agreement between Industry Canada (IC) and the CRTC provides for a vote transfer from IC to the CRTC in the amount of $0.7million on an annual basis starting in 2012-13. The amount of funding for 2012-13, was approved as part of Supplementary Estimates A.

When CASL comes into effect, it is intended that a SRC will be operational at the same time. The SRC will receive reports and complaints of spam and related electronic threats, collect voluntarily provided or publicly available information as evidence related to potential violations of CASL, store this information in databases and allow access to such databases by enforcement agencies.

5. Budget 2012 Implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that will be implemented in order to refocus government programs.

CRTC will achieve Budget 2012 savings of $0.428 million, starting in 2013-14 and on-going, through efficiency measures and program reductions for its statutory investigation and enforcement activities under Canada’s anti-spam legislation. Prior to the start of fiscal year 2013-14 the CRTC will reassess its resource allocation to determine if the reductions identified as part of Budget 2012 can be achieved by O&M reductions (e.g. through process and/or internal services efficiencies) as opposed to salary reductions which would mitigate the potential impact on the number of cases to be investigated and the overall program effectiveness.

The CRTC will enforce the anti-spam legislation when it comes into effect. The CRTC remains committed to ensuring a safer and more secure online environment for Canadians and will use its remaining resources to effectively target offenders. There are no financial risks or uncertainties related to these savings.

Another measure referenced in Budget 2012 was the changes to the Telecommunications Act that allow the CRTC to make fees regulations that would recover its DNCL investigation and enforcement costs from telemarketers. Further information on this item is explained in the section on “Risks and Uncertainties”.

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

 

Jean-Pierre Blais, Chairman and CEO
Gatineau, Quebec
Date: February 15, 2013

 

John Traversy, Secretary General
Gatineau, Quebec
Date: February 15, 2013

 

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2012-13 (in thousands of dollars)

  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2013* Used during the quarter ended
December 31, 2012
Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 50 – Program expenditures 53,934 11,854 33,998
Less: Revenues netted against expenditures (43,271) (697) (43,271)
Net Vote 50 – Program expenditures 10,663 11,157 (9,273)
Statutory authorities – EBP 6,311 1,578 4,734
Total Budgetary Authorities 16,974 12,735 (4,539)

*Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.
Total available for use does not reflect measures announced in Budget 2012.

 

Fiscal year 2011-12 (in thousands of dollars)

  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2012* Used during the quarter ended
December 31, 2011
Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 45 – Program expenditures 53,560 12,205 35,681
Less: Revenues netted against expenditures (42,611) (8) (42,611)
Net Vote 45 – Program expenditures 10,949 12,197 (6,930)
Statutory authorities – EBP 6,473 1,618 4,854
Total Budgetary Authorities 17,422 13,815 (2,076)

*Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

 

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2012-13 (in thousands of dollars)

  Planned expenditures for the
year ending
March 31, 2013*
Used during the quarter ended
December 31, 2012
Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:      
Personnel (including EBP) 45,854 10,789 32,362
Transportation and communications 2,406 416 1,223
Information 1,261 36 796
Professional and special services 6,874 1,346 2,983
Rentals 363 216 440
Repair and maintenance 1,582 372 372
Utilities, materials and supplies 395 136 245
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,504 120 168
Other subsidies and payments 6 0 6
Total gross budgetary expenditures 60,245 13,432 38,732
Less: revenues netted against expenditures
Revenues (Part I Broadcasting licence fees and Telecommunication fees)
(43,271) (697) (43,271)
Total revenues netted against expenditures (43,271) (697) (43,271)
TOTAL NET BUDGETARY EXPENDITURES 16,974 12,735 (4,539)

*Planned expenditures do not reflect measures announced in Budget 2012.

 

Fiscal year 2011-12 (in thousands of dollars)

  Planned expenditures for the
year ending
March 31, 2012
Used during the quarter ended
December 31, 2011
Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:      
Personnel (including EBP) 47,066 11,487 34,608
Transportation and communications 2,271 557 1,449
Information 1,460 94 701
Professional and special services 6,422 1,191 2,727
Rentals 392 89 172
Repair and maintenance 1,107 229 530
Utilities, materials and supplies 416 83 225
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 899 93 123
Other subsidies and payments 0 0 0
Total gross budgetary expenditures 60,033 13,823 40,535
Less: revenues netted against expenditures
Revenues (Part I Broadcasting licence fees and Telecommunication fees)
(42,611) (8) (42,611)
Total revenues netted against expenditures (42,611) (8) (42,611)
TOTAL NET BUDGETARY EXPENDITURES 17,422 13,815 (2,076)
Date modified:

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre ayant pris fin le 31 décembre 2012

2012-2013

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les principaux changements quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction, comme l’exige l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et conformément à la norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor. Il doit être lu en corrélation avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses de même qu’avec le Plan d’action économique 2012 du Canada (Budget 2012). Ce rapport n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

1.1 Pouvoirs, mandat et activités de programmes

Le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) a été institué par le Parlement en 1968 en vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes. Le CRTC est responsable, devant le Parlement, par l’intermédiaire du ministre du Patrimoine canadien.

Le CRTC possède le pouvoir de réglementer et de surveiller tous les aspects du système canadien de radiodiffusion, de même que les entreprises et les fournisseurs de services de télécommunications qui relèvent de la compétence fédérale. Ses pouvoirs en matière de réglementation de la radiodiffusion lui sont conférés par la Loi sur la radiodiffusion. Ses pouvoirs en matière de télécommunications découlent de la Loi sur les télécommunications et de diverses « lois spéciales » adoptées par le Parlement à l’égard de certaines entreprises de télécommunications. En vertu de la Loi canadienne anti-pourriel, le CRTC doit également s’acquitter de responsabilités précises et il dispose de pouvoirs à cet égard.

En décembre 2010, la loi anti-pourriel intitulée Loi visant à promouvoir l’efficacité et la capacité d’adaptation de l’économie canadienne par la réglementation de certaines pratiques qui découragent l’exercice des activités commerciales par voie électronique et modifiant la Loi sur le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, la Loi sur la concurrence, la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques et la Loi sur les télécommunications (désignée dans ce rapport comme la loi anti-pourriel) a obtenu la sanction royale.En vertu de cette loi, le CRTC s’est vu conféré de nouvelles responsabilités en matière d’enquêtes et d’application de la loi afin de contrer les pourriels, les logiciels malveillants, les réseaux de machines zombies et le réacheminement de réseaux. La loi doit entrer en vigueur en 2013‑2014.

Le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités (RPP) ainsi que le Budget principal des dépenses de l’organisme contiennent d’autres renseignements sur les pouvoirs, le mandat et les activités de programmes du CRTC; ces documents peuvent être consultés sur le site Web du Conseil du Trésor à l’adresse www.tbs-sct.gc.ca.

1.2 Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’État des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenses du CRTC accordées par le Parlement et celles utilisées par l’organisme, en conformité avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses A et B pour les exercices2011-2012 et 2012-2013. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation du pouvoir de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par des lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par des dispositions législatives sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins précises.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d’une élection générale, l’article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, sous certaines conditions, à ordonner l’établissement d’un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l’exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

Le CRTC utilise une méthode de comptabilité d’exercice modifiée pour la préparation et la présentation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement de l’organisme. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement demeurent en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Dans ce rapport financier trimestriel, seules les recettes moins les dépenses (c’est-à-dire les recettes disponibles) font l’objet de ce rapport. Tous les revenus désignés comme revenus non disponibles ne sont pas déclarés dans les rapports financiers trimestriels, mais ils le sont annuellement dans les Comptes publics du Canada et le Rapport sur le rendement du CRTC.

Dans le cadre des travaux des subsides du Parlement, le Budget principal des dépenses doit être déposé au Parlement le ou avant le 1er mars précédant le début du nouvel exercice. Le Budget 2012 a été déposé au Parlement le 29 mars, après le dépôt du Budget principal des dépenses le 28 février 2012. Par conséquent, les mesures annoncées dans le Budget 2012 ne figurent pas dans le Budget principal des dépenses 2012-2013.

Pour l’exercice 2012-2013, des affectations bloquées dans les crédits ministériels seront établies par le Conseil du Trésor en vue d’empêcher que les fonds déjà réservés pour des mesures d’économies dans le Budget 2012 ne soient dépensés. Au cours des exercices suivants, les modifications aux autorisations ministériels seront mises en œuvre par l’intermédiaire de la Mise à jour annuelle des niveaux de référence, approuvée par le Conseil du Trésor, et figureront dans les Budgets principaux des dépenses ultérieurs déposés au Parlement.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Le CRTC est financé en partie par le gouvernement grâce à des crédits votés par le Parlement (par exemple, crédits législatifs pour les régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés (RASE) et crédits budgétaires pour les activités d’enquête et d’application de la réglementation associées à la loi anti-pourriel); le reste de son financement provient des droits qu’il perçoit auprès des industries qu’il réglemente, lesquelles font l’objet d’un crédit net.

Les crédits nets sont un moyen de financer certains programmes ou activités. Selon cette méthode, le Parlement autorise un ministère ou un organisme à utiliser les droits perçus auprès des entités pour couvrir des dépenses directement engagées pour des activités précises. Le CRTC peut donc utiliser une partie des droits de licence au titre de la partie I qu’il perçoit auprès des radiodiffuseurs et une partie des droits annuels de télécommunications qui lui versent les entreprises de télécommunications pour couvrir les dépenses liées à la réglementation de ces deux industries (c’est-à-dire les revenus disponibles). Le reste des droits perçus permet de recouvrer les coûts des éléments financés par les crédits (par exemple, pour les RASE) et les coûts engagés par d’autres ministères au nom du CRTC et qui sont classés comme des revenus non disponibles.

Les recettes nettes en vertu d’un crédit pour l’année entière sont perçues principalement au cours des deux premiers trimestres de l’exercice financier. Par conséquent, on peut s’attendre à ce que les rapports financiers trimestriels du CRTC indiquent toujours les dépenses nettes de fonctionnement (solde créditeur). Le RPP 2012-2013 contient d’autres précisions sur les revenus du CRTC et les droits qu’il perçoit.

Les dépenses trimestrielles et cumulatives du CRTC pour l’exercice en cours sont semblables à celles de l’exercice précédent.

En 2012-2013, il y a une diminution nette des crédits budgétaires de 0,5 millions de dollars par rapport à ceux accordés dans le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses A et B en 2011-2012, en raison de la diminution des coûts de fonctionnement et des coûts statutaires. Les facteurs contribuant à la diminution nette comprennent les suivants :

Baisses

Hausses

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel reflète les résultats de l’exercice en cours, en relation avec le Budget principal des dépenses pour lesquels la totalité des crédits a été octroyée le 28 juin 2012 et le Budget des dépenses supplémentaires (A) et (B).

3. Risques et incertitudes

À ce jour, les activités d’enquêtes et d’application de la loi liées à la LNNTE ont été financées par des mesures provisoires, d’une année à l’autre. Le financement approuvé pour les exercices 2010-2011, 2011-2012 et 2012-2013 totalisait 3 millions de dollars (soit 2,6 millions de dollars en autorisations votées et 0,4 million de dollars pour le RASE). De plus, pour chacune des années, la somme de 0,3 million a été approuvée et conservée par l’administration centrale dans une réserve spéciale pour compenser les besoins en locaux de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada pour le personnel du CRTC chargé des activités d’enquêtes et d’application de la loi liées à la LNNTE.

Pour l’exercice précédent (soit 2011-2012), les autorisations budgétaires connexes aux activités liées à la LNNTE ont été approuvées au cours du premier trimestre dans le cadre du processus associé au Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A). Pour l’exercice 2012-2013, les autorisations budgétaires connexes aux activités liées à la LNNTE ont été approuvées dans le cadre du processus associé au Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (B).

À compter de 2013-2014, une solution de financement à long terme sera mise en œuvre qui implique le recouvrement des coûts du CRTC concernant les activités d'enquêtes et d’application de la loi liées à la LNNTE auprès des télévendeurs. Le 29 juin 2012, le projet de loi C-38 intitulé Loi portant exécution de certaines dispositions du budget déposé au Parlement le 29 mars 2012 et mettant en œuvre d’autres mesuresa reçu la sanction royale. Dans le cadre du projet de loi, on a approuvé des modifications apportées à la Loi sur les télécommunications (p. ex., à la section 41.21(1)) autorisant le Conseil à imposer des droits par règlement en vue de recouvrer la totalité ou une partie des coûts entraînés, selon lui, par l’exercice de ses attributions au titre de l’article 41.2 de la Loi sur les télécommunications.

Conformément au paragraphe 41.21(3) de la Loi sur les télécommunications, le CRTC a tenu une consultation publique (Avis de consultation 2012-588) concernant l’établissement d’un nouveau règlement intitulé Règlement sur les droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées. Le Conseil a examiné tous les commentaires reçus du public et a approuvé le nouveau règlement sur les droits. La décision du Conseil concernant ce nouveau règlement a été publié le 28 janvier 2013 dans la décision 2013-26. Le nouveau règlement et tarification entreront en vigueur le 1 avril 2013 pour l'exercice financier 2013-2014.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Il n’y a eu aucun changement important lié aux opérations, au personnel et aux programmes au cours de la dernière année, sauf en ce qui a trait à la loi canadienne anti-pourriel et à la responsabilité que le CRTC a acceptée à l’égard de la création et de l’exploitation d’un centre de signalement des pourriels. Une entente administrative conclue entre Industrie Canada (IC) et le CRTC prévoit un transfert de crédits d’IC au CRTC de 0,7 million de dollars, chaque année, à partir de l’exercice 2012-2013. Le montant du financement pour l’exercice 2012-2013 a été approuvé dans le cadre du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A).

Le centre de signalement des pourriels amorcera ses activités lorsque la loi canadienne anti-pourriel entrera en vigueur. Le Centre de signalement des pourriels recevra des rapports et des plaintes sur les pourriels et les menaces électroniques connexes et recueillera des renseignements publics ou fournis volontairement, lesquels seront stockés dans des bases de données auxquelles d’autres organismes chargés d’appliquer la LCAP auront accès. Les renseignements pourraient ensuite servir d’éléments de preuve dans les cas éventuels d’infraction à la LCAP.

5. Mise en œuvre Budget 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d’économie annoncées dans le Budget 2012 et qui seront mises en œuvre dans le but de recentrer le gouvernement et les programmes.

D’après le Budget 2012, le CRTC réalisera des économies de 0,428 million de dollars, à partir de l’exercice 2013-2014 et suivants, grâce à des mesures d’efficience et de réductions de programmes associées aux activités prescrites d’enquêtes et d’application de la loi liées à la loi canadienne anti pourriel. Avant d’amorcer l’exercice 2013-2014, le CRTC réévaluera l’attribution de ses ressources afin d’établir si les réductions indiquées dans le cadre du Budget 2012 sont possibles grâce à une réduction des frais de fonctionnement et d’entretien (par exemple grâce à une efficacité accrue connexe aux programmes et/ou aux services internes) plutôt qu’à des réductions salariales – ce qui pourrait atténuer l’incidence possible sur le nombre de cas exigeant une enquête et sur l’efficacité globale des programmes.

Le CRTC mettra en application la loi anti-pourriel lorsqu’elle entrera en vigueur. Le CRTC demeure résolu à garantir un cyberespace plus sécuritaire pour les Canadiens et utilisera toutes les ressources restantes pour traquer avec succès les contrevenants. Ces économies ne comportent aucune incertitude et aucun risque financier.

Une autre mesure annoncée dans le Budget 2012 comprend les modifications apportées à la Loi sur les télécommunications autorisant le CRTC à imposer, par règlement, des droits afin de recouvrer, auprès des télévendeurs, les coûts d’enquêtes et d’application liés à la LNNTE. De plus amples renseignements à ce sujet figurent à la section intitulée « Risques et incertitudes ».

6. Approbation par les cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

 

Jean-Pierre Blais, Président et chef de la direction
Gatineau (Québec)
Date : le 15 février 2013

 

John Traversy, Secrétaire général
Gatineau (Québec)
Date : le 15 février 2013

 

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2012-2013 (en milliers de dollars)

  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013* Crédits utilisés au cours du trimestre ayant pris fin le 31 décembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 50 – Dépenses de programme 53 934 11 854 33 998
Moins : Revenus affectés aux dépenses (43 271) (697) (43 271)
Crédit 50 net – Dépenses de programme 10 663 11 157 (9 273)
Autorisations législatives – RASE 6 311 1 578 4 734
Autorisations budgétaires totales 16 974 12 735 (4 539)

*N’inclut que les Autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.
Les crédits totaux disponibles ne tiennent pas compte des mesures annoncées dans le Budget 2012.

 

Exercice 2011-2012 (en milliers de dollars)

  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012* Crédits utilisés au cours du trimestre ayant pris fin le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 45 – Dépenses de programme 53 560 12 205 35 681
Moins : Revenus affectés aux dépenses (42 611) (8) (42 611)
Crédit 45 net – Dépenses de programme 10 949 12 197 (6 930)
Autorisations législatives – RASE 6 473 1 618 4 854
Autorisations budgétaires totales 17 422 13 815 (2 076)

*N’inclut que les autorisations budgétaires accordées par le Parlement et disponibles à la fin du trimestre.

 

Dépenses budgétaires ministérielles par article courant (non vérifiées)

Exercice 2012-2013 (en milliers de dollars)

  Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013* Dépenses au cours du trimestre ayant pris fin le 31 décembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :      
Personnel (y compris les contributions aux RASE) 45 854 10 789 32 362
Transport et communications 2 406 416 1 223
Information 1 261 36 796
Services professionnels et spéciaux 6 874 1 346 2 983
Locations 363 216 440
Services de réparation et d’entretien 1 582 372 509
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 395 136 245
Acquisition de matériel et d’équipement 1 504 120 168
Autres subventions et paiements 6 0 6
Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales 60 245 13 432 38 732
Moins : revenus affectés aux dépenses
Revenus (droits de licence de radiodiffusion au titre de la partie I et droits de télécommunications)
(43 271) (697) (43 271)
Somme des revenus nets affectés aux dépenses (43 271) (697) (43 271)
DÉPENSES BUDGÉTAIRES NETTES TOTALES 16 974 12 735 (4 539)

*Les Dépenses prévues ne tiennent pas compte des mesures annoncées dans le Budget 2012.

 

Exercice 2011-12 (en milliers de dollars)

  Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice s’étant terminé le 31 mars 2012 Dépenses au cours du trimestre ayant pris fin le 31 décembre 2011 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :      
Personnel (y compris les contributions aux RASE) 47 066 11 487 34 608
Transport et communications 2 271 557 1 449
Information 1 460 94 701
Services professionnels et spéciaux 6 422 1 191 2 727
Locations 392 89 172
Services de réparation et d’entretien 1 107 229 530
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 416 83 225
Acquisition de matériel et d’équipement 899 93 123
Autres subventions et paiements 0 0 0
Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales 60 033 13 823 40 535
Moins : revenus affectés aux dépenses
Revenus (droits de licence de radiodiffusion au titre de la partie I et droits de télécommunications)
(42 611) (8) (42 611)
Somme des revenus nets affectés aux dépenses (42 611) (8) (42 611)
DÉPENSES BUDGÉTAIRES NETTES TOTALES 17 422 13 815 (2 076)
Date de modification :