Future-Oriented Statement of Operations 2015-2016

Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
Future-oriented Statement of Operations (Unaudited)
For the Year Ended March 31

(in thousands of dollars)
  Estimated
Results
2014-2015
Planned
Results
2015-2016
Expenses
Canadian Content Creation 17,451 18,137
Connection to the Communication System 20,836 21,505
Protection within the Communication System 11,539 12,438
Internal services 15,830 15,463
Expenses incurred on behalf of Government (464) (1,200)
Total expenses 65,192 66,343
Revenues
Rights and privileges 107,280 109,426
Regulatory fees 58,765 61,221
Miscellaneous revenues 3,025 6,027
Revenues earned on behalf of Government (121,443) (129,049)
Total revenues 47,627 47,625
Net cost of operations 17,565 18,718

The accompanying notes form an integral part of the future-oriented statement of operations.

Notes to Future-Oriented Statement of Operations

1. Methodology and Significant Assumptions

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared on the basis of the government priorities and departmental plans as described in the Report on Plans and Priorities.

The information in the estimated results for fiscal year 2014-15 is based on actual results as at November 30, 2014 and on forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Forecasts have been made for the planned results for the 2015-16 fiscal year.

The main assumptions underlying the forecasts are as follows:

  1. The department’s operating activities will remain substantially the same as for the previous year.
  2. Expenses and revenues, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on historical experience, with the exception of administrative monetary penalties (AMPs). It is not possible to accurately forecast revenues related to AMPs associated with enforcement activities for the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules (UTRs), Canada’s Anti-Spam Legislation (CASL), and the Voter Contact Registry (VCR). Amounts may vary significantly from year to year based on factors including trends in compliance as well as the number and complexity of investigations. For example, enforcement activities for the VCR are expected to increase during the period of federal elections.
  3. Allowances for bad debt expenses are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue, but may vary, given higher maximum AMPs available under CASL.

The assumptions are adopted as at December 31st, 2014.

2. Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to forecast final results for the remainder of 2014-15 and for 2015-16, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this future-oriented statement of operations the CRTC has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are continually evaluated and are based on experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the future-oriented financial statement of operations and the historical statement of operations include the following:

Once the Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, the CRTC will not be updating the forecasts for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

3. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared using Government’s accounting policies that are in effect for the 2014-15 fiscal year which are based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

  1. Expenses

    Expenses are recorded on an accrual basis. Expenses for the Department’s operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered, including services provided without charges for accommodation, employee contributions to health and dental insurance plans and worker’s compensation, which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost. Vacation pay and compensatory leave, as well as severance benefits, are accrued and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their terms of employment.

    Expenses also include provisions to reflect changes in the value of assets, including provisions for bad debt on accounts receivable, provision for valuation on loans, investments and advances and inventory obsolescence or liabilities, including contingent liabilities and environmental liabilities to the extent the future event is likely to occur and a reasonable estimate can be made.

    Expenses also include amortization of tangible capital assets which are capitalized at their acquisition cost. Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset as follows:

    Asset Class Amortization period
    Informatics equipment 3 years
    Informatics software 5 years
    Vehicles 5 years
    Equipment 5 years
    Leasehold improvements 25 years
  2. Revenues

    Revenues from regulatory fees are recognized in the accounts based on the services provided in the year.

    Funds received from external parties for specified purposes are recorded upon receipt as deferred revenue. These revenues are recognized in the period in which the related expenses are incurred.

    Funds that have been received are recorded as deferred revenue, provided the Department has an obligation to other parties for the provision of goods, services or the use of assets in the future.

    Other revenues are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event that gave rise to the revenue takes place.

    Revenues that are non-respendable are not available to discharge the Department's liabilities. While the Deputy Head is expected to maintain accounting control, he or she has no authority regarding the disposition of non-respendable revenues. As a result, non-respendable revenues are considered to be earned on behalf of the Government of Canada and are therefore presented in reduction of the entity's gross revenues.

(a) Rights & Privileges

Part II licence fees ­ The Broadcasting Licence Fee Regulations, 1997 were amended in 2010 (Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2010-476). A cap of $100 million was introduced for the calculation of Part II broadcasting licence fees assessed in 2010-11.  This cap is adjusted annually on a compound basis in accordance with the percentage increase or decrease to the Consumer Price Index (CPI) for the calendar year prior to the year of the adjustment. The CPI index was 1.8% for fiscal year 2011-12, 2.9% for fiscal year 2012-13, 1.5% for 2013-14, 0.9% for 2014-15, and is forecast to be 2.0% for 2015-16. The CPI is the annual average all-items CPI for Canada that is published by Statistics Canada.

These fees recover part of the Government of Canada’s substantial annual investment in the Canadian broadcasting system.

(b) Regulatory Fees

The CRTC collects fees pursuant to regulations made under the authority of the Broadcasting Act and Telecommunications Act.

Broadcasting licence fees ­ Section 11 of the Broadcasting Act gives the Commission the authority to make regulations respecting licence fees. These regulations apply to most licensees, who are required to pay their Part I and Part II licence fees to the Commission annually. The last amendment to the Broadcasting Licence Fee Regulations was done in 2010. Details on the amendment can be found in Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2010-476 on the CRTC website at http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/archive/2010/2010-476.htm. The Broadcasting Licence Fee Regulations can be found on the Department of Justice web site at: http://laws.justice.gc.ca/.

Part I licence fees - Part I licence fees are based on the broadcasting regulatory costs incurred each year by the Commission and other federal departments or agencies, and are equal to the aggregate of:

The CRTC’s estimated broadcasting regulatory costs are set out in its Expenditure Plan published in Part III of the Estimates of the Government of Canada (Report on Plans and Priorities). In accordance with subsection 9(1) of the Broadcasting Licence Fees Regulations, 1997 (SOR/97-144), the estimated total regulatory costs of the Commission’s broadcasting activity for fiscal year 2015-16 totals $30.6 million.

There is an annual adjustment (‘true-up’) amount to the Part I fee to adjust estimated costs to actual expenditures. Any excess fees or shortfalls are credited or charged to the licensee in a following year’s invoice.

Telecommunications fees ­ Section 68 of the Telecommunications Act grants the CRTC authority to make the Telecommunications Fees Regulations.

The Telecommunications Fees Regulations amended in March 2010 (Telecom Decision CRTC 2010‑183 dated 25 March 2010) requires all telecommunications service providers (TSPs), or groups of related TSPs, with at least $10 million dollars in Canadian telecommunications service revenues (CTSR) to pay telecommunications fees, whether or not they file a tariff for approval with the Commission.  The Telecommunications Fees Regulations can be found on the Department of Justice web site at: http://laws.justice.gc.ca/.

The CRTC’s annual telecommunications fees are equal to the aggregate of:

The CRTC’s estimated telecommunications regulatory costs are set out in its Expenditure Plan, published in Part III of the Estimates of the Government of Canada (Report on Plans and Priorities). In accordance with subsections 3(1) and 3(3) of the Telecommunications Fees Regulations, 2010 (SOR/2010-65), the estimated total regulatory costs of the Commission’s telecommunications activity for fiscal year 2015-16 totals $27.8 million.

There is an annual adjustment (‘true-up’) amount to the telecommunications fees to adjust estimated costs to actual expenditures. Any excess fees or shortfalls are credited or charged to the carriers in the following year’s invoice.

Unsolicited Telecommunications Fees - Section  41.21(1) of the Telecommunications Act grants the CRTC authority to create the Unsolicited Telecommunications Fees Regulations.  The Unsolicited Telecommunications Fees Regulations, came into effect on April 1, 2013, for the 2013-14 fiscal year. These fees are used to fund the CRTC’s Do Not Call List (DNCL) investigation and enforcement activities, on a cost recovery basis, from fees assessed to telemarketers. In accordance with subsection 4.(4) of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Fees Regulations (SOR/2013-7), the Commission’s telemarketing regulatory costs for the fiscal year 2015-16 totals $3.3 million.  These regulations can be found on the Department of Justice web site at: http://laws.justice.gc.ca/.

(c) Miscellaneous Revenues

Miscellaneous revenues are comprised of:  (a) AMPs, (b) interest on overdue accounts receivable for CRTC broadcasting licence fees, telecommunications fees and AMPs (c) miscellaneous non tax revenue (e.g. access to information fees), and (d)gain on disposal of non-capital assets to outside parties.  All revenue from AMPs is recorded as non-respendable non-tax revenue and is considered revenues earned on behalf of the government.

4. Parliamentary Authorities

Parliamentary authorities and vote-netting

The CRTC is financed in part by the Government of Canada through Parliamentary authorities (e.g. Statutory Vote for Employee Benefits Plans (EBP), Budgetary Vote for the CASL and VCR activities) and the balance by vote-netted fees it collects from the broadcasting, telecommunications and telemarketing industries. Vote-netting is a means of funding selected programs or activities wherein Parliament authorizes a department, pursuant to paragraph 29.1(2)(a) of the Financial Administration Act,  to apply revenues collected from fee payers towards costs directly incurred for specific activities. CRTC has the authority to use a portion of: a) the Part I licence fees collected from broadcasters; b) the annual telecommunications fees collected from telecommunications carriers; and c) the unsolicited telecommunications fees from telemarketers to finance the costs it incurs in discharging its statutory responsibilities under the Broadcasting Act and Telecommunications Act (i.e. respendable revenue). The balance of these three fees recovers the costs for items funded through budgetary authorities (e.g. EBP) and costs incurred by other government departments on the CRTC’s behalf and are classified as non-respendable revenue. Part II broadcasting licence fees are entirely classified as non-respendable revenue.

Financial reporting of authorities provided to the CRTC do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles because authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the future-oriented statement of operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current, or future years. Accordingly, the CRTC has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities
(in thousands of dollars)
  Estimated
2014-2015
Planned
2015-2016
Net cost of operations 17,565 18,718
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations
but not affecting authorities:
Decrease (increase) in employee future benefits -48 -79
Services provided without charge by other government departments -6,329 -6,609
Amortization of tangible capital assets -1,173 -1,101
Decrease (increase) in vacation pay and compensatory leave -14 7
Sub-total -7,564 -7,782
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but
affecting authorities:
Acquisitions of tangible capital assets 993 910
Increase (decrease) in prepaid expenses 49 -25
Sub-total 1,042 885
Requested authorities 11,043 11,821

 

b) Authorities requested
(in thousands of dollars)
  Estimated
2014-2015
Planned
2015-2016
Authorities requested:
Vote 50 - Operating expenditures  7,916 7,852
Statutory amounts 6,674 6,877
Less:
Forecast estimated lapse: Operating   -3,547 -2,908
Requested authorities 11,043 11,821

 

Authorities presented reflect current forecasts of statutory items, approved initiatives included and expected to be included in Estimates documents and, when reasonable estimates can be made, estimates of amounts to be allocated from Treasury Board central votes.

Date modified:

État des résultats prospectifs 2015-2016

Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes
État des résultats prospectif (non audité)
Pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars

(en milliers de dollars)
  Résultats
estimatifs
2014-2015
Résultats
prévus
2015-2016
Charges
Création de contenu canadien 17 451 18 137
Connexion au système de communication 20 836 21 505
Protection au sein du système de communication 11 539 12 438
Services internes 15 830 15 463
Charges engagées pour le compte du gouvernement (464) (1 200)
Total des charges 65 192 66 343
Revenus
Droits et privilèges 107 280 109 426
Droits réglementaires 58 765 61 221
Revenus divers 3 025 6 027
Revenus gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement (121 443) (129 049)
Total des revenus 47 627 47 625
Coût de fonctionnement net 17 565 18 718

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante de l'état des résultats prospectif.

Notes à l’état des résultats prospectif

1. Méthodologie et hypothèses importantes

L’état des résultats prospectif a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans ministériels qui sont décrits dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités. 

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats estimatifs de l’exercice 2014–2015 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 30 novembre 2014 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l’exercice. Des prévisions ont été réalisées pour les résultats prévus de l’exercice 2015-2016.

Les principales hypothèses qui sous-tendent les prévisions sont les suivantes :

  1. Les activités du ministère resteront, pour l’essentiel, pareilles à celle de l’exercice précédent;
  2. Les charges et les revenus, y compris la détermination des montants de sources internes et externes au gouvernement, sont fondés sur l’expérience acquise,  à l’exception des sanctions administratives pécuniaires. Il est impossible de prévoir avec exactitude les revenus découlant des sanctions administratives pécuniaires associées aux activités de mise en application menées à l’égard des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées, la Loi canadienne anti-pourriel et le Registre de communication avec les électeurs.  Les montants peuvent varier grandement d’un exercice à l’autre à cause de facteurs, notamment les tendances en conformité ainsi que le nombre et la complexité des enquêtes. A titre  d’exemple, on prévoit que les activités de mise en application pour le Registre de communication avec les électeurs vont augmenter durant la période des élections fédérales.
  3. Les provisions pour créances douteuses sur les comptes débiteurs sont estimées à la lumière de l’expérience acquise. L’évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre mais peut varier puisque les sanctions administratives pécuniaires maximales associées à la Loi canadienne anti-pourriel sont plus élevées.

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 31 décembre 2014.

2. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l’exercice  2014-2015 et pour 2015-2016, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et l’écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation du présent état des résultats prospectifs, le CRTC a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l’égard d’événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Elles sont évaluées de façon continue et sont fondées sur l’expérience acquise et d’autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l’état des résultats prospectif et l’état des résultats historique sont entre autres :

Une fois que le rapport sur les plans et les priorités est présenté, le CRTC ne fera pas de mise à jour des prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L’état des résultats prospectif a été préparé en conformité avec les conventions comptables du gouvernement qui sont en vigueur pour l’exercice financier 2014-2015, lesquelles s’appuient sur les normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l’utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence notable par rapport aux normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

  1. Charges

    Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les charges de fonctionnement du gouvernement sont constatées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus, y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les locaux, les cotisations de l’employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires et les indemnités d’accident du travail, qui sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif. Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ainsi que les indemnités de cessation d’emploi sont accumulées et comptabilisés au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit aux termes de leurs conditions d’emploi.

    Les charges incluent des provisions qui tiennent compte de changements dans la valeur d’actifs. Cela comprend des provisions pour créances douteuses sur les comptes débiteurs, des provisions pour évaluation de prêts, de placements et d’avances ainsi que la désuétude des stocks ou les passifs, dont les passifs éventuels et les passifs environnementaux, dans la mesure où l’événement futur est susceptible de se produire et où une estimation raisonnable peut être établie.

    Les charges incluent également l’amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, qui sont capitalisées à leur coût d’acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l’amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l’actif, comme suit :

    Catégorie d’immobilisations Période d’amortissement
    Matériel informatique 3 ans
    Logiciels informatiques 5 ans
    Véhicules 5 ans
    Équipement 5 ans
    Améliorations locatives 25 ans

  2. Revenus

    Les revenus provenant de droits réglementaires sont constatés dans les comptes en fonction des services fournis au cours de l’exercice.

    Les fonds reçus de tiers de l’extérieur à des fins précises sont comptabilisés à leur réception en tant que revenus reportés. Ils sont constatés dans l’exercice au cours duquel les charges connexes sont engagées.

    Les fonds qui ont été reçus sont comptabilisés en tant que revenus reportés, dans la mesure où le ministère a une obligation envers d’autres parties de fournir des biens, des services ou des actifs qui seront utilisés à une date ultérieure.

    Les autres revenus sont comptabilisés dans l’exercice pendant lequel les opérations ou les événements qui ont généré les revenus surviennent.

    Les revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés ne peuvent servir à acquitter les passifs du ministère. Bien que l’on s’attende à ce que l’administrateur général maintienne le contrôle comptable, il n’a pas autorité pour disposer des revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés. Par conséquent, les revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés sont considérés comme étant gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada et sont donc présentés en réduction du montant brut des revenus de l’entité.

(a) Droits et privilèges

Droits de licence de la partie II – Le Règlement de 1997 sur les droits de licence de radiodiffusion a été modifié en 2010 (Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion CRTC 2010-476). Un plafond de 100 millions de dollars a été fixé dans le cadre du calcul des droits de licence de la partie II imposés au cours de l’exercice 2010-2011, et ce plafond est rajusté annuellement de façon composée en fonction de l’augmentation ou de la diminution, en pourcentage, de l’Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) pour l’année civile précédant l’année de rajustement. L’IPC était de 1,8 % pour l’exercice 2011-2012, de 2,9 % pour l’exercice 2012-2013, de 1,5 % pour l’exercice 2013-2014, de 0,9 % pour l’exercice 2014-2015 et de 2,0% prévu pour 2015-16. L’IPC est l’indice d’ensemble de l’IPC établi selon une moyenne annuelle pour le Canada, publié par Statistique Canada.

Ces droits permettent de recouvrer une partie de l’important investissement que le gouvernement du Canada consacre chaque année au système de radiodiffusion canadien.

(b) Droits réglementaires

Le CRTC perçoit des droits en vertu de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion et de la Loi sur les télécommunications.

Droits de licence de radiodiffusion - L’article 11 de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion autorise le CRTC à réglementer les droits de licence. Le règlement s’applique à la plupart des titulaires, lesquelles doivent verser au CRTC, chaque année, les droits de licence prévus à la partie I et à la partie II. La dernière modification apportée au Règlement sur les droits de licence de radiodiffusion date de 2010. Les renseignements concernant cette modification figurent dans la Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion CRTC 2010-476, disponible sur le site Web du CRTC à l’adresse suivante : http://www.crtc.gc.ca/fra/archive/2010/2010-476.htm. Le Règlement sur les droits de licence de radiodiffusion est disponible sur le site Web du ministère de la Justice à l’adresse suivante : http://lois.justice.gc.ca/.

Droits de licence de la partie I -Les droits de licence de la partie I sont basés sur les coûts de la réglementation de la radiodiffusion engagés chaque année par le CRTC et d’autres ministères ou organismes fédéraux. Ces coûts correspondent à la somme de ce qui suit :

Le coût total estimatif de la réglementation de la radiodiffusion est énoncé dans le Plan de dépenses du CRTC publié dans la Partie III du Budget des dépenses du gouvernement du Canada (Rapport sur les plans et les priorités). En vertu du paragraphe 9 (1) du Règlement de 1997 sur les droits de licence de radiodiffusion (SOR/97-144), le coût total estimatif des activités de réglementation du Conseil en radiodiffusion pour l'exercice financier 2015-16 est de 30,6 millions de dollars.

Le CRTC calcule le rajustement annuel des droits de la partie I pour tenir compte de la différence entre le coût total estimatif et les dépenses réelles. Tout surplus ou manque à gagner est crédité ou imputé aux titulaires l’année suivante.

Droits de télécommunications -Le Règlement sur les droits de télécommunication confère des pouvoirs au CRTC en vertu de l’article 68 de la Loi sur les télécommunications.

Le Règlement sur les droits de télécommunication modifié en mars 2010 (Décision de télécom CRTC 2010-183 datée du 25 mars 2010) exige que tous les fournisseurs de services de télécommunication (FST) ou groupes de FST apparentés générant au moins 10 millions de dollars par année en revenus de services de télécommunication canadiens versent des droits de télécommunication, qu’ils soient tenus ou non de déposer leur tarification devant le CRTC pour approbation. Le Règlement sur les droits de télécommunication est disponible sur le site Web du ministère de la Justice à l’adresse suivante : http://lois.justice.gc.ca/.

Les droits perçus annuellement par le CRTC correspondent à la somme :

Le coût estimatif de la réglementation des télécommunications est énoncé dans le Plan de dépenses du CRTC publié dans la Partie III du Budget des dépenses du gouvernement du Canada (Rapport sur les plans et les priorités).  En vertu du paragraphe 3 (1) et 3 (3) du Règlement de 2010 sur les droits de télécommunication (SOR/2010-65), le coût total estimatif des activités de réglementation du Conseil en télécommunication pour l'exercice financier 2015-16 est de 27,8 millions de dollars.

Le CRTC calcule le montant du rajustement annuel des droits de télécommunication pour tenir compte de la différence entre le coût total estimatif et les dépenses réelles. Tout surplus ou manque à gagner est crédité ou imputé aux entreprises l’année suivante.

Droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées – Le paragraphe 41.21(1) de la Loi sur les télécommunications autorise le CRTC à créer le Règlement sur les droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées. Le Règlement sur les droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées est entré en vigueur le 1 avril 2013 pour l’exercice financier 2013-2014.  Ces droits servent à financer, selon le principe du recouvrement des coûts, les activités d’enquêtes et d’application de la loi liées à la LNNTE du CRTC à partir des droits perçus auprès des télévendeurs.  En vertu du paragraphe 4.(4) du Règlement sur les droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées (SOR/2013-7), le coût total des activités de réglementation du Conseil en télémarketing pour l'exercice financier 2014-15 est de 3,3 millions de dollars.  Le Règlement sur les droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées se trouve sur le site Web du ministère de la Justice à l’adresse suivante : http://lois.justice.gc.ca/.

(c) Revenus divers

Les revenus divers comprennent a)  les sanctions administratives pécuniaires; b) les intérêts sur les comptes en souffrance pour les droits de licence de radiodiffusion, les droits de télécommunication et les sanctions administratives pécuniaires du CRTC; c) les recettes non fiscales diverses (p. ex., les droits d’accès à l’information) et d) un gain sur disposition d’actifs non capitalisés à des tiers. Tous les revenus provenant des sanctions administratives pécuniaires sont enregistrés comme des recettes non disponibles non fiscales et sont considérés des revenus gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement.

4. Autorisations parlementaires

Autorisations parlementaires et crédits nets

Le CRTC est financé en partie par le gouvernement du Canada, au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires (p. ex., autorisation législative pour les régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés (RASE), crédit budgétaire pour les activités relatives à la loi anti­pourriel et le Registre de communication avec les électeurs), et, pour le reste, par un crédit net provenant des droits qu’il perçoit auprès des industries de la radiodiffusion, des télécommunications et du télémarketing. Les crédits nets servent à financer certains programmes ou certaines activités. Selon cette méthode, le Parlement autorise un ministère, en vertu du paragraphe 29.1(2)(a) de la loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, à utiliser les droits perçus auprès des entités qui les paient pour couvrir des dépenses directement engagées pour des activités déterminées. Le CRTC peut donc utiliser une partie : a) des droits de licence de la partie I qu’il perçoit auprès des radiodiffuseurs; b) des droits annuels de télécommunication que lui versent les entreprises de télécommunication; c) des droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées qu’il perçoit auprès des télévendeurs pour financer les dépenses qu’il engage afin de s’acquitter de ses responsabilités législatives en vertu de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion et de la Loi sur les télécommunications (c.-à.-d. recettes disponibles). Le reste des droits perçus permet de recouvrer les coûts des éléments financés par les autorisations parlementaires (p. ex., RASE) et les coûts engagés par d’autres ministères au nom du CRTC. Ils sont considérés comme des recettes non disponibles. Les droits de licence de radiodiffusion de la partie II sont entièrement considérés comme des recettes non disponibles.

La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties au CRTC ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l’état des résultats prospectif d’un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires approuvés au cours de l’exercice précédent, de l’exercice en cours ou d’exercices futurs. Par conséquent, le coût de fonctionnement net du CRTC pour l’exercice diffère suivant qu’il est calculé selon les principes du financement public ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées
(en milliers de dollars)
  Estimatif
2014-2015
Prévu
2015-2016
Coût de fonctionnement net 17 565 18 718
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net,
mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations :
Diminution (augmentation) des avantages sociaux futurs -48 -79
Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères -6 329 -6 609
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles -1 173 -1 101
Diminution (augmentation) des indemnités de vacances et congés compensatoires -14 7
Total des postes qui ont une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations -7 564 -7 782
Rajustements pour les postes qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net,
mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations :
Acquisition d'immobilisations corporelles 993 910
Augmentation (diminution) des charges payées d'avance 49 -25
  1 042 885
Autorisations demandées 11 043 11 821

 

b) Autorisations demandées
(en milliers de dollars)
  Estimatif
2014-2015
Prévu
2015-2016
Autorisations demandées :
Crédit 50 - Dépenses de fonctionnement 7 916 7 852
Montants des postes législatifs 6 674 6 877
Moins :
Ressources inutilisées prévues : Fonctionnement -3 547 -2 908
Autorisations demandées 11 043 11 821

 

Les autorisations présentées représentent les résultats prévus en ce qui concerne les postes législatifs, les initiatives approuvées qui sont incluses et celles prévues être incluses dans les documents de budget des dépenses et, lorsque des estimations raisonnables peuvent être effectuées, les montants estimatifs des affectations des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor.

Date de modification :