Telecom Comission Letter Addressed to Mr. Dennis Béland (Quebecor Media Inc.)

Ottawa, 26 May 2017

Our reference: 8662-Q15-201704487

BY EMAIL

Mr. Dennis Béland
Vice President, Regulatory Affairs, Telecommunications
Québecor Média
612 St-Jacques Street, 15th Floor
Montréal, Québec  H3C 4M8
dennis.beland@quebecor.com

RE:  Application by Quebecor Media Inc., Videotron Ltd. and Videotron G.P to Review, Vary and Stay Telecom Decision CRTC 2017-105 – Complaints against Quebecor Media Inc., Videotron Ltd. and Videotron G.P. alleging undue and unreasonable preference and disadvantage regarding the Unlimited Music program

Dear Mr. Béland,
Quebecor Media Inc., Videotron Ltd. and Videotron G.P (collectively “Videotron”) filed an application dated 25 May 2017 requesting that the Commission stay, and review and vary, the implementation of Telecom Decision CRTC 2017-105.

In its application, Videotron stated that it does not take issue with the Commission’s conclusion that the Unlimited Music program violates section 27(2) of the Telecommunications Act. However, Videotron submitted that, due to technological, administrative, and privacy-based constraints, and assuming it should respect its contractual and legal obligations to Affected Subscribers, it will not be able to terminate the program within the deadline set in the Commission’s decision.

A decision on the matter will be issued by the Commission as soon as possible. Accordingly, an expedited process is set out as follows: interested parties may file comments on Videotron’s


entire application, serving a copy on Videotron, by 1 June 2017.  Videotron may file a reply by 5 June 2017.
Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector
c.c.:  Suneil Kanjeekal, CRTC, suneil.kanjeekal@crtc.gc.ca
Josiane Lord, CRTC, josiane.lord@crtc.gc.ca
Benjamin Klass, benjiklass@hotmail.com 
Vaxination Informatique, jfmezei@vaxination.ca 
Consumers’ Association of Canada, the Council of Senior Citizens’ Organization of British Columbia, and the Public Interest Advocacy Centre, jlawford@piac.ca
Bell Canada bell.regulatory@bell.ca 
Rogers, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com  
TELUS regulatory.affairs@telus.com 
SaskTel, document.control@sasktel.com  
Eastlink, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca 
Tbaytel, rob.olenick@tbaytel.com 
Independent Telephone Providers Association, jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca  
Canadian Network Operators Consortium, regulatory@cnoc.ca 
Canadian Cable Systems Alliance, cedwards@ccsa.cable.ca 
Cogeco Cable, telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com 
Shaw Cable, Regulatory@sjrb.ca 
Fenwick McKelvey, Concordia University, fenwick.mckelvey@concordia.ca 
Steven James May, Ryerson University, steven.may@ryerson.ca 
Samuelson‐Glushko Canadian Internet Policy & Public Interest Clinic, tisrael@cippic.ca and cippic@uottawa.ca 
David Ellis, david@davidellis.ca 
Teresa Murphy, resa1983@hotmail.com
Marc Nanni, m_nanni@hushmail.com
Sandvine, rwadsworth@sandvine.com
OpenMedia, regulatory@openmedia.ca
Distributel, regulatory@distributel.ca  
TekSavvy, regulatory@teksavvy.ca
Xplornet, xplornet.legal@corp.xplornet.com

Date modified: