Undertaking: Mr. Halazon and TCC

File No.: 9090-2015-00414

Date of the undertaking (signed by all parties): 12 June 2017
Monetary payment: $10,000

Pursuant to section 21 of the Act to promote the efficiency and adaptability of the Canadian economy by regulating certain activities that discourage reliance on electronic means of carrying out commercial activities, and to amend the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Act, the Competition Act, the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act and the Telecommunications Act, S.C. 2010, c. 23 (the Act).

Persons who entered into an undertaking

Mr. Halazon, in his individual capacity, as former Chief Executive Officer of Couch Commerce, Inc. and its subsidiaries 8108773 Canada Inc. and DealFind.com Inc., operating as Teambuy and Dealfind (“Couch Commerce”), since bankrupted ; and

Transformational Capital Corp. and its subsidiaries, Evandale Caviar Inc. and Mighty Deals Limited, operating as Buytopia.ca, Shop.ca, Shop.us and Mightydeals.co.uk (“TCC”), also represented by Mr. Halazon as CEO.

Acts and omissions covered by the undertaking and provisions at issue

Mr. Halazon has voluntarily entered into an undertaking with a designated person of the Commission in relation to an alleged violation of paragraph 6(2)(c) and non-compliance with subsections 11(1) and 11(3) of the Act, as well as subsection 3(2) of the Electronic Commerce Protection Regulations (CRTC).

The investigation alleged that commercial electronic messages (CEMs) were sent or caused or permitted to be sent by Couch Commerce to recipients without a compliant unsubscribe mechanism during the period of 2 July 2014 to 9 September 2014, while Mr. Halazon was CEO of Couch Commerce. More specifically, it was alleged that the unsubscribe mechanism did not function, or could not be readily performed, or unsubscribe requests were not given effect until more than 10 business days after a request has been sent. It was also alleged that Mr. Halazon was personally liable for this violation pursuant to section 31 of the Act.

Amount payable and summary of other requirements

As part of the undertaking, Mr. Halazon has agreed to make a monetary payment of $10,000 to the Receiver General for Canada in accordance with subsection 28(3) of the Act.

In addition to this payment, TCC, a company which acquired the email list initially used by Couch Commerce and which is also represented by Mr. Halazon, agreed on a compliance program. This program includes elements such as a review of current practices, development and implementation of corporate compliance policies and procedures, training for employees, consistent disciplinary procedures, tracking of CEM complaints and subsequent resolution, monitoring and auditing. This program also includes reporting mechanisms to Commission staff with respect to its implementation, as well as other requirements, such as reporting significant changes affecting the business and full cooperation in case of visits or requests from Commission staff.

This undertaking fully resolves all alleged or potential liability for all CEMs sent by and on behalf of Mr. Halazon and TCC from 2 July 2014 up to the date of the undertaking.

Date modified:

Engagement : M. Halazon et TCC

No de dossier : 9090-2015-00414

Date de l’engagement (signé par toutes les parties): 12 juin 2017
Paiement monétaire: 10 000$

Personnes ayant contracté un engagement

M. Halazon, à titre individuel, en qualité d’ancien Président Directeur Général de Couch Commerce, Inc. et ses filiales 8108773 Canada Inc. et DealFind.com Inc., opérant sous les noms Teambuy et Dealfind (“Couch Commerce”), ayant depuis déclaré faillite; et

Transformational Capital Corp. et ses filiales, Evandale Caviar Inc. et Mighty Deals Limited, opérant sous les noms Buytopia.ca, Shop.ca, Shop.us et Mightydeals.co.uk (“TCC”), aussi représentées par M. Halazon en qualité de PDG.

Actes et omissions couverts par l’engagement et dispositions en cause

M. Halazon a contracté volontairement un engagement avec une personne désignée du Conseil, concernant une violation alléguée à l’alinéa 6(2)(c) et la non-conformité avec les paragraphes 11(1) et 11(3) de la Loi, ainsi qu’avec le paragraphe 3(2) du Règlement sur la protection du commerce électronique (CRTC).

Une enquête a allégué que Couch Commerce avait envoyé ou fait envoyer ou permis l’envoi de messages électroniques commerciaux (MEC) à des destinataires, sans un mécanisme d’exclusion conforme à la loi, pendant la période du 2 juillet 2014 au 9 septembre 2014, alors que M. Halazon était Président Directeur Général de Couch Commerce. Plus précisément, il a été allégué que le mécanisme d’exclusion ne fonctionnait pas ou ne pouvait pas s’exécuter facilement ou qu’il n’a pas été donné suite aux demandes d’exclusion au plus tard dans les 10 jours ouvrables après que la demande d’exclusion ait été communiquée. L’enquête a aussi allégué que M. Halazon était personnellement responsable de cette violation en vertu de l’article 31 de la Loi.

Montant à payer et résumé des autres conditions

Dans le cadre de l’engagement, M. Halazon a accepté de payer un montant de 10 000 $ au receveur général du Canada, conformément au paragraphe 28(3) de la Loi.

Outre le paiement de la somme indiquée ci-dessus, TCC, une compagnie ayant acquis la liste de courriels initialement utilisée par Couch Commerce et également représentée par M. Halazon, a accepté un programme de conformité. Ce programme inclut notamment la révision des pratiques actuelles, le développement et la mise en place de politiques et procédures corporatives visant à garantir la conformité à la Loi, la formation des employés, des procédures disciplinaires adéquates, le suivi des plaintes reliées aux MEC et la résolution y afférente, ainsi que des mesures de surveillance et d’audit. Ce programme comporte par ailleurs des mécanismes de rapport au personnel du Conseil concernant sa mise en œuvre ainsi que d’autres exigences, telles que des déclarations à effectuer en cas de changements significatifs affectant les activités d’affaires ou encore la pleine coopération dans le cas de visites ou demandes du personnel du Conseil.

Cet engagement résout pleinement toute responsabilité alléguée ou potentielle de M. Halazon et TCC pour tous les MEC envoyés par eux ou pour leur compte, à partir du 2 juillet 2014 jusqu’à la date de cet engagement.

Date de modification :