Communications Monitoring Report 2016: The Communications industry

3.0 The Communications industry

Infographic summarizing section 3.0 – The Communications industry
Infographic summarizing section 3.0 – The Communications industry
Text Description of Image

This infographic presents several key indicators for the communications industry and is divided into 5 sections. First indicator: circular chart shows the broadcasting and telecommunications revenues as a percentage of total industry revenues in 2015. Broadcasting: 27%; Telecommunications: 73%; Industry revenues: $65.7 billion. Second indicator: revenues: $65.7 billion, an increase of 2.5% over 2014. Third indicator: revenue share of incumbent TSPs and cable companies: 90%. Fourth indicator: wireless revenue share: 36% (the largest sector). Fifth indicator: Internet growth rate: 10.3% (fastest growth sector).

The Communications industry encompasses both the broadcasting and telecommunications market sectors. In 2015, telecommunications revenues represented 73% of the communications revenues compared to 27% for broadcasting. The communications industry served over 14 million households and over a million businesses in Canada using both landline and wireless facilities. Over 59% or $35 billion of all communications services revenues, excluding revenues generated from discretionary and on demand television services as well as Direct-to-Home (DTH) BDU services, were generated in the provinces of Ontario and Quebec.

This section examines key characteristics of the communications industry, including overall revenue growth and financial performance. More detailed information, including market financial performance, ownership landscape data, pricing information in rural and urban centres across the country can be found in sections 4 and 5 of the report.

The wireless market sector continue to be the largest single communications sector, capturing 36% of the $65.7 billion communications revenues in 2015. For the first time ever, total Internet revenues surpassed broadcasting distribution by approximately $900 million and has emerged as the second largest market sector with 15% of the communications revenues. Broadcasting distribution and Internet services remain particularly reliant on residential subscriptions, which account for 87% of their revenues.

Revenues from top five ownership groups accounted for approximately 82% of total communications revenues in 2015 compared to 81% in 2011. Of these groups of companies, two are incumbent telephone companies (Bell and TELUS) and three are traditional broadcasting distribution companies (Rogers, Shaw, and Québecor).

Over the past five years, revenues from the cable-based carriers and the incumbent TSPs, as a percentage of total communications revenues, have remained more or less stable at approximately 32% and 50%, respectively. During this period, cable-based carriers’ telecommunications revenues increased by 4.2% annually from $12.7 to $15.0 billion. Traditional telephone companies, however, increased their BDU revenues 10.0% annually, from $2.1 billion in 2011 to $3.1 billion in 2015.

i) Revenues

Table 3.0.1 Communications revenues ($ billions)
Category 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 Growth (%) 2014-2015 CAGR (%) 2011-2015
Telecommunication 42.8 43.9 44.8 45.9 47.8 4.1 2.8
Broadcasting 17.6 17.9 18.0 18.2 17.9 -1.6 0.4
Total revenues 60.4 61.8 62.8 64.1 65.7 2.5 2.1

Source: CRTC data collection

Revenues are one of the principal means to measure the performance of the communications industry. This table shows revenues, growth rate as well as the compound annual growth rate (CAGR) from 2011 to 2015 for telecommunications service providers (TSPs) and broadcasters (including all CBC revenues and broadcasting distribution undertakings (BDUs)).

Figure 3.0.1 Communications annual revenue growth rates

Line chart of Figure 3.0.1: Communications annual revenue growth rates
Text Description of Image

This line chart shows the broadcasting and telecommunications annual revenue growth rate for each year between 2011 and 2015. Telecommunications: 2.7%, 2.8%, 2.0%, 2.5 % and 4.1%; Broadcasting: 5.2%, 1.4%, 0.7%, 1.1% and -1.6%.

Source: CRTC data collection

Annual revenue growth rates are an indicator of overall broad trends in the communications industry. This graph shows annual revenue growth rates for the telecommunications and broadcasting industries from 2011 to 2015.

Table 3.0.2 Communications revenue distribution by region ($ billions)
Region 2014 2015 Percentage of total (%) Growth (%) 2014-2015
Atlantic 3.8 4.0 6.8 4.2
BC and Territories 7.8 8.1 13.7 4.4
Ontario 22.7 23.0 38.8 1.1
Prairies 11.5 12.1 20.4 4.9
Québec 11.6 12.0 20.3 3.1

Source: CRTC data collection

This table excludes revenues generated from discretionary and on demand television services as well as DTH BDU services as those services are licensed as national services. These services generated $4.3 and $2.3 billion in 2015, respectively. Estimates were made for companies that were not required to provide provincial and territorial telecommunications data.

Table 3.0.3 Communications revenues, by type of service provider ($ billions)
Type Subtype 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 Growth (%) 2014-2015 CAGR (%) 2011-2015
Incumbent TSPs Telecommunications 27.7 28.0 28.3 28.9 29.7 2.7 1.8
Broadcasting distribution revenues 2.1 2.4 2.7 3.0 3.1 5.3 10.0
Subtotal 30.8 30.3 31.0 31.8 32.8 3.0 2.4
Alternative service providers Other facilities-based service providers 0.9 1.2 1.2 1.2 1.5 19.1 14.4
Resellers 1.5 1.5 1.5 1.6 1.7 5.6 2.9
Cable-based carriers Telecommunications 12.7 13.3 13.8 14.2 15.0 5.4 4.2
Broadcasting distribution revenues 6.3 6.2 6.1 6.0 5.8 -2.8 -2.2
Subtotal 19.0 19.5 19.9 20.2 20.8 3.0 2.2
Other broadcasting Broadcasting – Radio & TV 9.2 9.3 9.2 9.3 9.0 -2.9 -0.5
Total All 60.4 61.8 62.8 64.1 65.7 2.5 2.1

Source: CRTC data collection

Canadians receive broadcasting and telecommunications services from a range of types of service providers, through a range of technologies. This table lists each type of telecommunications and broadcasting service provider and shows changes in total annual revenues for each of year between 2011 and 2015.

ii) Industry characteristics

Table 3.0.4 Industry convergence – Cable vs. telecommunications
Year Percentage of cable-based carriers revenues from telecommunications services Percentage of incumbent TSPs revenues from television services
2015 72.1 9.6
2014 70.5 9.3
2013 69.4 8.8
2012 68.1 7.8
2011 66.8 7.2

Source: CRTC data collection

This table shows the extent to which cable-based carriers collect revenues from telecommunications services and incumbent TSPs (traditional telephone companies) collect revenues from television services. It illustrates one measure of the state of convergence in the industry between 2011 and 2015. Telecommunications services include local telephone, long distance, Internet, data and private line, and wireless services.

Table 3.0.5 Percentage of broadcasting and telecommunications revenues generated by companies operating in multiple sectors
Number of sectors in which companies offer service Number of reporting groups or entities operating in these sectors Percentage of broadcasting and telecommunications revenues generated in these sectors
2013 2014 2015 2013 2014 2015
10 3 3 3 59 60 59
9 0 0 0 0 0 0
8 5 7 7 27 30 30
7 0 0 0 0 0 0
6 4 3 2 2 0 0
5 12 11 17 1 0 1
4 32 28 27 2 1 1
3 44 44 39 5 5 4
2 42 38 45 1 1 2
1 224 215 220 3 3 3

Source: CRTC data collection

The table above shows that three communications service providers offered services in all 10 market sectors (radio (1), television (2), BDU (3), discretionary and on demand television (4), in the broadcasting industry, and local and access, (5) long distance (6), Internet (7), wireless (8), data (9), and private line (10) in the telecommunications industry) and generated 59% of communications revenues. In contrast, 220 providers that offered only one service generated 3% of communications revenues.

iii) Financial performance

Figure 3.0.2 Percent of total revenues, by broadcasting and telecommunications ownership groups

Bar chart of Figure 3.0.2: Percent of total revenues, by broadcasting and telecommunications ownership groups
Text Description of Image

This bar chart shows broadcasting and telecommunications revenues for the top 5 group of companies, the next top 5 group and the remaining groups/entities for 2013, 2014 and 2015. Top 5 companies: 81%, 82% and 82%; next 5 companies: 10%, 10% and 10%; remaining companies: 9%, 8% and 8%.

Source: CRTC data collection

Canada’s communications services market is dominated by a small number of large ownership groups. The top five groups, Bell, Québecor, Rogers, TELUS, and Shaw, account for approximately 82% of total industry revenues. The next five largest groups/entities gather approximately 10%, and all remaining groups/entities gather 8%. Revenues include those of their affiliates.

Figure 3.0.3 Communications revenues, by type of provider, 2015

Circular chart of Figure 3.0.3: Communications revenues, by type of provider, 2015
Text Description of Image

This circular chart shows the total broadcasting and telecommunications revenue market share by type of provider in 2015. Data is taken from table 3.0.2. There are five types of providers in this circular chart. Incumbent TSPs: 50%; Broadcasting and other entities: 14%; Cable-based carriers: 32%; Resellers: 2% and other facilities-based service providers: 2%.

Source: CRTC data collection

Figure 3.0.4 Broadcasting and telecommunications revenues (excluding non- programming and exempt services)

Clustered column chart of Figure 3.0.4: Broadcasting and telecommunications revenues (excluding non-programming and exempt services)
Text Description of Image

This clustered column chart shows the telecommunications, broadcasting, and total combined broadcasting and telecommunications revenues in billions of dollars for each year between 2011 and 2015. Telecommunications: 42.8, 43.9, 44.8, 45.9 and 47.8; Broadcasting: 17.6, 17.9, 18.0, 18.2 and 17.9; Total combined broadcasting and telecommunications: 60.4, 61.8, 62.8, 64.1 and 65.7.

Source: CRTC data collection

This bar graph compares cable-based service provider revenues from two principal sources: basic and non-basic programming services (i.e. revenues from the distribution of television services) and wireline telecommunication services (i.e. local, long distance, data, private line, and Internet) between 2011 and 2015.

Figure 3.0.5 Cable-based service provider revenues, by service type

Column chart of Figure 3.0.5: Cable-based service provider revenues by service type
Text Description of Image

This combination of a clustered column and plotted dot chart shows revenues in billions of dollars by cable-based service providers for each year between 2011 and 2015. Revenues from basic and non-basic programming services via landline networks: 5.6, 5.5, 5.4, 5.2 and 5.1; Revenues from wireline telecommunications revenues: 5.0, 5.5, 6.0, 6.6 and 6.8; Total wireline telecommunications revenue as a percent of total: 45%, 47%, 50%, 53% and 56%.

Source: CRTC data collection

This bar graph compares cable-based service provider revenues from two principal sources: basic and non-basic programming services (i.e. revenues from the distribution of television services), and wireline telecommunication services (i.e. local, long distance, data, private line, and Internet) between 2011 and 2015.

This graph excludes revenues from BDU satellite services and mobile wireless services.

Figure 3.0.6 Canadian communications revenue composition for a select number of large companies, 2015

Bubble chart of Figure 3.0.6: Canadian communications revenue composition for a select number of large companies, 2015
Text Description of Image

This bubble chart measures the Canadian broadcasting and telecommunications revenue composition for eight large company groups for 2015. Revenue size of each company group, relative to each other, is reflected by the size of the bubble. The revenue composition is represented by the placement of the bubble. Company groups with revenues that are telecom centric are placed closer to the y-axis, while company groups that are broadcasting centric are placed closer to the x-axis. Largest to smallest: Bell Group, Rogers Group, Telus Group, Shaw Group, Quebecor Group, MTS Group, Cogeco Group, SaskTel. Y-axis (telecom centric) to X-axis (broadcasting centric) : Telus Group, MTS Group, Sasktel, Bell Group, Rogers Group, Quebecor Group, Cogeco Group, Shaw Group.

Source: CRTC data collection

Many of Canada’s largest communications service companies offer telecommunications services as well as broadcasting services. This graph plots the total revenues of Canada’s largest communications companies by size (the larger the circle, the greater the company’s revenue) and by industry (proximity to an axis indicates a larger share of revenue derived from that industry service).

Figure 3.0.7 EBITDA margins achieved by cable-based BDUs, traditional telephone companies, and other service providers

Line chart of Figure 3.0.7: EBITDA margins achieved by cable-based BDUs, traditional telephone companies, and other service providers
Text Description of Image

This line chart shows the EBITDA margins achieved by cable-based BDUs, traditional telephone companies and other service providers for each year between 2012 and 2015. These margins reflect operating results from all services (programming, exempted programming and non-programming services. Cable-based BDUs: 44.6%, 46.3%, 46.1% and 45.1%; Traditional telephone companies: 37.5%, 36.6%, 37.7%, and 38.7%; Other service providers: 11.1%, 0.1%, -10.5% and 37.1%.

Source: CRTC data collection

This graph shows earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation, and amortization (EBITDA) margins for cable-based BDUs, traditional telephone companies, and other service providers (including resellers and other alternative facilities-based providers) for BDU and telecommunications services for the period 2012 to 2015. Only companies with Canadian communications revenues greater than 80% of their total revenues were included in the calculation of EBITDA.

EBITDA margin is a measure of profitability. Higher EBITDA margins are generally associated with greater profitability. The figure demonstrates an extreme jump in the EBITDA margins of other service providers; this was mainly due to some companies reporting “extraordinary accounting items” in their income statement in 2015, it does not represent a change in their position in the market.

iv) Consumer voices

Table 3.0.6 Number of communications-related contacts received by the CRTC, by type of issue
Type of contact 2011-2012 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015 2015-2016
Broadcasting-related enquiries1 5,829 6,358 4,802 4,938 4,559
Broadcasting-related complaints1 12,419 11,507 11,055 10,115 8,584
Telecommunications-related contacts2 N/A N/A 25,153 27,077 23,453
  1. For the 12-month period from 1 April to 31 March.
  2. For the 12-month period from 1 January to 31 December.

Source: CRTC correspondence tracking system

The CRTC tracking system counts multiple communications from the same client on the same complaint as separate units; therefore, the actual number of complaints received should be slightly lower.

Enquiries refer to citizens looking for information. Complaints refer to a consumer lodging a complaint, expecting feedback and resolution. Contacts refer to the total of cases (comments, questions, complaints, campaign and petition) that were assigned and dealt by Client Services across Canada.

Date modified:

Rapport de surveillance des communications 2016 : L’industrie des communications

3.0 L’industrie des communications

Infographique résumant la section 3.0 – l’industrie des communications
Infographique résumant la section 3.0 – l’industrie des communications
Description longue graphique

Cet infographique illustre les principaux indicateurs de l’industrie des communications et comprend cinq sections. Premier indicateur : ce graphique circulaire présente les revenus de services de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication en pourcentage des revenus totaux du secteur en 2015. Radiodiffusion : 27 % ; Télécommunications : 73 % ; Revenus du secteur : 65,7 milliards de dollars. Deuxième: revenus : 65,7 milliards de dollars, une augmentation de 2,5 % par rapport à 2014. Troisième indicateur : part des revenus des fournisseurs de service de télécommunication (FST) titulaires et des entreprises de câblodistribution : 90 %. Quatrième indicateur : part des revenus des services sans fil : 36 % (le secteur le plus important). Cinquième indicateur : taux de croissance des services Internet : 10,3 % (secteur affichant la croissance la plus rapide).

L’industrie des communications englobe les secteurs de marché que sont la radiodiffusion et les télécommunications. En 2015, les revenus de télécommunication représentaient 73 % des revenus de communication comparativement à 27 % pour la radiodiffusion. Cette industrie dessert plus de 14 millions de ménages et plus d’un million d’entreprises au Canada au moyen d’installations de lignes terrestres et d’installations sans fil. Plus de 59 % (ou 35 milliards de dollars) de l’ensemble des revenus des services de communication, moins les revenus générés par les services facultatifs et les services de télévision sur demande ainsi que les services de radiodiffusion directe d’EDR, ont été générés dans les provinces de l’Ontario et du Québec.

Cette section examine les principales caractéristiques de l’industrie des communications dans son ensemble, y compris la croissance des revenus et le rendement financier. Les sections 4 et 5 du rapport présentent de plus amples renseignements sur le marché, notamment le rendement financier, un portrait sur la propriété, des données sur le prix du service en zones urbaines et rurales partout au pays.

Le marché des services sans fil continue d’être le plus important secteur des communications, récoltant 36 % des 65,7 milliards de dollars de revenus des services de communication en 2015. Pour la toute première fois, les revenus totaux générés par les services par Internet ont dépassé ceux de la radiodiffusion d’environ 900 millions de dollars, élevant ce marché au deuxième rang en importance dans le secteur avec près de 15 % des revenus de communication. Les services de distribution de radiodiffusion et les services Internet sont demeurés particulièrement dépendants des abonnements aux services de résidence, lesquels ont représenté 87 % de leurs revenus.

Les revenus des services récoltés par les cinq plus grands groupes de propriété atteignaient environ 82 % des revenus des services de communication totaux en 2015, comparativement à 81 % en 2011. De ces groupes, deux sont des compagnies de téléphone titulaires (Bell et TELUS) et trois sont des entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion traditionnelles (Rogers, Shaw et Québecor).

Au cours des cinq dernières années, les revenus des entreprises de câblodistribution et des FST titulaires, en tant que pourcentage du total des revenus des services de communication, sont demeurés plus ou moins stables à environ 32 % et 50 % respectivement. Au cours de cette période, les revenus de télécommunication des entreprises de câblodistribution ont augmenté de 4,2 % par année, passant de 12,7 à 15,0 milliards de dollars. Les compagnies de téléphone traditionnelles, toutefois, ont augmenté leurs revenus d’EDR de 10,0 % par année, lesquels sont passés de 2,1 milliards de dollars en 2011 à 3,1 milliards de dollars en 2015.

i) Revenus

Tableau 3.0.1 Revenus des services de communication (milliards $)
Catégorie 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 Croissance (%)
2011-2015
TCAC (%)
2011-2015
Télécommunications 42,8 43,9 44,8 45,9 47,8 4,1 2,8
Radiodiffusion 17,6 17,9 18,0 18,2 17,9 -1,6 0,4
Total des revenus 60,4 61,8 62,8 64,1 65,7 2,5 2,1

Source : Données recueillies par le CRTC

Les revenus constituent le principal outil pour mesurer le rendement de l’industrie des communications. Ce tableau indique les revenus, le taux de croissance des revenus ainsi que le taux de croissance annuel composé (TCAC) de 2011 à 2015 des fournisseurs de services de télécommunication (FST) et des radiodiffuseurs (y compris les revenus totaux de la SRC et les entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion [EDR]).

Graphique 3.0.1 Taux de croissance annuel des services de communication

Graphique courbé de Graphique 3.0.1 : Taux de croissance annuel des services de communication
Description longue graphique

Ce graphique courbé présente les taux de croissance des revenus annuels des services de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication pour les années 2011 à 2015. Télécommunications : 2,7 %, 2,8 %, 2,0 %, 2,5 % et 4,1 % ; radiodiffusion : 5,2 %, 1,4 %, 0,7 %, 1,1 % et -1,6 %.

Source : Données recueillies par le CRTC

Le taux de croissance annuel est un indicateur des grandes tendances de l’industrie des communications. Ce graphique illustre le taux de croissance annuel des revenus des industries des services de télécommunication et de radiodiffusion de 2011 à 2015.

Tableau 3.0.2 Répartition des revenus de services de communication par région (milliards $)
Région 2014 2015 Pourcentage du
Total (%)
Croissance (%)
2014-2015
Atlantique 3,8 4,0 6,8 4,2
C-B et Territoires 7,8 8,1 13,7 4,4
Ontario 22,7 23,0 38,8 1,1
Prairies 11,5 12,1 20,4 4,9
Québec 11,6 12,0 20,3 3,1

Source : Données recueillies par le CRTC

Ce tableau exclut les revenus en provenance des services de télévision facultatifs et sur demande, ainsi que les EDR par SRD car ces services exploitent une licence nationale.  Collectivement, ces services ont généré 4,3 milliards de dollars et 2,3 milliards de dollars en 2015, respectivement. Des estimations ont été fournies pour les entreprises qui ne sont pas tenues de fournir des données sur les télécommunications à l’échelle provinciale et territoriale.

Tableau 3.0.3 Revenus des services de communication, par type de fournisseur (milliards $)
Type Sous type 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 Croissance (%)
2014-2015
TCAC (%)
2011-2015
FST titulaires Télécommunications 27,7 28,0 28,3 28,9 29,7 2,7 1,8
Revenus des entreprises de câblodistribution 2,1 2,4 2,7 3,0 3,1 5,3 10,0
Total partiel 30,8 30,3 31,0 31,8 32,8 3,0 2,4
Autres FST Autres fournisseurs dotés d’installations 0,9 1,2 1,2 1,2 1,5 19,1 14,4
Revendeurs 1,5 1,5 1,5 1,6 1,7 5,6 2,9
Entreprises de
câblodistribution
Télécommunications 12,7 13,3 13,8 14,2 15,0 5,4 4,2
Revenus des entreprises de câblodistribution 6,3 6,2 6,1 6,0 5,8 -2,8 -2,2
Total partiel 19,0 19,5 19,9 20,2 20,8 3,0 2,2
Autre radiodiffusion Radiodiffusion – Radio et télévision 9,2 9,3 9,2 9,3 9,0 -2,9 -0,5
Total Tout 60,4 61,8 62,8 64,1 65,7 2,5 2,1

Source : Données recueillies par le CRTC

Divers fournisseurs utilisent toute une gamme de technologies pour fournir aux Canadiens des services de télécommunication et de radiodiffusion. Ce tableau énumère les différents types de fournisseur de services de télécommunication et de radiodiffusion ainsi que les variations du revenu annuel total de chaque industrie de 2011 à 2015.

ii) Caractéristiques de l’industrie

Tableau 3.0.4 Convergence dans l’industrie − câblodistribution c. télécommunications

Année
Pourcentage des revenus des
entreprises de câblodistribution
tirés des services de
télécommunication
Pourcentage des revenus
des FST titulaires tirés des
services de télévision
2015 72,1 9,6
2014 70,5 9,3
2013 69,4 8,8
2012 68,1 7,8
2011 66,8 7,2

Source : Données recueillies par le CRTC

Ce tableau donne le pourcentage des revenus que les entreprises de câblodistribution perçoivent des services de télécommunication et celui que les FST titulaires (compagnies de téléphone traditionnelles) perçoivent des services de télévision. Il reflète une mesure de l’état de la convergence dans l’industrie entre 2011 et 2015. Les services de télécommunication incluent la téléphonie locale et l’interurbain, Internet, la transmission de données, la liaison spécialisée et les services sans fil.

Tableau 3.0.5 Pourcentage des revenus des services de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication générés par des entreprises exploitées dans plusieurs secteurs
Nombre de secteurs
où les entreprises
offrent un service
Nombre de groupes ou
entreprises ayant fait un
rapport et exploités dans
ces secteurs
% des revenus des services de
radiodiffusion et de télécommunication
générés dans ces secteurs
2013 2014 2015 2013 2014 2015
10 3 3 3 59 60 59
9 0 0 0 0 0 0
8 5 7 7 27 30 30
7 0 0 0 0 0 0
6 4 3 2 2 0 0
5 12 11 17 1 0 1
4 32 28 27 2 1 1
3 44 44 39 5 5 4
2 42 38 45 1 1 2
1 224 215 220 3 3 3

Source : Données recueillies par le CRTC

Les données indiquent que trois fournisseurs de services de communication offrent des services dans l’ensemble des 10 secteurs du marché (radio (1), services de télévision traditionnelle (2), services facultatifs et services sur demande (3), EDR (4) de l’industrie de radiodiffusion, ainsi que téléphonie locale et services d’accès (5), interurbain (6), Internet (7), services sans fil (8), transmission de données (9) et liaison spécialisée (10) de l’industrie des télécommunications) génèrent 59 % du total des revenus des services de communication. Par contre, 220 fournisseurs n’offrant qu’un seul service génèrent 3 % des revenus des services de communication.

iii) Rendement financier

Graphique 3.0.2 Pourcentage des revenus totaux des groupes de propriété de services de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication

Graphique à barres de Graphique 3.0.2 : Pourcentage des revenus totaux des groupes de propriété de services de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication
Description longue graphique

Ce graphique à barres présente les revenus des services de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication des cinq plus grandes entreprises, des cinq grandes entreprises suivantes et le reste des groupes/entreprises pour les années 2013, 2014 et 2015. Cinq plus grandes entreprises : 81 %, 82 %, 82 % ; cinq grandes entreprises suivantes : 10 %, 10 %, 10 % ; entreprises restantes : 9 %, 8 %, 8 %.

Source : Données recueillies par le CRTC

Un petit nombre de grands groupes de propriété domine le marché canadien des services de communication. Les cinq plus grands groupes/entreprises, Bell, Québecor, Rogers, TELUS et Shaw, perçoivent environ 82 % du total des revenus. Les cinq groupes/entreprises suivants réunissent 10 % des revenus. Les autres groupes/entreprises se partagent le dernier 8 %. Les revenus des entreprises incluent ceux de leurs affiliées.

Graphique 3.0.3 Revenus des services de communication, par type de fournisseur, 2015

Graphique circulaire de Graphique 3.0.3 : Revenus des services de communication, par type de fournisseur, 2015
Description longue graphique

Ce graphique circulaire montre la répartition en pourcentage des revenus des services de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication par type de fournisseur en 2015. Les données sont tirées du tableau 3.0.2. Il y a cinq types de fournisseurs dans ce graphique circulaire. FST titulaires : 50 % ; autres entités de radiodiffusion : 14 % ; entreprises de câblodistribution : 32 % ; revendeurs : 2 % ; autres FST dotés d’installations : 2 %.

Source : Données recueillies par le CRTC

Graphique 3.0.4 Revenus des services de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication (services exemptés et hors programmation exclus)

Graphique à histogrammes groupés de Graphique 3.0.4 : Revenus des services de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication (services exemptés et hors programmation exclus)
Description longue graphique

Ce graphique à histogrammes groupés présente les revenus des services de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication et les revenus combinés en milliards de dollars pour les années 2011 à 2015. Télécommunications : 42,8, 43,9, 44,8 45,9 et 47,8 ; radiodiffusion : 17,6, 17,9, 18,0, 18,2 et 17,9 ; revenus combinés des services de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication : 60,4, 61,8, 62,8, 64,1 et 65,7.

Source : Données recueillies par le CRTC

Ce diagramme à barres compare les deux sources principales de revenus des entreprises de câblodistribution : les services de base et facultatifs (les revenus des services de distribution de télévision) et les revenus provenant des services filaires de télécommunication (téléphonie locale, interurbain, transmission de données, liaisons spécialisées et Internet) entre 2011 et 2015.

Graphique 3.0.5 Revenus des entreprises de câblodistribution, par type de services

Graphique de corrélation de Graphique 3.0.5 : Revenus des entreprises de câblodistribution, par type de services
Description longue graphique

Ce graphique de corrélation incluant des colonnes présente, en milliards de dollars, les revenus générés par les entreprises de câblodistribution par année, de 2011 à 2015. Revenus tirés des services de programmation de base et facultatifs par un réseau de lignes terrestres : 5,6, 5,5, 5,4, 5,2 et 5,1 milliards. Revenus des services de télécommunication filaires de télécommunication : 5,0, 5,5, 6,0, 6,6 et 6,8 milliards. Revenus des services de télécommunication filaires de télécommunication exprimés en pourcentage des revenus totaux : 45 %, 47 %, 50 %, 53 % et 56 %.

Source : Données recueillies par le CRTC

Ce diagramme à barres compare les deux sources principales de revenus des entreprises de câblodistribution: les services de base et facultatifs (les revenus des services de distribution de télévision) et les revenus provenant des services filaires de télécommunication (téléphonie locale, interurbain, transmission de données, liaisons spécialisées et Internet) entre 2011 et 2015. 

Ce diagramme exclut les revenus des services par satellite des EDR et des services mobiles sans fil.

Graphique 3.0.6 Composition des revenus canadiens des services de communication de certaines grandes entreprises, 2015

Diagramme à bulles de Graphique 3.0.6 : Composition des revenus canadiens des services de communication de certaines grandes entreprises, 2015
Description longue graphique

Ce diagramme à bulles indique la composition des sources de revenus canadiens des services de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication des huit plus importants groupes d’entreprises pour 2015. L’importance des revenus de chaque groupe d’entreprises, en relation avec les autres groupes, est illustrée par la taille de la bulle. La composition des sources de revenus est représentée par la position des bulles. Les groupes d’entreprises dont les revenus sont centrés sur les télécommunications sont placés près de l’axe y, alors que les groupes d’entreprises qui sont centrés sur la radiodiffusion sont placés près de l’axe x. Des revenus les plus élevés aux moins élevés : groupe Bell, groupe Rogers, groupe Telus, groupe Shaw, groupe Québecor, groupe MTS, groupe Cogeco, SaskTel. Axe des y (entreprises centrées sur les télécommunications) à l’axe des x (entreprises centrées sur la radiodiffusion) : groupe Telus, groupe MTS, Sasktel, groupe Bell, groupe Rogers, groupe Québecor, groupe Cogeco, groupe Shaw.

Source : Données recueillies par le CRTC

Nombre des plus grandes entreprises canadiennes de services de communication offrent des services de télécommunication et de radiodiffusion. Ce graphique illustre les revenus totaux des plus grandes entreprises de communication du Canada selon leur taille (la grandeur du cercle est proportionnelle aux revenus) et selon l’industrie (la proximité d’un axe indique la proportion du revenu tiré de ce secteur).

Graphique 3.0.7 Marges de BAIIDA atteintes par les EDR par câble, les compagnies de téléphone traditionnelles et d’autres fournisseurs de services

 Graphique à lignes de Graphique 3.0.7 : Marges des BAIIDA atteintes par les EDR par câble, les compagnies de téléphone traditionnelles et d’autres fournisseurs de services
Description longue graphique

Ce graphique à lignes présente les marges des BAIIDA qu’ont obtenues les EDR par câble, les compagnies de téléphone traditionnelles et d’autres fournisseurs de services par année, de 2012 à 2015. Ces marges reflètent les résultats financiers de l’ensemble des services (programmation, programmation exempté et hors programmation). Entreprises de câblodistribution : 44,6 %, 44,3 %, 46,1 % et 45,1 % ; compagnies de téléphone traditionnelles : 37,5 %, 36,6 %, 37,7 %, et 38,7 % ; autres fournisseurs de services : 11,1 %, 0,1 %, -10,5 % et 37,1 %.

Source : Données recueillies par le CRTC

Ce graphique montre les marges de bénéfice avant intérêt, impôts, dépréciation et amortissement (BAIIDA) pour ce qui est des EDR par câble, des compagnies de téléphone traditionnelles et d’autres fournisseurs (incluant les revendeurs et les autres fournisseurs de services de télécommunication dotés d’installations) pour les services des EDR et de télécommunication pour les années 2012 à 2015. Seules les entreprises ayant des revenus de communication canadiens supérieurs à 80 % de leurs revenus totaux ont été incluses dans le calcul du BAIIDA.

La marge de BAIIDA est une mesure de rentabilité; plus la marge de BAIIDA est élevée, plus la rentabilité est forte. Le graphique montre l’importante hausse des marges de BAIIDA d’autres fournisseurs de services, qui est principalement due à la déclaration par certaines entreprises de « postes de comptabilité extraordinaires » dans leurs états des résultats en 2015, ceci ne représente pas un changement dans leur position dans le marché.

iv) Communications avec les consommateurs

Tableau 3.0.6 Nombre de communications au sujet des services de communication reçues par le CRTC, par type de sujet
Type de communication 2011-2012 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015 2015-2016
Demandes de renseignements sur la radiodiffusion1 5 829 6 358 4 802 4 938 4 559
Plaintes liées à la radiodiffusion1 12 419 11 507 11 055 10 115 8 584
Contacts liés aux télécommunications2 s.o. s.o. 25 153 27 077 23 453
  1. Pour une période de 12 mois : du 1er  avril au 31 mars
  2. Pour une période de 12 mois : du 1er janvier au 31 décembre

Source : Système de suivi de la correspondance du CRTC

Le système du CRTC enregistre toutes les communications comme si elles étaient distinctes, y compris les multiples communications provenant d’un même client et concernant la même plainte. Le véritable nombre de plaintes reçues devrait donc être un peu moins élevé.

Les demandes font référence aux demandes de renseignements soumises par des citoyens. Les plaintes sont les cas où des consommateurs ont déposé une plainte, dans le but d’obtenir de la rétroaction et une résolution du problème. Les contacts représentent le nombre total de cas (commentaires, questions, plaintes, campagnes et pétitions) ayant été assignés au Service à la clientèle et traités par ce dernier, et ce, pour l’ensemble du Canada.

Date de modification :