Undertaking: Kellogg Canada Inc.

Ottawa, 1 September 2016

File No.: 9102-201400324-001

Signature Date: 22 August 2016
Monetary payment: $60,000

Pursuant to section 21 of the Act to promote the efficiency and adaptability of the Canadian economy by regulating certain activities that discourage reliance on electronic means of carrying out commercial activities, and to amend the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Act, the Competition Act, the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act and the Telecommunications Act, S.C. 2010, c. 23 (the Act), Kellogg Canada Inc. has voluntarily entered into an undertaking with the Chief Compliance and Enforcement Officer (CCEO) of the Commission, in relation to an alleged violation of paragraph 6(1)(a) of the Act:

From 1 October 2014 to 16 December 2014, inclusively, messages were allegedly sent by Kellogg and/or its third party service providers during the period of 1 October 2014 to 16 December 2014 to recipients without consent of their recipients.

Pursuant to section 21 of the Act, Kellogg Canada Inc. has entered into an undertaking which includes a monetary payment of $60,000. In addition to this amount, Kellogg Canada Inc. undertook to comply with, and ensure that any third party authorized to send a commercial electronic message on its behalf complies with, the Act and Regulations (CRTC), and to review and update its compliance program.

The compliance program will be reviewed and updated by Kellogg Canada Inc. with the goal to promote compliance with the Act and Regulations (CRTC). More specifically, the program will cover elements such as reviewing and revising written policies and procedures regarding compliance, training programs for Kellogg employees, tracking of commercial electronic message complaints and subsequent resolution, and implementing updated monitoring and auditing mechanisms to assess compliance.

The amount of $60,000 paid by Kellogg Canada Inc. was payable to "The Receiver General for Canada" in accordance with subsection 28(3) of the Act. This Undertaking fully and completely resolves all outstanding issues with respect to Kellogg’s or its subsidiaries’ alleged non-compliance with the Act, including the payment of any specified amount in relation thereto, between the Commission and Kellogg Canada Inc. in relation to the CCEO’s investigation into the alleged violation by Kellogg Canada Inc. during the period of 1 October 2014 up to and including the Effective Date of this Undertaking.

Alain Garneau
Director, Electronic Commerce Enforcement Division

Date modified:

Engagement : Kellogg Canada Inc.

Ottawa, le 1 septembre 2016

No de dossier : 9102-201400324-001

Date de signature: 22 août 2016
Paiement monétaire: 60 000$

En application de l’article 21 de la Loi visant à promouvoir l’efficacité et la capacité d’adaptation de l’économie canadienne par la réglementation de certaines pratiques qui découragent l’exercice des activités commerciales par voie électronique et modifiant la Loi sur le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, la Loi sur la concurrence, la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques et la Loi sur les télécommunications, L.C. 2010, ch. 23 (la Loi), Kellogg Canada Inc. a contracté un engagement avec le Cadre en chef de la conformité et des enquêtes (CCCE) pour la violation alléguée de l’alinéa 6(1)(a) de la Loi:

Au cours de la période du 1er octobre 2014 au 16 décembre 2014, inclusivement, il est allégué que des messages électroniques commerciaux ont été envoyés par Kellogg et/ou ses fournisseurs de services externes, durant la période qui va du 1er octobre 2014 au 16 décembre 2014 à des destinataires sans le consentement de ceux-ci.

En vertu de l’article 21 de la Loi, Kellogg Canada Inc. a contracté un engagement dans le cadre duquel, un paiement monétaire de 60 000 $ devra être versé, en lien avec la violation alléguée identifiée ci-haut. En plus de ce montant, Kellogg Canada Inc. a accepté de se conformer à la Loi et au Règlement, d’assurer que toute tierce partie autorisée à envoyer des messages électroniques commerciaux en son nom s’y conforme, et de revoir et mettre en œuvre son programme de conformité.

Le programme de conformité sera révisé et mis à jour par Kellogg Canada Inc. dans le but de promouvoir la conformité à la Loi et au Règlement (CRTC). Plus spécifiquement, le programme va couvrir des éléments tels que la révision des politiques et procédures écrites visant la conformité, les programmes de formation des employés de Kellogg, le suivi des plaintes au sujet des messages électroniques commerciaux et la résolution de ces plaintes, ainsi que la mise en œuvre de mécanismes actualisés pour la surveillance et l’audit aux fins d’évaluer la conformité.

Le montant de 60 000 $ payé par Kellogg Canada Inc. a été remis au « Receveur général du Canada », conformément au paragraphe 28(3) de la Loi. Cet engagement résout pleinement et complètement tous les points en litige concernant la non-conformité alléguée de la part de Kellogg Canada Inc. ou de ses filiales, incluant le paiement du montant spécifié conséquemment, entre la Commission et Kellogg Canada Inc. en lien avec l’enquête de la CCCE portant sur la violation alléguée de la part de Kellogg Canada Inc., ayant eu lieu au cours de la période allant du 1er octobre 2014 à la date de cet engagement, inclusivement.

Alain Garneau
Directeur, Division de la Mise en Application du Commerce Électronique

Date de modification :