Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Compliance and Enforcement Information Bulletin CRTC 2012-549

PDF version

Additional reference: Telecom Regulatory Policy 2012-183

Ottawa, 10 October 2012

Guidelines on the use of toggling as a means of obtaining express consent under Canada’s anti-spam legislation

Introduction

1. On 15 December 2010, Royal Assent was given to An Act to promote the efficiency and adaptability of the Canadian economy by regulating certain activities that discourage reliance on electronic means of carrying out commercial activities, and to amend the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Act, the Competition Act, the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act and the Telecommunications Act, S.C. 2010, c. 23 (the Act).

2. The Act gives the Commission the authority to regulate certain forms of electronic contact. Specifically, the Act prohibits the following:

  • the sending of commercial electronic messages (CEMs) without express or implied consent [paragraph 6(1)(a)];
  • the alteration of transmission data in electronic messages in the course of a commercial activity without express consent [paragraph 7(1)(a)]; and
  • the installation of a computer program on another person’s computer in the course of a commercial activity without express consent [paragraph 8(1)(a)].

The fundamental underlying principle of the Act is that such activities may only be carried out with consent.

3. Section 10 of the Act, among other things, establishes the types of information that must be disclosed in order to obtain express consent pursuant to paragraphs 6(1)(a), 7(1)(a), and 8(1)(a) of the Act.

What is toggling?

4. The Commission notes that toggling is a means of switching from one state to another.  The Commission also notes that toggling has been used as an opt-out consent mechanism1 when the default toggle state assumes consent on the part of a person. A common example of such toggling is a pre-checked box on a website. The pre-checked box puts the onus on the person whose consent is being sought to take action in order to indicate that he or she does not consent, generally by unchecking the box. Consequently, inaction on the part of the person whose consent is being sought is considered to be equivalent to that person’s consent.

Figure 1: An example of toggling that assumes consent

This image shows an incorrect means of obtaining express consent pursuant to CASL. In this example, there is a pre-checked tick box on Company Inc.’s web site that indicates that consent to receiving commercial electronic messages has been presumed upon inaction on the part of the user. 

Can toggling be used as a means to obtain express consent under the Act?

5. The Commission considers that in order to comply with the express consent provisions under the Act, a positive or explicit indication of consent is required. Accordingly, express consent cannot be obtained through opt-out consent mechanisms.

6. The Commission therefore considers that a default toggling state that assumes consent cannot be used as a means of obtaining express consent under the Act for the purposes of sending CEMs [paragraph 6(1)(a)], altering transmission data in electronic messages in the course of a commercial activity (e.g. network re-routing) [paragraph 7(1)(a)], or installing a computer program on another person’s computer in the course of a commercial activity [paragraph 8(1)(a)].

What are acceptable forms of obtaining express consent under the Act?

7. The Commission considers that since express consent requires a positive or explicit indication of consent, express consent can be obtained through opt-in consent mechanisms.2 The Commission also considers that a CEM in the form of a subscription email, text message, or other equivalent form cannot be used to elicit express consent pursuant to subsection 1(3) of the Act

8. The Commission notes that following receipt of express consent, confirmation of this receipt should be sent to the person whose consent was being sought.

Figure 2: Acceptable express consent mechanisms – Checking a box to indicate consent

This image shows an acceptable means of obtaining express consent pursuant to CASL.  In this example, the tick-box on Company Inc.’s web site must be checked by the user in order to indicate consent to receiving commercial electronic messages. Consent of the user has not been presumed. 


Figure 3: Acceptable express consent mechanisms – Typing an email address into a field to indicate consent

This image shows an acceptable means of obtaining express consent pursuant to CASL.  In this example, an e-mail address has to be entered, and the “Submit” icon has to be clicked on Company Inc.’s webs site in order to indicate consent to receiving commercial electronic messages from Company Inc. 

Secretary General



Footnotes:

[1]   Opt-out consent mechanisms assume consent unless the person whose consent is being assumed takes action to indicate otherwise.

[2]   Opt in consent mechanisms enable persons whose consent is being sought to positively and explicitly express their consent.

Bulletin d’information de Conformité et Enquêtes CRTC 2012-549

Version PDF

Référence additionnelle : Politique réglementaire de télécom 2012-183

Ottawa, le 10 octobre 2012

Lignes directrices sur l’utilisation des cases d’activation comme moyen d’obtenir le consentement exprès en vertu de la loi canadienne anti-pourriel

Introduction

1. Le 15 décembre 2010, la Loi visant à promouvoir l’efficacité et la capacité d’adaptation de l’économie canadienne par la réglementation de certaines pratiques qui découragent l’exercice des activités commerciales par voie électronique et modifiant la Loi sur le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, la Loi sur la concurrence, la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques et la Loi sur les télécommunications, L.C. 2010, ch. 23 (la Loi) a reçu la sanction royale.

2. La Loi confère au Conseil le pouvoir de réglementer certaines formes de communication électronique. Plus précisément, la Loi interdit les pratiques suivantes :

  • l’envoi de messages électroniques commerciaux (MEC) sans consentement exprès ou tacite [alinéa 6(1)a)];
  • la modification des données de transmission des messages électroniques dans le cadre d’une activité commerciale, sans consentement exprès [alinéa 7(1)a)];
  • l’installation d’un programme d’ordinateur dans l’ordinateur d’une autre personne dans le cadre d’une activité commerciale, sans consentement exprès [alinéa 8(1)a)].

Le principe de base de la Loi est que ce genre d’activité ne peut être effectué sans le consentement préalable des personnes concernées.

3. L’article 10 de la Loi prescrit notamment le type d’information qui doit être divulgué afin d’obtenir le consentement exprès aux fins d’application des alinéas 6(1)a), 7(1)a) et 8(1)a) de la Loi.

Comment fonctionnent les cases d’activation?

4. Le Conseil fait remarquer que les cases d’activation permettent d’alterner entre deux états possibles. Il fait également remarquer que les cases d’activation sont utilisées comme mécanisme de retrait du consentement1 lorsque la case présume par défaut que la personne accorde son consentement. Un exemple courant de cette pratique est lorsqu’une case est cochée d’avance sur un site Web. Cette façon de faire oblige la personne auprès de qui le consentement est sollicité à agir pour indiquer qu’elle n’est pas consentante, généralement en décochant la case en question. Par conséquent, si cette personne ne fait rien, on considère qu’elle est consentante.

Figure 1 : Case d’activation qui présume le consentement de l’utilisateur

L’image illustre une façon incorrecte d’obtenir le consentement exprès en vertu de la Loi. Dans l’exemple, il y a une case cochée au préalable sur le site Web de Société inc. qui démontre que si l’utilisateur n’agit pas, son consentement à recevoir des messages électroniques commerciaux sera présumé.

Peut-on recourir aux cases d’activation pour obtenir le consentement exprès en vertu de la Loi?

5. Le Conseil estime qu’afin de se conformer aux dispositions relatives au consentement exprès prévues par la Loi, une manifestation positive ou explicite de volonté est requise. Par conséquent, le consentement exprès ne peut être obtenu au moyen de mécanismes de retrait du consentement.

6. Le Conseil estime donc que les cases d’activation qui présument qu’il y a consentement de la part de l’utilisateur ne peuvent être utilisées comme moyen d’obtenir le consentement exprès, en vertu de la Loi, dans le but d’envoyer des MEC [alinéa 6(1)a)], de modifier les données de transmission des messages électroniques dans le cadre d’une activité commerciale (par exemple, le réacheminement de réseau) [alinéa 7(1)a)] ou d’installer un programme d’ordinateur dans l’ordinateur d’une autre personne dans le cadre d’une activité commerciale [alinéa 8(1)a].

En vertu de la Loi, par quels moyens peut-on obtenir le consentement exprès?

7. Le Conseil estime que puisque le consentement exprès doit être exprimé de manière positive ou explicite, il peut être obtenu au moyen de mécanismes de consentement actif2. De plus, il estime qu’aux termes du paragraphe 1(3) de la Loi, on ne peut utiliser, dans le but d’obtenir le consentement exprès, un MEC prenant la forme d’un courriel d’abonnement ou d’un message texte ou ayant une autre forme équivalente.

8. Le Conseil fait remarquer qu’une fois le consentement exprès obtenu, un accusé de réception devrait être envoyé à la personne qui a accordé son consentement.

Figure 2 : Mécanisme de consentement exprès acceptable – Cocher une case pour indiquer son consentement

L’image illustre une façon acceptable d’obtenir le consentement exprès en vertu de la Loi. Dans l’exemple, l’utilisateur doit cocher une case sur le site Web de Société inc. pour indiquer qu’il consent à recevoir des messages électroniques commerciaux. Le consentement de l’utilisateur n’a pas été présumé dans ce cas.

Figure 3 : Mécanisme de consentement exprès acceptable – Entrer son adresse de courriel pour indiquer son consentement

L’image illustre une façon acceptable d’obtenir le consentement exprès en vertu de la Loi. Dans l’exemple, l’utilisateur doit entrer son adresse de courriel et appuyer sur le bouton « Soumettre » sur le site Web de Société inc. pour indiquer qu’il consent à recevoir des messages électroniques commerciaux de Société inc.

Secrétaire général



Notes de bas de pages:

[1]   Les mécanismes de retrait du consentement présument le consentement de la personne visée, à moins que celle-ci prenne des mesures pour indiquer le contraire.

     Les mécanismes de consentement actif permettent aux personnes auprès de qui le consentement est sollicité d’exprimer leur consentement de manière positive et explicite.