Annex to the Statement of Management Responsibility Including Internal Control Over Financial Reporting - Fiscal Year 2012-2013 (unaudited)

Return to 2012-2013 Departmental Performance Report

1. Introduction

In support of an effective system of internal control, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunication Commission (CRTC) annually assesses the performance of it financial controls to ensure:

The CRTC will leverage the results of the periodic Core Control Audit performed by the Office of the Comptroller General. Below is a summary of the results of the assessment conducted during fiscal year 2012-2013.

2. Assessment results during fiscal year 2012-2013

During 2012-2013, the CRTC completed all design effectiveness testing of key control areas and material business processes, including Financial Close and Reporting; Procure to Payment; Payroll; Capital Assets and Revenues. The CRTC also commenced planning for operating effectiveness testing for the 2013-2014 fiscal year.

For the most part, controls related to payment for goods and services and payment authority were functioning well and form an adequate basis for the CRTC system of internal control. As a result of the design effectiveness testing for these financial controls, the CRTC identified the following remediation action that is required: improvements in the monitoring and approval of transactions and accounts; improvements to segregation of duties and strengthened system access controls. Remediation is currently in progress.

Revenues are a significant and material component of the CRTC's financial statements. Design effectiveness testing for the revenue process in 2012-2013 concluded that there are effective key controls in place.

3. Assessment plan

The CRTC will continue to monitor the performance of its system of internal control with a focus on the core controls related to financial transactions.

The CRTC is also planning to perform the operating effectiveness testing of key controls and to develop an on-going monitoring plan in the 2013-2014 fiscal year.

Date modified:

Annexe à la Déclaration de responsabilité de la direction englobant le contrôle interne en matière de rapports financiers – Exercice 2012-2013 (non vérifiée)

 

Retour aux Rapport ministériel sur le rendement 2012-2013

Introduction

À l'appui d'un système efficace de contrôle interne, le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes(CRTC) évalue annuellement le rendement de ses contrôles financiers afin d'assurer que :

Le CRTC tirera parti des résultats des vérifications périodiques des contrôles de base faites par le Bureau du contrôleur général. Vous trouverez ci-dessous un résumé des résultats de l'évaluation effectuée au cours de l'exercice 2012-2013.

Résultats de l'évaluation au cours de l'exercice 2012-2013

En 2012-2013, le CRTC a complété tous les tests d'efficacité de la conception pour les secteurs de contrôle clés et des processus d'affaires significatifs, tels que Fermeture et rapports financiers, Dépenses opérationnelles/créditeurs, Paie et avantages sociaux, Immobilisations et Revenu/créditeurs. Le CRTC a également commencé la planification pour tester l'efficacité opérationnelle pour l'exercice 2013-2014.

Dans une grande mesure, les contrôles relatifs au paiement pour les biens et services et les pouvoirs de payer fonctionnaient bien et constituent une base adéquate pour le système de contrôle interne du CRTC. À la suite de l'évaluation de l'efficacité de la conception de ces contrôles financiers, le CRTC a identifié le plan d'action suivant: améliorer la surveillance et l'approbation des opérations et des comptes, renforcer la séparation des tâches et les contrôles d'accès au système. La mise en œuvre est actuellement en cours.

Les revenus sont une composante importante et significative des états financiers du CRTC. Selon l'évaluation de l'efficacité de la conception du processus Revenu/créditeurs pour 2012-2013 les contrôles clés en place sont efficaces.

Plan d'évaluation

Le CRTC continuera de surveiller la performance de son système de contrôle interne en mettant l'accent sur les contrôles de base relatifs aux transactions financières.

Le CRTC prévoit également effectuer les tests de l'efficacité opérationnelle des contrôles clés et élaborer un plan de surveillance continue au cours de l'exercice 2013-2014.

Date de modification :