Discontinuing the Local Program Improvement Fund (LPIF)

Following a public hearing, the CRTC has decided that the LPIF has fulfilled its purpose and will be phased out by August 31, 2014, in accordance with Broadcasting Regulatory Policy CRTC 2012-385. Some consumers of cable and satellite television services will see an adjustment in their bills.

Why is the LPIF being phased out?

Given the recovery in the advertising sector and the successful transition to digital television, the CRTC is satisfied that the LPIF has fulfilled its purpose. Following a public hearing held April 16-20, 2012 to review the Fund, the CRTC decided to phase it out over two years.

How is the LPIF being phased out?

Cable and satellite companies contributions will decrease according to the following schedule:

  • September 1, 2012. Contributions will decrease from 1.5% of gross broadcasting revenue to 1%.
  • September 1, 2013. Contributions will decrease from 1% of gross broadcasting revenue to 0.5%.
  • September 1, 2014. The fund will be discontinued.

Background

What is the LPIF?

In 2008, during the recession, conventional television stations1 operating in non-metropolitan markets went through a difficult financial period. The CRTC created the LPIF to support local programming by these stations.  In 2010, 78 stations received funding totaling $100 million. In 2011, 80 stations received $106 million in funding.

What are the implications of winding down the LPIF?

Some cable and satellite companies have passed the costs of the LPIF on to their customers.  As LPIF contributions are reduced and eventually eliminated, these companies’ customers can expect a corresponding reduction in their cable or satellite bills.

Cable and satellite companies are required to report what measures they have taken to ensure that these reductions are reflected in the bills of affected consumers.  Companies must submit these reports to the CRTC by September 17, 2012.

How will the CRTC ensure that viewers in non-metropolitan markets receive local programming?

Television stations in these markets are required to air local programming.  Given that their economic situation has improved, the CRTC is confident that stations will maintain the same quality of programming.

How does the CRTC divide the Fund among broadcasters?

Since its inception, the CRTC has taken the following approach to divide the Fund among broadcasters:

  • Two thirds are divided so that 70% goes to English markets, and 30% to French markets.
  • The remaining one third of total funds are divided evenly among all eligible stations in English and French markets.

How does the CRTC determine which local television stations have access to the Fund?

Television stations operating in non-metropolitan markets have access to the Fund. However, a French-language station operating in an English  metropolitan market receives the same amount of funding as those operating in francophone non-metropolitan markets. Conversely, the same is offered to English stations operating in a francophone metropolitan market.

Which stations are currently eligible?

The list of eligible stations is available at:


 [1] SRC, CBC, TVA, V (formerly TQS), CTV, Global, Shaw (formerly Canwest) and approximately 20 independent stations.

Élimination du Fonds pour l'amélioration de la programmation locale (FAPL)

Au terme d’une audience publique, le CRTC a conclu que le FAPL a permis d’atteindre l’objectif fixé et qu’il sera éliminé progressivement d’ici le 31 août 2014, conformément à la Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion CRTC 2012-385. Certains abonnés des services de télévision par câble et par satellite verront leur facture rajustée.

Pourquoi procéder à son élimination progressive?

Devant la reprise des affaires dans le secteur de la publicité et le succès du passage au numérique, le CRTC constate que le FAPL a atteint son objectif. Au terme de l’audience publique menée du 16 au 20 avril 2012 afin d’examiner le Fonds, le CRTC a décidé de procéder à son élimination sur deux ans.

Comment se fera l’élimination progressive?

Les contributions exigées des entreprises de distribution par câble et par satellite diminueront comme suit :

  • À compter du 1er septembre 2012, les contributions passeront de 1,5 % à 1,0 % des revenus bruts de radiodiffusion.
  • À compter du 1er septembre 2013, elles passeront de 1,0 % à 0,5 % des revenus bruts de radiodiffusion.
  • À compter du 1er septembre 2014, le fonds sera éliminé.

Contexte

Qu’est-ce que le FAPL?

En 2008, pendant la récession, les stations de télévision traditionnelles1 en exploitation dans les marchés non métropolitains ont connu des temps durs. Le CRTC a donc mis sur pied le FAPL pour soutenir la programmation locale diffusée par ces stations. En 2010, 78 stations ont reçu des fonds totalisant 100 millions de dollars. En 2011, 80 stations ont touché un financement total de 106 millions de dollars.

Quelles en sont les répercussions du ralentissement du FAPL?

Certaines entreprises de distribution par câble et par satellite ont refilé le coût du FAPL à leurs clients. Étant donné que les contributions diminueront progressivement pour finir par être éliminées, les clients de ces entreprises peuvent s’attendre à une facture réduite en conséquence.

Les entreprises de distribution par câble et par satellite sont tenues de rédiger un rapport exposant les mesures qu’elles auront prises pour tenir compte de ces réductions dans la facture des abonnés touchés. Elles ont jusqu’au 17 septembre 2012 pour soumettre leurs rapports respectifs au CRTC.

Comment le CRTC s’assurera‑t‑il que les téléspectateurs des marchés non métropolitains reçoivent la programmation locale?

Dans ces marchés, les stations de télévision sont obligées de diffuser des émissions locales. Comme leur situation économique s’est améliorée, le CRTC est convaincu qu’elles offriront la même qualité de programmation.

Comment le CRTC répartit‑il l’argent du Fonds entre les radiodiffuseurs?

Lorsqu’il a créé le Fonds, le CRTC a retenu la formule de répartition ci‑après :

  • 70% des deux tiers vont aux marchés anglophones et 30 % aux marchés francophones.
  • Le tiers restant est réparti également entre les stations admissibles des marchés francophones et anglophones.

Comment le CRTC détermine‑t‑il quelles stations de télévision ont droit au Fonds?

Les stations de télévision qui exercent leurs activités dans des marchés non métropolitains ont droit au FAPL. Toutefois, une station de langue française exploitée dans un marché anglophone métropolitain recevra le même financement que celles exploitées dans les marchés francophones non métropolitains. À l'inverse, une station anglophone exploitée dans un marché francophone métropolitain recevra le même.

Quelles stations sont actuellement admissibles?

Les noms des stations admissibles figurent aux adresses suivantes :


[1] SRC, CBC, TVA, V (anciennement TQS), CTV, Global, Shaw (anciennement Canwest) et un vingtaine de stations indépendantes.