Seeing Canadian Commercials on American channels

Super Bowl Ads

You said you want to see Super Bowl ads live. We heard you. Learn more at Seeing Canadian Commercials during the Super Bowl.

As you flip through TV channels, you may notice that you seem to see Canadian ads on American channels. This is the result of simultaneous substitution.

Simultaneous substitution

Simultaneous substitution is when your cable or satellite dish company temporarily replaces the entire signal of one TV channel with another channel that's showing the same program at the same time. Usually, an American signal is replaced with a Canadian signal. Sometimes, a Canadian signal from outside your area is replaced with a local signal.

A program that originates in the US may be showing in both Canada and the US at the same time. The Canadian broadcaster airs Canadian ads but the program is the same. So when program substitution occurs, you see the signal, including the Canadian commercials, on an American channel.

Reasons for simultaneous substitution

There are a few reasons for allowing simultaneous substitution:

Simultaneous substitution and TV picture quality

Simultaneous substitution shouldn't affect the quality of your TV picture. This means even if the original signal is replaced with a local Canadian signal, the broadcasting quality should be the same or better.

If you encounter problems

Problems can occur, for example, when:

If you believe you have not received the appropriate level of service because of a simultaneous substitution error, you should file a complaint with us with the following information:

File a complaint

Addressing simultaneous substitution issues

During the Let's Talk TV conversation and for a number of years, Canadians have complained that simultaneous substitution mistakes cause them to miss certain parts of live events. For instance, it causes them to miss important plays during a football game or part of a presentation at an awards ceremony.

However, despite its irritations, simultaneous substitution is still necessary to provide over-the-air broadcasters with the financial support they need to continue offering high quality programming to Canadians.

To address this issue, the CRTC intends to introduce regulatory measures to deal with simultaneous substitution errors, to ensure it is done properly:

Examples of a substantial simultaneous substitution error include:

Simultaneous substitution is eliminated for Super Bowl.

Simultaneous Substitution Working Group

Following the Let's Talk TV proceeding, the CRTC required that representatives from various Canadian television stations and service providers and the Public Interest Advocacy Centre form a working group on simultaneous substitution. The mandate of this group is to examine measures to improve the performance of simultaneous substitution and to minimize errors and interruptions that occur and that are frustrating to viewers. The working group's first report (August 31, 2015) and second report (December 22, 2015) are now available.

Policies, Decisions and Orders

Simultaneous substitution errors (Broadcasting Information Bulletin CRTC 2015-329)

Regulatory measures to prevent substantial and avoidable simultaneous substitution errors (Broadcasting Regulatory Policy 2015-25)

Date modified:

Voir des messages publicitaires canadiens sur des chaînes américaines

Les publicités du Super Bowl

Vous avez dit vouloir visionner les publicités du Super Bowl en direct; nous avons entendu. Apprenez-en davantage à ce sujet.

Vous voyez peut-être, lorsque vous zappez d'un canal à l'autre, que des publicités canadiennes sont diffusées sur des canaux américains : c'est le résultat d'une substitution des signaux.

Substitution de signaux

La substitution de signaux consiste en l'opération dans le cadre de laquelle votre câblodistributeur ou distributeur par antenne parabolique remplace temporairement le signal d'un canal de télévision pour celui d'un autre canal qui diffuse la même émission au même moment. On remplace habituellement un signal américain par un canadien, mais il arrive parfois qu'un signal canadien provenant de l'extérieur de votre région soit remplacé par un signal local.

Un programme qui provient des États-Unis peut être diffusé simultanément aux É.-U. et au Canada. Le radiodiffuseur canadien diffuse des publicités canadiennes, mais autrement le contenu est exactement le même dans les deux pays. Il s'agit d'une substitution de signaux dans le cadre de laquelle vous visionnez le signal, ainsi que les publicités canadiennes, sur un canal américain.

Raisons de la substitution

Il existe quelques raisons pour lesquelles on effectue cette substitution :

Substitution des signaux et qualité de l'image télévisée

Substituer les signaux ne devrait en rien dégrader l'image télédiffusée. Même si le signal original est remplacé par un signal canadien local, la qualité de la diffusion devrait être la même, sinon meilleure.

Si vous remarquez des problèmes

Des problèmes peuvent se produire dans les situations suivantes :

Si vous croyez que vous n'avez pas eu le niveau de service que vous auriez dû en raison d'une erreur de substitution des signaux, vous devriez nous soumettre une plainte en mentionnant les informations requises suivantes :

Remplir un formulaire de plainte

Régler les problèmes de substitution simultanée

Pendant l'initiative Parlons TV et pendant plusieurs années, les Canadiens se sont plaint que des erreurs de substitution simultanée leur font perdre des parties d'événements diffusés en direct, comme des passages importants d'une partie de football ou d'une présentation lors d'une remise de prix.

Malgré ces ratés, la substitution simultanée reste vitale aux télédiffuseurs qui diffusent en direct parce qu'elle leur assure les revenus nécessaires pour continuer à offrir aux Canadiens une programmation de qualité.

Afin de régler ces problèmes, le CRTC a l'intention d'introduire des mesures réglementaires pour s'assurer qu'elle est faite correctement :

Les erreurs substantielles de substitution simultanée incluent :

La substitution simultanée n’est plus permise pendant le Super Bowl.

Groupe de travail sur la substitution simultanée

À la suite de l'instance Parlons télé, le CRTC a exigé que des représentants de diverses stations de télévision et fournisseurs de service ainsi que le Centre pour la défense de l'intérêt public forment un groupe de travail sur la substitution simultanée. Le mandat de ce groupe est d'examiner des moyens afin d'améliorer l'exécution de ces substitutions et ainsi réduire les erreurs et les interruptions qui se produisent et qui frustrent les téléspectateurs. Le premier rapport (31 août 2015) et le deuxième rapport (22 décembre 2015) de ce groupe de travail sont maintenant disponibles.

Politiques, décisions et ordonnances

Erreurs de substitution simultanée (Bulletin d'information de radiodiffusion CRTC 2015-329)

Mesures réglementaires visant à traiter des problèmes de substitution simultanée (Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion 2015-25)

Date de modification :