Communications Monitoring Report 2014: Introduction

Previous Table of Contents Next

1.0 Introduction

The CRTC has been issuing annual monitoring reports on Canada’s communications system since the late 1990s.

The CRTC’s Communications Monitoring Report provides a window on communications market sectors and their role in the lives of Canadians. Over time, the report has evolved to follow market developments, technological changes, and consumer needs. It is intended to foster an open, well-informed public discussion of broadcasting and telecommunications regulatory policies and issues. The Commission invites parties to use this report to enrich their participation in the regulatory process.

The report contains disaggregated data on the Canadian broadcasting and telecommunications industries and their markets, as well as international comparisons. It supports evidence-based decision making. The report provides a means to assess the impacts of market and technological developments on, among other things, the cultural, social, and economic policy objectives of the Broadcasting Act and the Telecommunications Act (collectively, the Acts), and to review the effectiveness of the CRTC’s regulatory frameworks and determinations in achieving those objectives.

Specific elements of the monitoring report change over time to take into account regulatory and market developments such as new technologies, changes in market structure and in domestic or international regulations and agreements, and the introduction of new or evolving services. These changes help ensure that the CRTC Communications Monitoring Report continues to be a useful tool for all Canadians.

What’s new in this report

The organization of the report has been revised to make it more reader-friendly and to make each section more comprehensive. Changes include the following:

  1. The prices of basic local telephone, broadband Internet access, wireless mobile, and broadcasting distribution undertaking (BDU) services, in both urban and rural centres, have been added to show the effects of competition on service prices.
  2. Statistics on access to communications services by official language minority communities have been added to this year’s report.
  3. Data regarding expenditures on Programs of National Interest have been expanded. Expenditures by group-based licensees have been included in the television market section.
  4. Each graph now displays the values to produce the graph.
  5. Blue text boxes have been added below the tables, graphs, and charts to explain the data displayed.
  6. Grey text boxes have been added where appropriate to provide definitions or descriptions of methodologies used to produce the data.
  7. Statistics on the volume and nature of complaints and contacts have been moved to the appropriate market sector sections, for ease of access.
  8. Data contained in last year’s section entitled “Broadband availability and adoption of digital technologies” have been relocated to provide a more holistic view of the Internet market as follows:
    1. broadband availability data now appear in the Internet market sector section; and
    2. data on digital technologies have been relocated to the appropriate broadcasting market sector sections.
  9. The telecommunications section has been reorganized to present the retail and wholesale market sector details separately. This realignment more clearly presents information for and about Canadians as consumers and provides a more focused look at the wholesale market sector.

These changes have been introduced to provide Canadians with financial, pricing, and other key indicators and trends to enhance their participation in Commission proceedings. Consumption statistics, such as pricing, service penetration, and complaints, are presented for matters that have a direct impact on Canadians.

1.1 Methodology / Data collection

This report is based on (1) the responses from broadcasting and telecommunications undertakings to the CRTC’s annual surveys, issued jointly by Statistics Canada and the CRTC (referred to collectively as “CRTC data collection”); (2) data collected from other sources, including Statistics Canada, Industry Canada, company-specific financial reports, Numeris, and BBM Analytics’ Media Technology Monitor (MTM) reports; and (3) information previously filed with the CRTC in the context of regulatory proceedings. Unless otherwise noted, all broadcasting data in this report are for the 12-month period ending 31 August for the years quoted, whereas all telecommunications data, including Internet service data, are for the 12-month period ending 31 December for the years quoted.

With respect to residential broadband availability data, the Commission coordinates with Industry Canada to collect data on the availability of broadband Internet access services to Canadians. The Commission has collaborated with the provincial and territorial governments, as well as other federal government agencies and departments, to identify communities that do not have access to broadband services. The resulting data will assist the federal, provincial, and territorial governments in analyzing the broadband availability performance in both urban and rural communities. Combining these data collection initiatives enables the reporting burden on the industry to be reduced, uniform definitions and methodologies to be employed, and the quality of the data presented in this report to be enhanced.

The international comparisons and analyses presented in this report are based on data obtained from reports published by international organizations such as the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and reports or data published by national communications regulators in other countries.

Certain figures published in previous years’ monitoring reports have been restated in this year’s report to better reflect the developments in the markets or industry and to allow for a more meaningful comparison. Other figures may have changed as a result of service providers resubmitting previous years’ data. All revised numbers are identified using a number sign (#).

1.2 The CRTC

The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) regulates and supervises Canada’s communication system in accordance with the mandate entrusted to it by Parliament, including achieving the policy objectives established in the Broadcasting Act and the Telecommunications Act and Canada’s anti-spam legislation (CASL). It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Canadian Heritage, and delivers its mandate from offices in the National Capital Region and regional offices throughout Canada with participation from both National and Regional Commissioners.

Guided by its legislative mandate, the CRTC is committed to its strategic objective of ensuring that Canadians have access to a world-class communication system. This overarching objective is supported by three pillars: Create, Connect, and Protect.

Create

The CRTC contributes to a broadcasting system that provides Canadians with a wealth of compelling and diverse content. The creation of diverse programming, from diverse sources, that reflects the attitudes, opinions, ideas, values and artistic creativity of Canadians enables their participation in their country’s democratic and cultural life.

Connect

The CRTC contributes to a communications system that provides Canadians, including those with disabilities, quality and affordable communication service options. The communications system strengthens the social and economic fabric of Canada, and enables Canadians to have access to compelling and diverse Canadian content on a variety of platforms.

Protect

The CRTC contributes to the protection and safety of Canadians within the communication system. By promoting and enforcing compliance with legislation and regulatory measures, the CRTC strengthens the participation of communications service providers in offering safety-enhancing and emergency services to Canadians, and seeks to reduce unsolicited commercial communication messages.

Previous Table of Contents Next

Date modified:

Rapport de surveillance des communications 2014 : Introduction

Précédant Table des matières Suivant

1.0  Introduction

Le CRTC publie des rapports de surveillance annuels sur le système de communication canadien depuis la fin des années 1990.

Le Rapport de surveillance des communicationsdu CRTC dresse un tableau des divers secteurs du marché des services de communication et examine leur rôle dans la vie des Canadiens. Au fil du temps, il a évolué pour refléter l’évolution du marché, les changements technologiques et les besoins des consommateurs. Il a pour objet d’encourager une discussion ouverte et éclairée avec le public sur les politiques réglementaires de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication et sur les enjeux concernant ces deux secteurs. Le Conseil invite les parties à se servir du rapport pour participer plus activement au processus de réglementation.

Le présent document renferme des données désagrégées sur les industries canadiennes de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications et sur leurs marchés, de même que des comparaisons à l’échelle internationale. Il favorise une prise de décisions fondées sur des éléments probants. Il constitue un moyen d’évaluer l’impact de l’évolution du marché et de la technologie, notamment en regard des objectifs culturels, sociaux, économiques et politiques de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion et de la Loi sur les télécommunications, et d’examiner l’efficacité des décisions et des cadres de réglementation du CRTC pour atteindre ces objectifs.

Certains éléments du rapport de surveillance sont modifiés au fil du temps afin de tenir compte de l’évolution de la réglementation ou du marché; qu’il s’agisse de nouvelles technologies, de modifications apportées à la structure du marché ou à la réglementation et aux ententes nationales et internationales ou encore de l’introduction de nouveaux services ou de services évolués. Ces changements visent à s’assurer que le Rapport de surveillance des communications du CRTC reste un outil utile pour tous les Canadiens.

Nouveautés dans ce rapport

La structure du rapport a été remaniée afin d’en faciliter la lecture et de faire en sorte que chaque section donne une information complète. Les changements apportés sont les suivants :

  1. les tarifs du service téléphonique local de base, des services d’accès Internet à large bande, des services sans fil mobiles et des services des entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion dans les centres urbains et les communautés rurales ont été ajoutés afin de démontrer les effets de la concurrence sur les prix;
  2. des statistiques sur l’accès aux services de communication par communauté de langue officielle en situation minoritaire ont été ajoutées dans le rapport de cette année;
  3. les données concernant les dépenses en émissions d’intérêt national sont plus complètes. Les dépenses par groupe de propriété titulaire ont été incorporées à la section sur le marché des services de télévision;
  4. chaque graphique présente maintenant les valeurs ayant servi à sa production;
  5. du texte dans des boîtes à fond bleuté a été ajouté sous chaque tableau, graphique et diagramme pour expliquer les données;
  6. du texte dans des boîtes à fond grisé a été ajouté, au besoin, pour donner des définitions ou décrire la méthodologie utilisée pour fournir les données;
  7. les statistiques sur le nombre et la nature des plaintes ainsi que sur les contacts ont été déplacées dans la section relative au secteur de marché approprié afin d’en faciliter l’accès;
  8. les données inscrites l’année dernière dans la section intitulée « Disponibilité de la large bande et adoption de technologies numériques » ont été déplacées afin de donner une vue plus complète du marché des services Internet :
    1. la disponibilité de la large bande fait maintenant partie de la section sur le marché des services Internet,
    2. les données sur les technologies numériques ont été réparties dans les sections appropriées du marché des services de radiodiffusion;
  9. la section sur les télécommunications a été réorganisée de façon à présenter séparément les détails relatifs au marché des services de détail et ceux relatifs au marché des services de gros. Ce réalignement permet de présenter plus clairement les renseignements concernant et intéressant les consommateurs canadiens et d’accorder plus d’attention au secteur du marché des services de gros.

Ces modifications ont été apportées afin de communiquer aux Canadiens des indicateurs et des tendances importants, notamment en matière de finances et de tarification, afin d’améliorer leur participation aux instances du Conseil. Des statistiques sur la consommation, comme l’établissement des prix, le taux de pénétration des services et les plaintes, sont présentées à propos des questions qui ont une incidence directe sur les Canadiens.

1.1 Méthodologie/collecte de données

Le présent rapport est fondé sur : 1) les réponses fournies par les entreprises de radiodiffusion et de télécommunications dans leurs rapports annuels au CRTC, rapports qui sont publiés conjointement par Statistique Canada et par le CRTC (données regroupées ci‑après sous le titre « Données recueillies par le CRTC »); 2) les données provenant d’autres sources, comme Statistique Canada, Industrie Canada, les rapports financiers des sociétés, les rapports de Numeris et les comptes rendus de l’Observateur des technologies médias (OTM) de BBM Analytique et 3) des renseignements déposés antérieurement auprès du CRTC lors d’instances. Sauf indication contraire, toutes les données sur la radiodiffusion contenues dans ce rapport portent sur une période de 12 mois se terminant le 31 août de chaque année citée, tandis que toutes les données sur les télécommunications, y compris celles sur les services Internet, portent sur la période de 12 mois se terminant le 31 décembre de chaque année citée.

En ce qui concerne les données relatives à la disponibilité des services à large bande dans le secteur résidentiel, le Conseil et Industrie Canada coordonnent une collecte de données sur la disponibilité des services d’accès Internet à large bande pour les Canadiens. Le Conseil travaille aussi de concert avec les provinces et les territoires, ainsi qu’avec d’autres ministères et organismes gouvernementaux, afin de recenser les communautés qui n’ont pas accès aux services à large bande. Les données recueillies aideront les administrations fédérale, provinciales et territoriales à analyser l’écart dans les services à large bande entre les communautés urbaines et rurales. La combinaison de ces projets de collecte de données permet d’alléger le fardeau de l’industrie sur les plans de la divulgation des données, d’uniformiser les définitions et les méthodologies à appliquer et d’améliorer la qualité des données présentées dans ce rapport.

Les comparaisons et les analyses à l’échelle mondiale présentées dans ce rapport se fondent sur les données extraites de rapports d’organismes internationaux comme l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) et des données ou rapports publiés par les organismes nationaux de réglementation des communications d’autres pays.

Certains chiffres ont été repris de rapports de surveillance antérieurs afin d’illustrer l’évolution du marché ou de l’industrie et de permettre l’établissement de comparaisons valables. D’autres chiffres ont pu être modifiés du fait que certains fournisseurs de services ont resoumis des données concernant des années précédentes. Tous les chiffres révisés sont suivis du symbole dièse (#)

1.2  Le CRTC

Le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) réglemente et supervise le système national de communication en vertu du mandat qui lui a été fixé par le Parlement et qui consiste notamment à réaliser les objectifs stratégiques découlant de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion, de la Loi sur les télécommunications ainsi que de la Loi canadienne anti-pourriel. Le CRTC rend compte au Parlement par l’intermédiaire du ministre du Patrimoine canadien et exécute son mandat à partir de ses bureaux situés dans la région de la capitale nationale et ailleurs au pays, grâce à la participation de conseillers nationaux et régionaux.

Dans le cadre de son mandat législatif, le CRTC s’est engagé dans une stratégie visant à assurer aux Canadiens l’accès à un système de communication de classe mondiale. Cet objectif primordial s’appuie sur les trois jalons suivants : créer, brancher et protéger.

Créer

Le CRTC contribue à l’existence d’un système de radiodiffusion grâce auquel les Canadiens ont accès à un contenu créatif varié et de qualité. La création d’émissions d’origines diverses, reflétant leurs attitudes, leurs opinions, leurs idées, leurs valeurs et leur créativité artistique, permet aux Canadiens de participer à la vie démocratique et culturelle du pays.

Brancher

Le CRTC contribue au maintien d’un système de communication qui permet à tous les Canadiens, y compris aux personnes handicapées, de se prévaloir de différents services de communication abordables et de qualité. Ce système de communication consolide le tissu socioéconomique de la nation et permet aux Canadiens d’accéder à un contenu canadien varié et de qualité, sur toute une diversité de plateformes. 

Protéger

Les activités du CRTC permettent de renforcer la protection et la sécurité des Canadiens dans le cadre du système de communication. En incitant au respect des mesures législatives et réglementaires et en veillant à leur application, le CRTC consolide la participation des fournisseurs à une offre de services qui améliorent la sécurité des Canadiens et vise à faire réduire les communications commerciales non sollicitées.

Précédant Table des matières Suivant

Date de modification :