Quarterly Financial Report for the Quarter Ended December 31st, 2014

2014-2015

Table of Contents

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program

1. Introduction

This quarterly financial report (QFR) has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3.  This QFR should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates as well as Canada’s Economic Action Plan 2012 (Budget 2012).  It has not been subject to an external audit or review.

1.1 Authority, Mandate and Program Activities

The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) was created by Parliament in 1968 under the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Act.  The CRTC reports to Parliament through the Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages.

The CRTC is vested with the authority to regulate and supervise all aspects of the Canadian broadcasting system, as well as the telecommunications services providers and common carriers that come under federal jurisdiction.  The CRTC’s powers in the area of broadcasting regulation derive from the Broadcasting Act.  Its powers over telecommunications come from the Telecommunications Act and from various “special acts” of Parliament passed for specific telecommunications companies.  CRTC also has statutory authority to discharge specific responsibilities under Canada’s Anti-spam legislation (CASL).

In December 2010, Royal Assent was granted for Anti-spam legislation entitled An Act to promote the efficiency and adaptability of the Canadian economy by regulating certain activities that discourage reliance on electronic means of carrying out commercial activities, and to amend the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Act, the Competition Act, the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act and the Telecommunications Act (herein referred to as CASL).Under this law, the CRTC has obtained new investigative and enforcement responsibilities and powers to counter spam, malware, botnets, and network re-routing.  The Act began to take effect on July 1, 2014, when most of the Act came into force.  On January 15, 2015, sections of the Act related to the unsolicited installation of computer programs or software come into force, and the Private Right of Action provisions will come into force on July 1, 2017.

Upon Royal Assent on June 19, 2014, the CRTC was given specific responsibilities under the Fair Elections Act, which amended the Canada Elections Act and the Telecommunications Act. The CRTC’s new responsibilities for the Voter Contact Registry program include: a) the establishment of a secure on-line Voter Contact Registry before the next general federal election; b) maintaining the Registry; and c) conducting compliance and enforcement activities in 2015-16 and on-going.

Further details about the CRTC’s authority, mandate and program activities can be found below and in the department’s Report on Plans and Priorities (RPP) and Main Estimates located on the Treasury Board website at www.tbs-sct.gc.ca.

1.2 Basis of Presentation

This QFR has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting.  The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the CRTC’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department consistent with the Main Estimates for both the 2013-14 and the 2014-15 fiscal years.  Reductions to departmental authorities relating to Budget 2012 were reflected in the 2013-2014 Main Estimates tabled in Parliament. This QFR has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government.  Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant authorizing the Government to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund.  A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

The CRTC uses the modified accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process.  However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

In this QFR, only those revenues netted against expenditures (i.e. respendable revenue) are being reported. All other revenue that is designated as non-respendable revenue, is not reported in the quarterly financial reports, but will be reported annually in the Public Accounts of Canada and in the CRTC’s Departmental Performance Report.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date results

The CRTC is financed in part by the Government of Canada through Parliamentary authorities (e.g. Statutory Vote for Employee Benefits Plans (EBP), Budgetary Vote for the Anti-spam legislation activities) and the balance by vote-netted fees it collects from the broadcasting, telecommunications and telemarketing industries.

Vote-netting is a means of funding selected programs or activities wherein Parliament authorizes a department to apply revenues collected from fee payers towards costs directly incurred for specific activities. CRTC has the authority to use a portion of: a) the Part I licence fees collected from broadcasters; b) the annual telecommunications fees collected from telecommunications carriers; and c) the unsolicited telecommunications fees from telemarketers to finance the costs it incurs in discharging its statutory responsibilities under the Broadcasting Act and Telecommunications Act (i.e. respendable revenue). The balance of these three fees recovers the costs for items funded through budgetary authorities (e.g. EBP) and costs incurred by other government departments on the CRTC's behalf and are classified as non-respendable revenue.

Under the authority of the Telecommunications Act, the CRTC created the Unsolicited Telecommunications Fees Regulations, following a public consultation process in 2012-13. These regulations came into effect on April 1, 2013. Starting in 2013-14, these regulatory fees are used to recover the cost of the CRTC’s compliance and enforcement activities associated with the National Do Not Call List (DNCL).

The majority of the CRTC’s vote-netted revenue for the year is collected within the first two quarters of each fiscal year.  As a result, it is expected that the CRTC quarterly financial reports will always show the net operating expenditures in a credit position.  Further details on CRTC fees and revenues can be found in the 2014-15 RPP in the supplementary information section entitled “Future-Oriented Statement of Operations”.

As of the end of December 2014, the CRTC was working with central agencies to seek approval of incremental budgetary authority for funding related to the establishment, maintenance and implementation of the Voter Contact Registry program.  The CRTC will be requesting approval of this budgetary authority as part of the 2014-15 Supplementary Estimates (C) process.

Authorities

For 2014-15 to-date, there is a net increase in budgetary authorities of $0.21 million compared to the authorities granted in 2013-14 Main Estimates, Supplementary Estimates (A) and Supplementary Estimates (B). Factors contributing to the net increase include:

Increase

Decrease

This QFR reflects the results of the current fiscal period in relation to the Main Estimates, Supplementary Estimates (A) and Supplementary Estimates (B)  Appropriation Act No. 2, 201415 provided Full Supply for the 2014–15 Main Estimates and was approved through a Warrant of the Governor General dated June 20, 2014 pursuant to Order in Council P.C. 2014-837. Appropriation Act No. 3, 201415 provided Supply for Supplementary Estimates (A), 2014–15 and was approved through a Warrant of the Governor General dated June 20, 2014 pursuant to Order in Council P.C. 2014-838. Appropriation Act No. 4, 2014-15 provided Supply for Supplementary Estimates (B), 2014-15 and was approved through a Warrant of the Governor General dated December 17, 2014 pursuant to Order in Council P.C. 2014-1491

Expenditures

The CRTC’s spending for the third quarter ended December 31, 2014 is in line with that of the previous fiscal year.  Year to date total gross budgetary expenditures for 2014-15 are up slightly ($0.70 million) over the previous fiscal year.  The main reasons for this difference in spending are a combination of an increase in expenditures for “Other subsidies and payments” (i.e. $1.39 million pertaining to a one-time transition payment for implementing salary payment in arrears by the Government of Canada), “Information” ($0.17 million), “Acquisition of equipment” ($0.16 million) and decreases in expenditures attributable to salary related items (-$0.65 million), “Transportation and communications” (-$0.26 million) and “Repair and maintenance” (-$0.11 million).

3. Risks and Uncertainties

Prior to 2013-14, the CRTC’s National DNCL investigation and enforcement activities were funded by interim measures on a year-to-year basis using Parliamentary appropriations. Starting in 2013-14, a long term funding solution was implemented that involves cost recovery of CRTC’s DNCL investigation and enforcement activities from telemarketers under the authority of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Fees Regulations.

The estimated telemarketing and regulatory costs and revenue target for unsolicited telecommunications fees totals $3.3 million for both 2013-14 and 2014-15.  A public notice of these amounts was made in CRTC Compliance and Enforcement Orders 2013-148 for 2013-14, and 2014-307 for 2014-15.

Although the CRTC had established its unsolicited telecommunications fee levels to fully recover its approved DNCL operating costs, there was a risk that if fewer than expected telemarketers subscribe to the National DNCL and pay fees, there may be revenue shortfall.  This was the case in 2013-14 where unsolicited telecommunications fees collected totalled $3.05 million, or 92.5% of the revenue target.  Cost containment measures were put in place such that the actual CRTC costs related to the DNCL did not exceed the amount of revenue collected.

As of the end of December 2014, financial forecasts to the end of the 2014-15 fiscal year have identified a potential revenue shortfall from the $3.3 million revenue target. As a result, the CRTC’s monthly monitoring and control mechanism will be maintained to ensure the net dollar amount (revenues minus expenditures) approved by Parliament is not exceeded. Furthermore, for the balance of the fiscal year the CRTC will be proactively exploring measures to increase the amount of fee revenue collected such that the annual revenue target can be achieved in the future.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

There have been no significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs over the past year, other than the new statutory responsibilities conferred upon the CRTC in 2014 for the Voter Contact Registry program.  

5. Budget 2012 Implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that are being implemented in order to refocus government programs: make it easier for Canadians and business to deal with their government; and, modernize and reduce the back office.

CRTC achieved Budget 2012 savings of $0.428 million, starting in 2013-14 and will continue to do so on an on-going basis, through program reductions for its statutory investigation and enforcement activities under Canada’s anti-spam legislation which came in force on July 1, 2014. The CRTC remains committed to ensuring a safer and more secure online environment for Canadians and will use its remaining resources to effectively target offenders.

There are no financial risks or uncertainties related to these savings.

6. Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

Jean-Pierre Blais, Chairman and CEO
Gatineau, Quebec
Date: January 22, 2015

John Traversy, Secretary General
Gatineau, Quebec
Date: January 22, 2015

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2014-15 (in thousands of dollars)

  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015* Used during the quarter ended
December 31, 2014
Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 50 – Program expenditures 54,914 12,303 36,555
Less:  Revenues netted against expenditures (47,627) (587) (47,402)
Net Vote 50 – Program expenditures 7,287 11,716 (10,847)
Statutory authorities – EBP 6,641 1,660 4,981
Total Budgetary Authorities 13,928 13,376 (5,866)

*Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Fiscal year 2013-14 (in thousands of dollars)

  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2014* Used during the quarter ended
December 31, 2013
Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 50 – Program expenditures 54,034 11,409 35,737
Less:  Revenues netted against expenditures (47,270) (1,136) (47,270)
Net Vote 50 – Program expenditures 6,764 10,273 (11,533)
Statutory authorities – EBP 6,959 1,701 5,103
Total Budgetary Authorities 13,723 11,974 (6,430)

*Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2014-15 (in thousands of dollars)

  Planned expenditures for the
year ending
March 31, 2015
Used during the quarter ended
December 31, 2014
Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
Personnel (including EBP) 47,073 11,794 34,896
Transportation and communications 2,053 343 888
Information 958 275 597
Professional and special services 6,994 1,165 2,843
Rentals 1,368 145 337
Repair and maintenance 916 55 132
Utilities, materials and supplies 548 72 185
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,638 80 266
Other subsidies and payments 7 34 1,392
Total gross budgetary expenditures 61,555 13,963 41,536
Less: revenues netted against expenditures
Revenues (Part I Broadcasting licence fees, Telecommunications fees and Unsolicited telecommunications fees) (47,627) (587) (47,402)
Total revenues netted against expenditures (47,627) (587) (47,402)
TOTAL NET BUDGETARY EXPENDITURES 13,928 13,376 (5,866)

Fiscal year 2013-14 (in thousands of dollars)

  Planned expenditures for the
year ending
March 31, 2014
Used during the quarter ended
December 31, 2013
Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:  
Personnel (including EBP) 46,856 11,433 35,544
Transportation and communications 1,979 364 1,145
Information 1,272 123 419
Professional and special services 6,782 963 2,904
Rentals 1,555 47 348
Repair and maintenance 848 63 239
Utilities, materials and supplies 566 56 143
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,131 61 98
Other subsidies and payments 4 0 0
Total gross budgetary expenditures 60,993 13,110 40,840
Less: revenues netted against expenditures
Revenues (Part I Broadcasting licence fees, Telecommunications fees, and Unsolicited telecommunications fees) (47,270) (1,136) (47,270)
Total revenues netted against expenditures (47,270) (1,136) (47,270)
TOTAL NET BUDGETARY EXPENDITURES 13,723 11,974 (6,430)
Date modified:

Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre ayant pris fin le 31 décembre 2014

2014-2015

Table des matières

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les principaux changements quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction, comme l’exige l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et conformément à la norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor. Il doit être lu en corrélation avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses de même qu’avec le Plan d’action économique 2012 du Canada (Budget 2012). Ce rapport n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

1.1 Pouvoirs, mandat et activités de programmes

Le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) a été institué par le Parlement en 1968 en vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes. Le CRTC est responsable, devant le Parlement, par l’intermédiaire du ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des langues officielles.

Le CRTC possède le pouvoir de réglementer et de surveiller tous les aspects du système canadien de radiodiffusion, de même que les entreprises et les fournisseurs de services de télécommunications qui relèvent de la compétence fédérale. Ses pouvoirs en matière de réglementation de la radiodiffusion lui sont conférés par la Loi sur la radiodiffusion. Ses pouvoirs en matière de télécommunications découlent de la Loi sur les télécommunications et de diverses « lois spéciales » adoptées par le Parlement à l’égard de certaines entreprises de télécommunications. En vertu de la Loi canadienne anti-pourriel, le CRTC doit également s’acquitter de responsabilités précises et il dispose de pouvoirs à cet égard.

En décembre 2010, la loi anti-pourriel intitulée Loi visant à promouvoir l’efficacité et la capacité d’adaptation de l’économie canadienne par la réglementation de certaines pratiques qui découragent l’exercice des activités commerciales par voie électronique et modifiant la Loi sur le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, la Loi sur la concurrence, la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques et la Loi sur les télécommunications (désignée dans ce rapport comme la loi anti-pourriel) a obtenu la sanction royale. En vertu de cette loi, le CRTC s’est vu conféré de nouvelles responsabilités en matière d’enquêtes et d’application de la loi afin de contrer les pourriels, les logiciels malveillants, les réseaux de machines zombies et le réacheminement de réseaux.  La loi a commencé à prendre effet le 1er juillet 2014 lorsque la majorité des dispositions de la loi est entrée en vigueur. Le 15 Janvier 2015, les parties de la loi visant l'installation non sollicitée de programmes ou de logiciel informatique sont entrées en vigueur, et les dispositions sur le droit privé d'action entreront en vigueur le 1er  juillet 2017.

Suite à la sanction royale du 19 juin 2014, le CRTC a reçu des responsabilités précises en vertu de la loi sur l’intégrité de l’élection qui a modifié la loi électorale du Canada et la loi sur les télécommunications. Les nouvelles responsabilités du CRTC concernant le programme du Registre de communication avec les électeurs inclues : a) l’établissement d’un registre en ligne sécurisé de communication avec les électeurs avant la prochaine élection générale fédérale; b) le maintien du registre; et c) mener des activités de conformité et de mise en application en 2015-2016 et les années suivantes.

Le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités (RPP) ainsi que le Budget principal des dépenses de l’organisme contiennent d’autres renseignements sur les pouvoirs, le mandat et les activités de programmes du CRTC; ces documents peuvent être consultés sur le site Web du Conseil du Trésor à l’adresse www.tbs-sct.gc.ca.

1.2 Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’État des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenses du CRTC accordées par le Parlement et celles utilisées par l’organisme, en conformité avec le Budget principal des dépenses pour les exercices 2013-2014 et 2014-2015. Les réductions aux autorités ministérielles concernant le Budget 2012 ont été reflétées dans le budget principal des dépenses 2013-2014 déposé au Parlement. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation du pouvoir de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par des lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par des dispositions législatives sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins précises.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d’une élection générale, l’article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, sous certaines conditions, à ordonner l’établissement d’un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l’exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

Le CRTC utilise une méthode de comptabilité d’exercice modifiée pour la préparation et la présentation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement de l’organisme. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement demeurent en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Dans ce rapport financier trimestriel, seules les recettes moins les dépenses (c’est-à-dire les recettes disponibles) font l’objet de ce rapport. Tous les revenus désignés comme revenus non disponibles ne sont pas déclarés dans les rapports financiers trimestriels, mais ils sont déclarés annuellement dans les Comptes publics du Canada et le Rapport sur le rendement du CRTC.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Le CRTC est financé en partie par le gouvernement du Canada, au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires (p. ex. autorisation législative pour les régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés [RASE], crédits budgétaires pour les activités relatives à la loi anti‑pourriel), et, pour le reste, par un crédit net provenant des droits qu'il perçoit auprès des industries de la radiodiffusion, des télécommunications et du télémarketing.

Les crédits nets servent à financer certains programmes ou certaines activités. Selon cette méthode, le Parlement autorise un ministère à utiliser les droits perçus auprès des entités qui les paient pour couvrir des dépenses directement engagées pour des activités déterminées. Le CRTC peut donc utiliser une partie : a) des droits de licence de la partie I qu'il perçoit auprès des radiodiffuseurs; b) des droits annuels de télécommunication que lui versent les entreprises de télécommunication; et c) des droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées qu'il perçoit auprès des télévendeurs (à compter de 2013‑2014) pour financer les dépenses qu'il engage afin de s'acquitter de ses responsabilités législatives en vertu de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion et de la Loi sur les télécommunications (c.-à.-d. recettes disponibles). Le reste des droits perçus permet de recouvrer les coûts des éléments financés par les autorisations parlementaires (p. ex. régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés) et les coûts engagés par d'autres ministères au nom du CRTC et qui sont classés comme recettes non disponibles.

Suite à un processus de consultation publique en 2012-2013 et conformément  à la Loi sur les télécommunications, le CRTC a créé le Règlement sur les droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées. Ce règlement est entré en vigueur le 1er avril 2013. À compter de 2013-2014, ces droits réglementaires serviront  à recouvrir les coûts du CRTC associés aux activités d’enquête et de la mise en application de la liste nationale de numéros de télécommunications exclus (LNNTE).

La majorité des recettes nettes en vertu d’un crédit pour l’année entière est perçue au cours des deux premiers trimestres de l’exercice financier. Par conséquent, on peut s’attendre à ce que les rapports financiers trimestriels du CRTC indiquent toujours les dépenses nettes de fonctionnement comme solde créditeur. Le RPP 2014-2015 contient d’autres précisions sur les revenus du CRTC et les droits qu’il perçoit notamment dans la section renseignements supplémentaires - “État des résultats prospectif”.

Depuis la fin décembre 2014, le CRTC a travaillé avec les organismes centraux afin d’obtenir l’approbation d’une autorité budgétaire supplémentaire pour financer l’établissement,  le maintien et  la mise en œuvre du programme de Registre de communication avec les électeurs. Le CRTC demandera l’approbation de cette autorité budgétaire dans le cadre du processus du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (C) de 2014-2015.

Autorisations

Pour 2014-2015 à ce jour, il y a une augmentation nette des crédits budgétaires de 0,21 million de dollars par rapport à ceux accordés dans le Budget principal des dépenses, le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (B). Les facteurs contribuant à l’augmentation nette incluent:

Hausses

Baisses

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel reflète les résultats de l’exercice en cours et est conforme au Budget principal des dépenses, au Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) et au Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (B). La Loi de crédit .2 de 2014-2015 accorde la totalité des crédits du Budget principal des dépenses de 2014-2015 et a été approuvée par un mandat du gouverneur général émis le 20 juin, 2014, en vertu du décret C.P. 2014-837. La Loi de crédit 3 de 2014-2015 accorde les crédits du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) 2014-2015 et a été approuvée par un mandat du gouverneur général émis le 20 juin, 2014, en vertu du  décret C.P. 2014-838. La Loi de crédit nº 4 de 2014-2015 accorde les crédits du Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (B) 2014-2015 et a été approuvée par un mandat du gouverneur général émis le 17 décembre, 2014, en vertu du  décret C.P. 2014-1491.

Dépenses

Les dépenses du CRTC pour le troisième trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2014 sont comparables à celles de l’exercice précédent. Comparativement à l’année précédente, le total des dépenses budgétaires de 2014-15 à ce jour est légèrement supérieur  (0,70 million de dollars). Cette variation des dépenses est une combinaison de l’augmentation nette des dépenses relativement au compte “Autres subventions et paiements” (1,39 million de dollars attribuable au paiement de transition unique dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre du régime de paye en arrérages par le Gouvernement du Canada), des dépenses attribuable aux frais d’information (0,17 million de dollars), aux frais d’acquisition de matériel et d’équipement (0,16 million de dollars) et la diminution nette des dépenses attribuable à des éléments liés aux salaires (-0,65 million de dollar), aux frais de transport et communication (-0.26 million de dollars) et les Services de réparation et d’entretien  (-0,11 million de dollars).

3. Risques et incertitudes

Avant 2013-2014, les activités d’enquête et d’application de la LNNTE du CRTC ont été financées par des mesures provisoires, sur une base annuelle, à l’aide des autorisations parlementaires. À compter de 2013-2014, une solution de financement à long terme a été mis en œuvre pour le recouvrement des coûts du CRTC liés aux activités d'enquêtes et d’application de la loi associées à la LNNTE auprès des télévendeurs.

Les coûts estimatifs de télémarketing et réglementaires et les revenus ciblés pour les droits de télécommunication totalisent 3,3 millions de dollars pour 2013-2014 et 2014-2015. Un avis public pour ces montants a été présenté dans les ordonnances de Conformité et Enquêtes CRTC 2013-148 pour 2013-2014 et 2014-307 pour 2014-2015.

Bien que le CRTC ait établi ses niveaux de droits de télécommunications non sollicitées afin de recouvrer entièrement ses coûts d’exploitation approuvé de la LNNTE, il y avait un risque d’avoir un manque à gagner au niveau des revenus si moins de télévendeurs souscrivaient à la LNNTE et payaient les droits.  C’était le cas en 2013-2014 alors que les droits de télécommunications non sollicitées perçus s’élevaient à 3,05 millions de dollars ou 92,5% de l’objectif de revenus. Des mesures de contrôle des coûts ont été mises en place de telle sorte que les coûts réels du CRTC relatifs à la LNNTE n’excèdent pas le montant des recettes perçues.

Selon les projections financières estimées en fin décembre 2014, l’objectif de 3,3 millions de dollars en  revenus serait compromis. Par conséquent, les mesures de surveillance et de contrôle du CRTC seront maintenues afin de s’assurer que le montant net (recettes moins dépenses) approuvé par le Parlement ne soit pas dépassé. En outre,  d’ici la fin de l’année financière, le CRTC va explorer, de façon proactive, des mesures visant à accroître le montant des recettes perçues de sorte que l’objectif de revenus annuel  soit atteint dans l’avenir.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Il n’y a eu aucun changement important lié aux opérations, au personnel et aux programmes au cours de la dernière année, autre que les nouvelles responsabilités légales conférées au CRTC en 2014 pour le programme du registre de communication avec les électeurs.  

5. Mise en œuvre Budget 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d’économie annoncées dans le Budget  2012 et sont mises en œuvre dans le but de recentrer le gouvernement et les programmes, de faciliter les rapports des Canadiens et des entreprises avec leur gouvernement ainsi que de moderniser et de rationaliser les services administratifs.

Suite au Budget 2012, le CRTC a réalisé des économies de 0,428 million de dollars pour l’exercice 2013-2014, grâce à des réductions de programmes liés à ses activités d’enquêtes et d’application en vertu de la loi canadienne anti‑pourriel qui est entré en vigueur le 1er juillet 2014. Ces économies continueront de se réaliser sur une base régulière. Le CRTC demeure résolu à garantir un cyberespace plus sécuritaire pour les Canadiens et utilisera toutes les ressources disponibles pour traquer avec succès les contrevenants.

Ces économies ne comportent aucune incertitude et aucun risque financier.

6. Approbation par les cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

Jean-Pierre Blais, Président et premier dirigeant
Gatineau (Québec)
Date: le 22 janvier 2015

John Traversy, Secrétaire général
Gatineau (Québec)
Date: le 22 janvier 2015

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2014-2015 (en milliers de dollars)

  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015* Crédits utilisés au cours du trimestre ayant pris fin le 31 décembre 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 50 – Dépenses de programme 54 914 12 303 36 555
Moins : Revenus affectés aux dépenses (47 627) (587) (47 402)
Crédit 50 net – Dépenses de programme 7 287 11 716 (10 847)
Autorisations législatives – RASE 6 641 1 660 4 981
Autorisations budgétaires totales 13 928 13 376 (5 866)

*N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Exercice 2013-2014 (en milliers de dollars)

  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014* Crédits utilisés au cours du trimestre ayant pris fin le 31 décembre 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 50 – Dépenses de programme 54 034 11 409 35 737
Moins : Revenus affectés aux dépenses (47 270) (1 136) (47 270)
Crédit 50 net – Dépenses de programme 6 764 10 273 (11 533)
Autorisations législatives – RASE 6 959 1 701 5 103
Autorisations budgétaires totales 13 723 11 974 (6 430)

* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Dépenses budgétaires ministérielles par article courant (non vérifiées)

Exercice 2014-2015 (en milliers de dollars)

  Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015 Dépenses au cours du trimestre ayant pris fin le 31 décembre 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :
Personnel (y compris les contributions aux RASE) 47 073 11 794 34 896
Transport et communications 2 053 343 888
Information 958 275 597
Services professionnels et spéciaux 6 994 1 165 2 843
Location 1 368 145 337
Services de réparation et d’entretien 916 55 132
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 548 72 185
Acquisition de matériel et d’équipement 1 638 80 266
Autres subventions et paiements 7 34 1 392
Total des dépenses budgétaires brutes 61 555 13 963 41 536
Moins : revenus affectés aux dépenses
Revenus (droits de licence de radiodiffusion au titre de la partie I, droits de télécommunications et droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées) (47 627) (587) (47 402)
Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses (47 627) (587) (47 402)
TOTAL DES DÉPENSES BUDGÉTAIRES NETTES 13 928 13 376 (5 866)

Exercice 2013-2014 (en milliers de dollars)

  Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice s’étant terminé le 31 mars 2014 Dépenses au cours du trimestre ayant pris fin le 31 décembre 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses :  
Personnel (y compris les contributions aux RASE) 46 856 11 433 35 544
Transport et communications 1 979 364 1 145
Information 1 272 123 419
Services professionnels et spéciaux 6 782 963 2 904
Location 1 555 47 348
Services de réparation et d’entretien 848 63 239
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 566 56 143
Acquisition de matériel et d’équipement 1 131 61 98
Autres subventions et paiements 4 0 0
Total des dépenses budgétaires brutes 60 993 13 110 40 840
Moins : revenus affectés aux dépenses
Revenus (droits de licence de radiodiffusion au titre de la partie I, droits de télécommunications et droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées) (47 270) (1 136) (47 270)
Total des revenus affectés aux dépenses (47 270) (1 136) (47 270)
TOTAL DES DÉPENSES BUDGÉTAIRES NETTES 13 723 11 974 (6 430)
Date de modification :