Future-Oriented Statement of Operations 2016-2017

Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
Future-Oriented Statement of Operations (Unaudited)

For the Year Ended March 31
(in thousands of dollars)
Forecast Results 2015-16 Planned Results 2016-17
Expenses
Canadian Content Creation 17,288 17,249
Connection to the Communication System 21,466 22,512
Protection within the Communication System 12,110 12,525
Internal services 16,124 15,700
Expenses incurred on behalf of Government (201) (329)
Total expenses 66,787 67,657
Revenues
Rights and privileges 109,426 110,630
Regulatory fees 60,280 60,689
Miscellaneous revenues 1,588 2,093
Revenues earned on behalf of Government (123,609) (125,727)
Total revenues 47,685 47,685
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers 19,102 19,972

The accompanying notes form an integral part of the future-oriented statement of operations.

Notes to Future-Oriented Statement of Operations

1. Methodology and Significant Assumptions

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared on the basis of the government priorities and departmental plans as described in the Report on Plans and Priorities.

The information in the forecast results for fiscal year 2015-16 is based on actual results as at November 30, 2015 and on forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Forecasts have been made for the planned results for the 2016-17 fiscal year.

The main assumptions underlying the forecasts are as follows:

  1. The department’s activities will remain substantially the same as in the previous year.
  2. Expenses and revenues, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue with the exception of administrative monetary penalties (AMPs). It is not possible to accurately forecast revenues related to AMPs associated with enforcement activities for the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules (UTRs), Canada’s Anti-Spam Legislation (CASL), and the Voter Contact Registry (VCR).  Amounts may vary significantly from year to year based on factors including trends in compliance as well as the number and complexity of investigations. For example, enforcement activities for the VCR are expected to increase during the period of federal elections.
  3. Allowances for bad debt expenses are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue, but may vary, given higher maximum AMPs available under CASL.

The assumptions are adopted as at December 31st, 2015.

2. Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to forecast final results for the remainder of 2015-16 and for 2016-17, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this future-oriented statement of operations the CRTC has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are continually evaluated and are based on experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the future-oriented statement of operations and the historical statement of operations include the following:

Once the Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, the CRTC will not be updating the forecasts for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

3. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared using the Government’s accounting policies in effect for the 2015-16 fiscal year, which are based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

  1. Expenses

    Expenses are recorded on an accrual basis. Expenses for the Department’s operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered, including services provided without charges for accommodation, employee contributions to health and dental insurance plans and worker’s compensation, which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost. Vacation pay and compensatory leave, as well as severance benefits, are accrued and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their terms of employment.

    Expenses also include a provision for bad debt on accounts receivable and amortization of tangible capital assets, which are capitalized at their acquisition cost. Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset as follows:

    Asset Class Amortization period
    Informatics equipment 3 years
    Informatics software 5 years
    Vehicles 5 years
    Equipment 5 years
    Leasehold improvements 25 years
  2. Revenues

    Revenues from rights and privileges, regulatory fees and unsolicited telecommunications feesare recognized in the accounts based on the services provided in the year.

    Miscellaneous revenues are accounted for in the period in which the underlying transaction or event that gave rise to the revenue takes place.

    Revenues that are non-respendable are not available to discharge the CRTC's liabilities. While the Deputy Head is expected to maintain accounting control, he or she has no authority regarding the disposition of non-respendable revenues. As a result, non-respendable revenues are considered to be earned on behalf of the Government of Canada and are therefore presented in reduction of the CRTC's gross revenues.

(a) Rights & Privileges

Part II licence fees ­These fees recover part of the Government of Canada’s substantial annual investment in the Canadian broadcasting system.

(b) Regulatory Fees

The CRTC collects fees pursuant to regulations made under the authority of the Broadcasting Act and Telecommunications Act.

The CRTC’s annual Part I licence fees and telecommunications fees are based on the broadcasting and telecommunications regulatory costs incurred each year by the Commission and other federal departments or agencies, and are equal to the aggregate of:

Unsolicited Telecommunications Fees - These fees are used to fund the CRTC’s Do Not Call List (DNCL) investigation and enforcement activities, on a cost recovery basis, from fees assessed to telemarketers.

(c) Miscellaneous Revenues

Miscellaneous revenues are comprised of: (a) AMPs, (b) interest on overdue accounts receivable for CRTC broadcasting licence fees, telecommunications fees and AMPs (c) miscellaneous non tax revenue (e.g. access to information fees), and (d) gain on disposal of non-capital assets to outside parties. All revenue from AMPs is recorded as non-respendable non-tax revenue and is considered revenues earned on behalf of the government.

4. Parliamentary Authorities

Parliamentary authorities and vote-netting

The CRTC is financed in part by the Government of Canada through Parliamentary authorities (e.g. Statutory Vote for Employee Benefits Plans (EBP), Budgetary Vote for the CASL and VCR activities) and the balance by vote-netted fees it collects from the broadcasting, telecommunications and telemarketing industries. Vote-netting is a means of funding selected programs or activities wherein Parliament authorizes a department, pursuant to paragraph 29.1(2)(a) of the Financial Administration Act, to apply revenues collected from fee payers towards costs directly incurred for specific activities. CRTC has the authority to use a portion of: a) the Part I licence fees collected from broadcasters; b) the annual telecommunications fees collected from telecommunications carriers; and c) the unsolicited telecommunications fees from telemarketers to finance the costs it incurs in discharging its statutory responsibilities under the Broadcasting Act and Telecommunications Act (i.e. respendable revenue). The balance of these three fees recovers the costs for items funded through budgetary authorities (e.g. EBP) and costs incurred by other government departments on the CRTC’s behalf and are classified as non-respendable revenue. Part II broadcasting licence fees are entirely classified as non-respendable revenue.

Financial reporting of authorities provided to the CRTC do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles because authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the future-oriented statement of operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current, or future years. Accordingly, the CRTC has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities
(in thousands of dollars)
  Forecast Results 2015-16 Planned Results 2016-17
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers 19,102 19,972
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Decrease (increase) in employee future benefits (85) (38)
Services provided without charge by other government departments (6,523) (6,359)
Amortization of tangible capital assets (1,141) (1,069)
Decrease (increase) in vacation pay and compensatory leave 72 (20)
Total items affecting net cost of operationsbut not affecting authorities (7,677) (7,486)
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:
Acquisitions of tangible capital assets 639 785
Increase (decrease) in prepaid expenses (38) 19
Total items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities 601 804
Requested authorities 12,026 13,290
b) Authorities requested
(in thousands of dollars)
  Forecast Results 2015-16 Planned Results 2016-17
Authorities requested:
Vote 50 - Operating expenditures 7,698 7,723
Statutory amounts 6,877 7,051
Less:
Forecast estimated lapse: Operating (2,549) (1,484)
Requested authorities 12,026 13,290

Authorities presented reflect current forecasts of statutory items, approved initiatives included and expected to be included in Estimates documents and, when reasonable estimates can be made, estimates of amounts to be allocated from Treasury Board central votes.

Date modified:

État des résultats prospectifs 2016-2017

Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes
État des résultats prospectif (non audité)

Pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars
(en milliers de dollars)
Résultats projetés 2015-2016 Résultats prévus 2016-2017
Charges
Création de contenu canadien 17,288 17,249
Connexion au système de communication 21,466 22,512
Protection au sein du système de communication 12,110 12,525
Services internes 16,124 15,700
Charges engagées pour le compte du gouvernement (201) (329)
Total des charges 66,787 67,657
Revenus
Droits et privilèges 109,426 110,630
Droits réglementaires 60,280 60,689
Revenus divers 1,588 2,093
Revenus gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement (123,609) (125,727)
Total des revenus 47,685 47,685
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement 19,102 19,972

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante de l'état des résultats prospectif.

Notes à l’état des résultats prospectif

1. Méthodologie et hypothèses importantes

L’état des résultats prospectif a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans ministériels qui sont décrits dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats projetés de l’exercice 2015–2016 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 30 novembre 2015 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l’exercice. Des prévisions ont été réalisées pour les résultats prévus de l’exercice 2016-2017.

Les principales hypothèses qui sous-tendent les prévisions sont les suivantes :

  1. Les activités du ministère resteront, pour l’essentiel, les mêmes que celles de l’exercice précédent;
  2. Les charges et les revenus, y compris la détermination des montants de sources internes et externes au gouvernement, sont fondés sur l’expérience acquise. À l’exception des sanctions administratives pécuniaires, l’évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre. Il est impossible de prévoir avec exactitude les revenus découlant des sanctions administratives pécuniaires associées aux activités de mise en application menées à l’égard des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées, laLoi canadienne anti-pourriel et le Registre de communication avec les électeurs. Les montants peuvent varier grandement d’un exercice à l’autre à cause de facteurs, notamment les tendances en conformité ainsi que le nombre et la complexité des enquêtes. A titre d’exemple, on prévoit que les activités de mise en application pour le Registre de communication avec les électeurs vont augmenter durant la période des élections fédérales.
  3. Les provisions pour créances douteuses sur les comptes débiteurs sont estimées à la lumière de l’expérience acquise. L’évolution générale historique devrait se poursuivre mais peut varier puisque les sanctions administratives pécuniaires maximales associées à la Loi canadienne anti-pourriel sont plus élevées.

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 31 décembre 2015.

2. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l’exercice  2015-2016 et pour 2016-2017, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et l’écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation du présent état des résultats prospectifs, le CRTC a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l’égard d’événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Elles sont évaluées de façon continue et sont fondées sur l’expérience acquise et d’autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l’état des résultats prospectif et l’état des résultats historique sont entre autres :

Une fois que le rapport sur les plans et les priorités est présenté, le CRTC ne fera pas de mise à jour des prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L’état des résultats prospectif a été préparé en conformité avec les conventions comptables du gouvernement qui sont en vigueur pour l’exercice financier 2015-2016, lesquelles s’appuient sur les normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l’utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence notable par rapport aux normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

  1. Charges

    Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les charges de fonctionnement du ministère sont constatées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus, y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les locaux, les cotisations de l’employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires et les indemnités d’accident du travail, qui sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif. Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ainsi que les indemnités de cessation d’emploi sont accumulées et comptabilisés au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit aux termes de leurs conditions d’emploi.

    Les charges incluent également des provisions pour créances douteuses sur les comptes débiteurs et l’amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, qui sont capitalisées à leur coût d’acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l’amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l’actif, comme suit :

    Catégorie d’immobilisations Période d’amortissement
    Matériel informatique 3 ans
    Logiciels informatiques 5 ans
    Véhicules 5 ans
    Équipement 5 ans
    Améliorations locatives 25 ans
  2. Revenus

    Les revenus provenant de droits et privilèges, de droits réglementaires et de droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées  sont constatés dans les comptes en fonction des services fournis au cours de l’exercice.

    Les revenus divers sont comptabilisés dans l’exercice pendant lequel les opérations ou les événements qui ont généré les revenus surviennent.

    Les revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés ne peuvent servir à acquitter les passifs du ministère. Bien que l’on s’attende à ce que l’administrateur général maintienne le contrôle comptable, il n’a pas autorité pour disposer des revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés. Par conséquent, les revenus non disponibles pouvant maintenant être dépensés sont considérés comme étant gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada et sont donc présentés en réduction du montant brut des revenus de l’entité.

(a) Droits et privilèges

Droits de licence de la partie II – Ces droits permettent de recouvrer une partie de l’important investissement que le gouvernement du Canada consacre chaque année au système de radiodiffusion canadien.

(b) Droits réglementaires

Le CRTC perçoit des droits en vertu de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion et de la Loi sur les télécommunications.

Les droits de licence de la partie I et les droits de télécommunication sont basés sur les coûts de la réglementation de la radiodiffusion et de la télécommunication engagés chaque année par le CRTC et d’autres ministères ou organismes fédéraux. Ces coûts correspondent à la somme de ce qui suit :

Droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées – Ces droits servent à financer, selon le principe du recouvrement des coûts, les activités d’enquêtes et d’application liées à la LNNTE du CRTC à partir des droits perçus auprès des télévendeurs.

(c) Revenus divers

Les revenus divers comprennent a)  les sanctions administratives pécuniaires; b) les intérêts sur les comptes en souffrance pour les droits de licence de radiodiffusion, les droits de télécommunication et les sanctions administratives pécuniaires du CRTC; c) les recettes non fiscales diverses (p. ex., les droits d’accès à l’information) et d) les gains sur disposition d’actifs non capitalisés à des tiers. Tous les revenus provenant des sanctions administratives pécuniaires sont enregistrés comme des recettes non disponibles non fiscales et sont considérés des revenus gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement.

4. Autorisations parlementaires

Autorisations parlementaires et crédits nets

Le CRTC est financé en partie par le gouvernement du Canada, au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires (p. ex., autorisation législative pour les régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés (RASE), crédit budgétaire pour les activités relatives à la loi anti­pourriel et leRegistre de communication avec les électeurs), et, pour le reste, par un crédit net provenant des droits qu’il perçoit auprès des industries de la radiodiffusion, des télécommunications et du télémarketing. Les crédits nets servent à financer certains programmes ou certaines activités. Selon cette méthode, le Parlement autorise un ministère, en vertu du paragraphe 29.1(2)(a) de la loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, à utiliser les droits perçus auprès des entités qui les paient pour couvrir des dépenses directement engagées pour des activités déterminées. Le CRTC peut donc utiliser une partie : a) des droits de licence de la partie I qu’il perçoit auprès des radiodiffuseurs; b) des droits annuels de télécommunication que lui versent les entreprises de télécommunication; c) des droits relatifs aux télécommunications non sollicitées qu’il perçoit auprès des télévendeurs pour financer les dépenses qu’il engage afin de s’acquitter de ses responsabilités législatives en vertu de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion et de la Loi sur les télécommunications (c.-à.-d. recettes disponibles). Le reste des droits perçus permet de recouvrer les coûts des éléments financés par les autorisations parlementaires (p. ex., RASE) et les coûts engagés par d’autres ministères au nom du CRTC. Ils sont considérés comme des recettes non disponibles. Les droits de licence de radiodiffusion de la partie II sont entièrement considérés comme des recettes non disponibles.

La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties au CRTC ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l’état des résultats prospectif d’un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires approuvés au cours de l’exercice précédent, de l’exercice en cours ou d’exercices futurs. Par conséquent, le coût de fonctionnement net du CRTC pour l’exercice diffère suivant qu’il est calculé selon les principes du financement public ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées
(en milliers de dollars)
Résultats projetés 2015-2016 Résultats prévus 2016-2017
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement et les transferts du gouvernement 19,102 19,972
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations :
Diminution (augmentation) des avantages sociaux futurs (85) (38)
Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères (6,523) (6,359)
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (1,141) (1,069)
Diminution (augmentation) des indemnités de vacances et congés compensatoires 72 (20)
Total des postes qui ont une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations (7,677) (7,486)
Rajustements pour les postes qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations :
Acquisition d'immobilisations corporelles 639 785
Augmentation (diminution) des charges payées d'avance (38) 19
Total des postes qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations 601 804
Autorisations demandées 12,026 13,290
Autorisations demandées
(en milliers de dollars)
  Résultats projetés 2015-2016 Résultats prévus 2016-2017
Autorisations demandées :
Crédit 50 - Dépenses de fonctionnement 7,698 7,723
Montant des postes législatifs 6,877 7,051
Moins :
Ressources inutilisées prévues : Fonctionnement (2,549) (1,484)
Autorisations demandées 12,026 13,290

Les autorisations présentées représentent les résultats prévus en ce qui concerne les postes législatifs, les initiatives approuvées qui sont incluses et celles prévues être incluses dans les documents de budget des dépenses et, lorsque des estimations raisonnables peuvent être effectuées, les montants estimatifs des affectations des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor.

Date de modification :