Compliance and Enforcement Information Bulletin CRTC 2014-326

PDF version

Ottawa, 19 June 2014

Guidelines to help businesses develop corporate compliance programs

Introduction

  1. The purpose of this information bulletin is to provide general guidance and best practices for businesses on the development of corporate compliance programs. These programs may help businesses facilitate compliance with the RulesFootnote 1 and/or CASL.Footnote 2 Specifically, the bulletin describes important components of an effective corporate compliance program and provides guidance to develop such a program. The tools outlined in the bulletin should not be seen as prescriptive, but rather as illustrative. The bulletin is also not intended to be exhaustive, since businesses may take other reasonable steps to comply with the Rules and/or CASL. Further, the content of this bulletin is not intended to serve as legal advice. Businesses seeking legal advice regarding the development of a corporate compliance program should obtain independent legal advice.
  2. The Commission recognizes that each organization is different. Depending on the size and risk exposure of the organization, not all the components of a corporate compliance program described below may be necessary, particularly in the case of small and medium-sized businesses. The Commission also recognizes that small and medium-sized businesses do not have the resources that large corporations have. As such, while compliance is required regardless of the business’s size, compliance programs will vary widely. The Commission will assess compliance with the Rules and CASL on a case-by-case basis. The Commission recommends that businesses adapt the components described below to their particular circumstances.

Why is a corporate compliance program important?

  1. Non-compliance with the Rulesand/or CASL may expose businesses to significant administrative monetary penalties (AMPs) and other costs, such as legal fees and reputational damage. The development and proper implementation of a documented and effective corporate compliance program is a useful risk-management strategy: it may (i) reduce the likelihood of businesses violating the Rules and/or CASL, and (ii) help businesses establish a due diligence defence in the case of a violation of the Rules or CASL.
  2. Commission staff may take into consideration the existence and implementation of an effective corporate compliance program if the business presents the program as part of a due diligence defence in response to an alleged violation of the Rules or CASL. Although the pre-existence of a corporate compliance program may not be sufficient as a complete defence to allegations of violations under the Rules or CASL, a credible and effective documented program may enable a business to demonstrate that it took reasonable steps to avoid contravening the law. Thus, the program may support a claim of due diligence. As well, Commission staff can take the existence of such a program into consideration when determining whether a violation of the Rules or CASL is an isolated incident or is systemic in nature, and whether sanctions against a business should include AMPs.

Components of a corporate compliance program

Senior management involvement

  1. In the case of large businesses, the business’s senior management should consider playing an active and visible role in fostering a culture of compliance within their organization. Rules and policies by themselves have a greater chance of success in preventing misconduct when senior management strongly conveys that violations of the Rules and/or CASL are not acceptable. In addition, a member of senior management could be named as the business’s chief compliance officer, who is responsible and accountable for the development, management, and execution of the business’s corporate compliance program.
  2. In the case of small and medium-sized businesses, the business could identify a point person who is responsible and accountable for compliance with the Rules and/or CASL.

Risk assessment

  1. The chief compliance officer or point person should consider conducting a risk assessment to determine which business activities are at risk for the commission of violations under the Rules and/or CASL. The chief compliance officer or point person should then develop and apply policies and procedures to mitigate those risks.

Written corporate compliance policy

  1. After conducting a risk assessment, the chief compliance officer or point person should consider developing a written corporate compliance policy. The business should make this policy easily accessible to all employees, including managers. The business could update the policy as often as necessary to keep pace with changes in legislation, non-compliance issues, or new services or products. The policy may also
    • establish internal procedures for compliance with the Rules and/or CASL;
    • address related training that covers the policy and internal procedures;
    • establish auditing and monitoring mechanisms for the corporate compliance program;
    • establish procedures for dealing with third parties (for example, partners and subcontractors) to ensure that they comply with the Rules and/or CASL;
    • address record keeping, especially with respect to consent; and
    • contain a mechanism that enables employees to provide feedback to the chief compliance officer or point person.

Record keeping

  1. Good record-keeping practices may help businesses (i) identify potential non-compliance issues, (ii) investigate and respond to consumer complaints, (iii) respond to questions about the business’s practices and procedures, (iv) monitor their corporate compliance program, (v) identify the need for corrective actions and demonstrate that these actions were implemented, and (vi) establish a due diligence defence in the event of complaints to the Commission against the business.
  2. As a business, consider maintaining hard copy and/or electronic records of the following:
Relating to the Rules
  • your telemarketing policies and procedures;
  • all National Do Not Call List registration and subscription information (required by law for at least 36 months);
  • all internal do not call requests and actions;
  • all evidence of express consent (e.g. audio recordings or forms) by consumers who agree to be contacted via an automatic dialing-announcing device;
  • call records/logs;
  • call scripts; and
  • scrubbing procedures to remove from calling lists numbers that also appear on  both a company’s internal do not call list and the National Do Not Call List.
Relating to CASL
  • your commercial electronic message policies and procedures;
  • all unsubscribe requests and actions;
  • all evidence of express consent (e.g. audio recordings or forms) by consumers who agree to be contacted via a commercial electronic message;
  • commercial electronic message recipient consent logs;
  • commercial electronic message scripts; and
  • actioning unsubscribe requests for commercial electronic messages.
Relating to both the Rules and CASL
  • campaign records;
  • staff training documents;
  • other business procedures; and
  • official financial records.

Training program

  1. Effective training of staff at all levels on what constitutes prohibited conduct and on what could be done if they witness prohibited conduct is integral to the implementation of a credible corporate compliance program. Effective training helps employees determine roles and responsibilities, and when to seek advice from senior management. For the training to be effective, links should be made between the business’s policies and procedures, and the situations that employees may face in their daily activities.
  2. The chief compliance officer or point person should consider developing and implementing a training program, including refresher training, regarding the corporate compliance policy for current and new employees, including managers. After training, employees could provide written acknowledgment that they understand the corporate compliance policy, and these written acknowledgments should be recorded and maintained. The business could also monitor employee comprehension of the corporate compliance policy, and the training program could be adapted and re-administered accordingly. The business could re-administer training following important modifications or updates to the corporate compliance policy. The chief compliance officer or point person could evaluate the effectiveness of this training at regular intervals.
  3. The chief compliance officer or point person should also consider monitoring any legislative or regulatory changes, and modifying or updating the corporate compliance policy and the related training accordingly.
  4. When assessing what to include in the training program, consider the following:
    • requirements and related liabilities – to provide an understanding of what is required in the legislation and the penalties for not meeting those requirements;
    • policies and procedures associated with the business; and
    • background information on the legislation and the Rules.

Auditing and monitoring

  1. Auditing and monitoring mechanisms help (i) prevent and detect misconduct, and (ii) assess the effectiveness of the corporate compliance program. The implementation of these mechanisms also reminds employees and managers that they are subject to oversight. The chief compliance officer or point person could be responsible for ensuring that audits are conducted at regular intervals with or without external help. Auditing may involve developing and implementing a quality assurance program that would, for example, monitor a statistically significant percentage of the business’s telephone or email marketing campaigns. The results of all audits should be recorded, maintained, and communicated to senior management. Following an audit, the business should address any recommendations and modify or update the corporate compliance policy as appropriate.

Complaint-handling system

  1. The chief compliance officer or point person could put in place a complaint-handling system to enable customers to submit complaints to the business. The business should respond to and resolve complaints within a reasonable or predetermined period of time. The Commission notes that the complaint-handling system should not be confused with the requirements in the Rules and CASL regarding the withdrawal of consent.

Corrective (disciplinary) action

  1. Businesses could have an organizational disciplinary code to address contraventions. This code would help (i) demonstrate a business’s credibility regarding its corporate compliance policy, and (ii) deter against possible employee contraventions of the corporate compliance policy. Businesses should consider taking corrective or disciplinary action, or providing refresher training, as appropriate, to address contraventions of the corporate compliance policy. Businesses could maintain a record of the contravention and the action taken in response to the contravention.

Secretary General

Related documents

  • Review of the Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules, Compliance and Enforcement Regulatory Policy CRTC 2014-155, 31 March 2014
  • Electronic Commerce Protection Regulations (CRTC), Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2012-183, 28 March 2012
  • Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules framework and the National Do Not Call List, Telecom Decision CRTC 2007-48, 3 July 2007, as modified by Telecom Decision CRTC 2007-48-1, 19 July 2007

Footnotes

Footnote 1

“The Rules” refers to the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Unsolicited Telecommunications Rules.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

CASL, also commonly referred to as “Canada’s anti-spam legislation,” refers to An Act to promote the efficiency and adaptability of the Canadian economy by regulating certain activities that discourage reliance on electronic means of carrying out commercial activities, and to amend the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Act, the Competition Act, the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act and the Telecommunications Act, S.C. 2010, c. 23, and the associated regulations made thereunder.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Bulletin d’information de Conformité et Enquêtes CRTC 2014-326

Version PDF

Ottawa, le 19 juin 2014

Lignes directrices visant à aider les entreprises à élaborer des programmes de conformité

Introduction

  1. L’objet du présent bulletin d’information est de fournir aux entreprises une orientation générale et les pratiques exemplaires à suivre lors de la mise en place de programmes de conformité. Ces programmes pourront les aider à se conformer aux RèglesFootnote 1 et à la LCAPFootnote 2. Plus précisément, le bulletin décrit les éléments importants que devrait comporter un programme de conformité efficace et offre des conseils pour élaborer un tel programme. Les outils qui y sont proposés ne sont nullement prescriptifs, et il convient davantage de les considérer comme des exemples. Le bulletin ne se veut pas non plus exhaustif, les entreprises étant libres d’adopter d’autres mesures raisonnables en vue de se conformer aux Règles et à la LCAP. De plus, le contenu du présent bulletin ne constitue pas un avis juridique. Les entreprises qui recherchent un tel avis concernant l’élaboration d’un programme de conformité devraient obtenir un avis juridique indépendant.
  2. Le Conseil reconnaît le caractère unique de chaque organisation. Selon la taille et le degré de risque auquel chacune s’expose, tous les éléments constituant un programme de conformité décrits ci-dessous ne sont peut-être pas nécessaires, surtout dans le cas des petites ou moyennes entreprises. Le Conseil reconnaît également que les petites et moyennes entreprises ne disposent pas des mêmes ressources que les grandes entreprises. Ainsi, bien que la conformité des entreprises soit obligatoire quelque soit la taille de l’entreprise, les programmes de conformité varieront beaucoup d’une entreprise à l’autre. En outre, le Conseil examinera la conformité aux Règles et à la LCAP au cas par cas. Le Conseil recommande donc aux entreprises d’adapter les éléments décrits ci-dessous à leur situation particulière.

Pourquoi la mise en place d’un programme de conformité est-elle importante?

  1. La non-conformité aux Règles et à la LCAP peut exposer les entreprises à des sanctions administratives pécuniaires (SAP) substantielles ainsi qu’à d’autres conséquences comme des frais juridiques et l’atteinte à leur réputation. L’élaboration et la mise en place adéquate d’un programme de conformité efficace et documenté constituent une bonne stratégie de gestion des risques qui peut i) réduire la possibilité de violation des Règles et de la LCAP par l’entreprise et ii) aider l’entreprise à étayer une défense fondée sur la diligence raisonnable en cas de violation des Règles ou de la LCAP.
  2. Le personnel du Conseil peut tenir compte de l’existence et de la mise en place d’un programme de conformité efficace si une entreprise présente son programme dans le cadre d’une défense fondée sur la diligence raisonnable en réponse à une violation présumée des Règles ou de la LCAP. Bien que sa seule existence puisse être insuffisante pour exonérer complètement une entreprise qui fait face à des allégations de violation en vertu des Règles ou de la LCAP, un programme documenté crédible et efficace peut aider une entreprise à démontrer qu’elle a pris des mesures raisonnables afin d’éviter de contrevenir à la loi. Ainsi, un programme de conformité peut servir à étayer une défense fondée sur la diligence raisonnable. Le personnel du Conseil peut aussi tenir compte de l’existence d’un programme de conformité pour déterminer si la violation des Règles ou de la LCAP constitue un incident isolé ou si elle est de nature récurrente et établir si les sanctions contre l’entreprise devraient inclure des SAP.

Les éléments d’un programme de conformité

Engagement de la haute direction

  1. Dans le cas des grandes entreprises, la haute direction devrait envisager de jouer un rôle actif et visible dans la promotion d’une culture de la conformité au sein de son entreprise. L’efficacité des règles et des politiques visant à prévenir les cas d’inconduite est accrue quand la haute direction fait clairement savoir qu’il est inacceptable de violer les Règles et la LCAP. De plus, un membre de la haute direction pourrait être nommé responsable de la conformité de l’entreprise, devenant ainsi en charge du développement, de l’administration et de l’application du programme de conformité, et étant considéré comme redevable à ces titres.
  2. Dans le cas des petites et moyennes entreprises, l’entreprise pourrait nommer une personne-ressource responsable de la conformité aux Règles et à la LCAP et redevable à ce titre.

Évaluation des risques

  1. Le responsable de la conformité ou la personne-ressource devrait envisager de procéder à une évaluation des risques afin de recenser les activités de l’entreprise susceptibles d’être à l’origine de violations en vertu des Règles et de la LCAP. Il devrait ensuite élaborer et appliquer des procédures et des politiques en vue de réduire ces risques.

Politique de conformité écrite

  1. Après avoir évalué les risques, le responsable de la conformité ou la personne-ressource devrait envisager d’élaborer une politique de conformité écrite. L’entreprise devrait s’assurer que tous ses employés, y compris les gestionnaires, y ont facilement accès. Elle pourrait mettre à jour la politique aussi souvent que l’exigent les changements législatifs, les nouvelles questions de non-conformité ou l’apparition de nouveaux produits ou services. Cette politique peut également prévoir :
    • des procédures internes visant la conformité aux Règles et à la LCAP;
    • une formation sur la politique et les procédures internes;
    • des mécanismes de surveillance et de vérification du programme de conformité;
    • des procédures relatives aux relations avec des tiers (p. ex., des associés et des sous-traitants) afin de s’assurer qu’ils se conforment aux Règles et à la LCAP;
    • la tenue de dossiers, surtout en ce qui a trait au consentement;
    • un mécanisme permettant aux employés de communiquer leurs commentaires au responsable de la conformité ou à la personne-ressource.

Tenue de dossiers

  1. L’application de pratiques exemplaires en matière de tenue de dossiers peut aider l’entreprise à i) déceler d’éventuels problèmes de non-conformité, ii) analyser les plaintes des consommateurs et y répondre, iii) répondre aux questions sur les pratiques et procédures de l’entreprise, iv) surveiller le programme de conformité, v) déterminer si des mesures correctives s’imposent et prouver qu’elles ont bel et bien été mises en place et vi) élaborer une défense fondée sur la diligence raisonnable en cas de plaintes formulées auprès du Conseil contre l’entreprise.
  2. L’entreprise devrait également envisager de conserver une copie papier ou une version électronique des éléments suivants :
Concernant les Règles :
  • les politiques et procédures en matière de télémarketing;
  • tous les renseignements concernant l’inscription et l’abonnement à la Liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus (la loi exige de conserver ces dossiers au moins 36 mois);
  • toutes les demandes d’inscription de numéros sur la liste de numéros de télécommunications exclus de la compagnie et les actions connexes;
  • toutes les preuves du consentement exprès (p. ex., les enregistrements audios ou les formulaires) de consommateurs qui acceptent qu’on communique avec eux par composeur-messager automatique;
  • les dossiers et registres des appels;
  • les transcriptions d’appels;
  • les procédures d’épuration pour retirer des listes d’appels des numéros qui figurent à la fois sur la liste de numéros de télécommunication exclus de la compagnie et la Liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus;
Concernant la LCAP :
  • les politiques et procédures relatives aux messages électroniques commerciaux;
  • toutes les demandes de désabonnement et les actions connexes;
  • toutes les preuves du consentement exprès (p. ex., les enregistrements audios ou les formulaires) de consommateurs qui acceptent qu’on communique avec eux par des messages électroniques commerciaux;
  • les registres de consentement à recevoir des messages électroniques commerciaux;
  • les transcriptions des messages électroniques commerciaux;
  • le suivi donné aux demandes de désabonnement des messages électroniques commerciaux;
Concernant à la fois les Règles et la LCAP :
  • les dossiers relatifs aux campagnes;
  • les documents relatifs à la formation des employés;
  • les autres procédures de l’entreprise;
  • les dossiers financiers officiels.

Programme de formation

  1. Dans le cadre de la mise en place d’un programme de conformité crédible, il convient de former le personnel à tous les échelons sur les comportements interdits et les mesures qui pourraient être prises lorsqu’ils sont témoins de tels comportements. Une bonne formation aide les employés à comprendre les rôles et les responsabilités de chacun et à déceler les cas où il est nécessaire de se référer à un supérieur. Pour un maximum d’efficacité, la formation devrait établir les liens entre les politiques et les procédures de l’entreprise et les situations quotidiennes auxquelles les employés sont confrontés.
  2. Le responsable de la conformité ou la personne-ressource devrait envisager d’élaborer et de mettre en place, tant à l’intention des employés déjà en poste, des nouveaux venus que des gestionnaires, un programme de formation, y compris de perfectionnement, sur la politique de conformité. À la suite de leur formation, les employés pourraient signer un document pour indiquer qu’ils reconnaissent avoir compris la politique de conformité, document qui devrait être enregistré et conservé. L’entreprise pourrait aussi s’assurer que ses employés comprennent sa politique de conformité, et le programme de formation pourrait être adapté et offert de nouveau. L’entreprise pourrait aussi offrir une nouvelle formation lorsque des mises à jour ou des changements importants sont apportés à sa politique de conformité. Enfin, le responsable de la conformité ou la personne-ressource pourrait évaluer régulièrement l’efficacité de la formation.
  3. Le responsable de la conformité ou la personne-ressource devrait également envisager de surveiller toute modification législative ou réglementaire, et effectuer les modifications ou mises à jour de la politique de conformité et de la formation en conséquence.
  4. Le programme de formation pourrait comporter les éléments suivants :
    • les obligations et les responsabilités connexes – pour bien faire comprendre les exigences de la loi et les sanctions applicables en cas de défaut;
    • les politiques et les procédures relatives à l’entreprise;
    • l’historique de la loi et des Règles.

Vérification et surveillance

  1. Les mécanismes de vérification et de surveillance aident i) à prévenir et à détecter les comportements répréhensibles et ii) à évaluer l’efficacité du programme de conformité. La mise en place de ces mécanismes rappelle aussi aux employés et aux gestionnaires qu’ils sont sujet à une surveillance. Le responsable de la conformité ou la personne-ressource pourrait aussi avoir pour responsabilité de s’assurer que des vérifications sont effectuées à intervalles réguliers avec ou sans aide extérieure. Les vérifications peuvent consister à élaborer et à mettre en place un programme d’assurance de la qualité consistant, par exemple, à surveiller une partie statistiquement significative des campagnes de marketing de l’entreprise par téléphone ou par courriel. Les résultats de toute vérification devraient être enregistrés, conservés et communiqués à la haute direction de l’entreprise. À la suite d’une vérification, l’entreprise devrait se pencher sur toute recommandation formulée et, le cas échéant, modifier ou mettre à jour sa politique de conformité.

Traitement des plaintes

  1. Le responsable de la conformité ou la personne-ressource pourrait instaurer un système de traitement des plaintes permettant aux consommateurs de déposer des plaintes auprès de l’entreprise. L’entreprise devrait répondre aux plaintes et les résoudre dans un délai raisonnable ou préétabli. Le Conseil fait remarquer qu’il ne faut pas confondre le système de traitement des plaintes avec les exigences prévues dans les Règles et la LCAP à l’égard du retrait de consentement.

Mesures correctives (disciplinaires)

  1. Les entreprises pourraient adopter un code de discipline en vue de traiter les infractions. Ce code permettrait i) de prouver le sérieux de l’entreprise relativement à sa politique de conformité et ii) de dissuader les employés d’enfreindre la politique de conformité. Les entreprises devraient envisager d’appliquer des mesures correctives ou disciplinaires, ou, selon le cas, d’offrir une formation de perfectionnement, afin de traiter les infractions à leur politique de conformité. Elles pourraient aussi conserver un dossier sur les infractions et sur les mesures prises pour les traiter.

Secrétaire général

Documents connexes

  • Examen des Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées, Politique réglementaire de Conformité et Enquêtes CRTC 2014-155, 31 mars 2014
  • Règlement sur la protection du commerce électronique (CRTC), Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2012-183, 28 mars 2012
  • Cadre applicable aux Règles sur les télécommunications non sollicitées et la liste nationale de numéros de télécommunication exclus, Décision de télécom CRTC 2007-48, 3 juillet 2007, modifiée par la Décision de télécom CRTC 2007-48-1, 19 juillet 2007

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Les Règles réfèrent aux Règles du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes sur les télécommunications non sollicitées.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

La LCAP, aussi connu sous le nom de « Loi canadienne anti-pourriel », réfère à la Loi visant à promouvoir l’efficacité et la capacité d’adaptation de l’économie canadienne par la réglementation de certaines pratiques qui découragent l’exercice des activités commerciales par voie électronique et modifiant la Loi sur le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, la Loi sur la concurrence, la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques et la Loi sur les télécommunications,L. C. 2010, ch. 23, ainsi que des règlements qui en découlent.

Return to footnote 2 referrer