Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2015-134-3

PDF version

References: 2015-134, 2015-134-1, 2015-134-2, 2015-134-4 and 2015-134-5

Ottawa, 14 January 2016

File number: 8663-C12-201503186

Notice of hearing

11 April 2016
Gatineau, Quebec

Deadlines for the second phase of submissions: 8 and 29 February 2016

[Submit an intervention or view related documents]

Review of basic telecommunications services

  1. In Telecom Notice of Consultation 2015-134 (the Notice), the Commission stated that it would reach out to Canadians at a later date to further explore the telecommunications services they consider necessary to participate meaningfully in the digital economy today and in the future, and to provide them with an opportunity to appear at the public hearing.
  2. The Commission hereby invites Canadians to fill out a questionnaire related to their usage of telecommunications services, referenced below, by 29 February 2016. In addition, Canadians who wish to provide further views beyond the questionnaire may submit interventions on the issues and questions identified in the Notice by 8 February 2016. Interested persons may wish to consult the Notice for an overview of the issues raised in the proceeding before filing any interventions.

Questionnaire and other activities

  1. The Commission has contracted an external consulting firm, EKOS Research Associates Inc. (EKOS), to conduct a study of Canadians’ usage of telecommunications services. As part of the study, Canadians will be able to fill out an online questionnaire on issues relating to this proceeding. Canadians may access the questionnaire through the following link:
  2. Canadians who cannot access the questionnaire online may call 1-877-249-2782 to fill it out over the phone with an agent or to request a paper copy (a prepaid return envelope will be supplied). Canadians may also send a fax to 819-994-0218 to request a copy of the questionnaire and/or to send the questionnaire back.
  3. Responses to the questionnaire (online, or by phone, mail, or fax) must be completed and received by the Commission by 29 February 2016.
  4. EKOS will also be contacting Canadians in order to host focus groups in small communities and conduct phone interviews across Canada in regions where a large percentage of the population is underserved or unserved by modern telecommunications services. These regional consultations will be completed by 29 February 2016.
  5. Following this consultation period, EKOS will provide the Commission with a report summarizing the results of the questionnaire, the focus groups, and the phone interviews. The report will be placed on the public record for this proceeding on the Commission’s website at as soon as it is available.

Interventions and appearing at the public hearing

  1. Interested persons who wish to further participate in this public process, beyond filling out the questionnaire, may file an intervention and may also request to appear at the public hearing, pursuant to the procedures set out below.
  2. As stated in the Notice, the Commission will hold a public hearing, beginning on 11 April 2016 at 9:00 a.m., at the Conference Centre, Phase IV, 140 Promenade du Portage, in Gatineau, Quebec. The hearing is expected to last between 10 and 15 days.
  3. The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure) apply to this proceeding. The Rules of Procedure set out, among other things, the rules for the content, format, and filing of interventions, and the conduct of public hearings. Accordingly, the procedure set out below must be read in conjunction with the Rules of Procedure and accompanying documents, which can be found on the Commission’s website at, under “Statutes and Regulations.” The guidelinesset out in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-959 provide information to help interested persons and parties understand the Rules of Procedure so that they can more effectively participate in Commission proceedings.
  4. Interested persons who wish to become parties to this proceeding must file an intervention with the Commission regarding the issues set out in the Notice by 8 February 2016. The intervention must be filed in accordance with section 26 of the Rules of Procedureand must include one of the following statements in either the first or the last paragraph:
    1. I request to appear at the public hearing.
    2. I do not want to appear at the public hearing.
  5. Parties are permitted to coordinate, organize, and file, in a single submission, interventions by other interested persons who share their position but do not wish to appear at the hearing. Information on how to file this type of submission, known as a joint supporting intervention, as well as a template for the accompanying cover letter to be filed by parties, can be found in Telecom Information Bulletin 2011-693.
  6. Parties who wish to appear at the public hearing must provide reasons why their written intervention is not sufficient and why an appearance is necessary. In addition, parties requiring communications support must state their request for such support on the first page of their intervention.
  7. Only those parties whose requests to appear have been granted will be contacted by the Commission and invited to appear at the hearing. An organization and conduct letter, providing directions on procedure with respect to the public hearing, will be issued before the hearing begins.
  8. Although the public hearing will be held in Gatineau, Quebec, parties may participate from the Commission’s regional offices via videoconference. Parties interested in doing so are asked to indicate, at the time they file their interventions, the regional office where they wish to appear. A list of the Commission’s regional offices is included in this notice. In addition, the Commission will make every effort to connect persons via videoconference or teleconference links to other locations should it receive requests to do so.
  9. Parties requiring communications support, such as assistive listening devices and sign language interpretation, are requested to confirm their specific requirements with the Commission at least 20 days before the public hearing begins so that the necessary arrangements can be made.
  10. The Commission encourages interested persons and parties to monitor the record of this proceeding, available on the Commission’s website at, for additional information that they may find useful when preparing their submissions.
  11. Submissions longer than five pages should include a summary. Each paragraph of all submissions should be numbered, and the line ***End of document*** should follow the last paragraph. This will help the Commission verify that the document has not been damaged during electronic transmission.
  12. Submissions must be filed by sending them to the Secretary General of the Commission using only one of the following means:

    by completing the
    [Intervention form]


    by mail to
    CRTC, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0N2


    by fax to

  13. Parties who send documents electronically must ensure that they will be able to prove, upon Commission request, that filing of a particular document was completed. Accordingly, parties must keep proof of the sending and receipt of each document for 180 days after the date on which the document is filed. The Commission advises parties who file documents by electronic means to exercise caution when using email for the service of documents, as it may be difficult to establish that service has occurred.
  14. In accordance with the Rules of Procedure, a document must be received by the Commission by 5 p.m. Vancouver time (8 p.m. Ottawa time) on the date it is due. Parties are responsible for ensuring the timely delivery of their submissions and will not be notified if their submissions are received after the deadline. Late submissions, including those due to postal delays, will not be considered by the Commission and will not be made part of the public record.
  15. The Commission will not formally acknowledge submissions. It will, however, fully consider all submissions, which will form part of the public record of the proceeding, provided that the procedure for filing set out above has been followed.

Important notice

  1. All information that parties provide as part of this public process, except information designated confidential, whether sent by postal mail, facsimile, email, or through the Commission’s website at, becomes part of a publicly accessible file and will be posted on the Commission’s website. This includes all personal information, such as full names, email addresses, postal/street addresses, telephone and facsimile numbers, etc.
  2. The personal information that parties provide will be used and may be disclosed for the purpose for which the information was obtained or compiled by the Commission, or for a use consistent with that purpose.
  3. Documents received electronically or otherwise will be posted on the Commission’s website in their entirety exactly as received, including any personal information contained therein, in the official language and format in which they are received. Documents not received electronically will be available in PDF format.
  4. The information that parties provide to the Commission as part of this public process is entered into an unsearchable database dedicated to this specific public process. This database is accessible only from the web page of this particular public process. As a result, a general search of the Commission’s website with the help of either its search engine or a third-party search engine will not provide access to the information that was provided as part of this public process.

Availability of documents

  1. Electronic versions of the interventions and other documents referred to in this notice are available on the Commission’s website at by using the file number provided at the beginning of this notice or by visiting the “Participate” section of the Commission’s website, selecting “Submit Ideas and Comments,” then selecting “our open processes.” Documents can then be accessed by clicking on the links in the “Subject” and “Related Documents” columns associated with this particular notice.
  2. Documents are also available from Commission offices, upon request, during normal business hours.

Commission offices

Toll-free telephone: 1-877-249-2782
Toll-free TDD: 1-877-909-2782

Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
Central Building
1 Promenade du Portage, Room 206
Gatineau, Quebec J8X 4B1
Tel.: 819-997-2429
Fax: 819-994-0218

Regional offices

Nova Scotia

Metropolitan Place
99 Wyse Road, Suite 1410
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 4S5
Tel.: 902-426-7997
Fax: 902-426-2721


505 De Maisonneuve Boulevard West, Suite 205
Montréal, Quebec H3A 3C2
Tel.: 514-283-6607


55 St. Clair Avenue East, Suite 624
Toronto, Ontario M4T 1M2
Tel.: 416-952-9096


360 Main Street, Suite 970
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 3Z3
Tel.: 204-983-6306
Fax: 204-983-6317


1975 Scarth Street, Suite 403
Regina, Saskatchewan S4P 2H1
Tel.: 306-780-3422
Fax: 306-780-3319


220 – 4th Avenue Southeast, Suite 574
Calgary, Alberta T2G 4X3
Tel.: 403-292-6660
Fax: 403-292-6686

British Columbia

858 Beatty Street, Suite 290
Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1C1
Tel.: 604-666-2111
Fax: 604-666-8322
Secretary General

Related documents

  • Review of basic telecommunications services, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2015-134, 9 April 2015; as amended by Telecom Notices of Consultation CRTC 2015-134-1, 3 June 2015; and 2015-134-2, 22 December 2015
  • Filing of joint supporting interventions, Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2011-693, 8 November 2011
  • Guidelines on the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure, Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-959, 23 December 2010

Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2015-134-3

Version PDF

Références : 2015-134, 2015-134-1, 2015-134-2, 2015-134-4 et 2015-134-5

Ottawa, le 14 janvier 2016

Numéro de dossier :8663-C12-201503186

Avis d’audience

Le 11 avril 2016
Gatineau (Québec)

Dates limites de dépôt des mémoires de la deuxième phase : 8 et 29 février 2016

[Soumettre une intervention ou voir les documents connexes]

Examen des services de télécommunication de base

  1. Dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2015-134 (avis), le Conseil a déclaré qu’il inviterait les Canadiens, à une date ultérieure, à lui fournir leurs avis sur les services de télécommunication qu’ils estiment nécessaires pour participer de manière significative à l’économie numérique d’aujourd’hui et de demain. Le Conseil a aussi énoncé que les Canadiens auraient l’occasion de comparaître à l’audience publique.
  2. Le Conseil invite donc les Canadiens à remplir un questionnaire sur leur utilisation des services de télécommunication, mentionné ci-dessous, au plus tard le 29 février 2016. D’autre part, les Canadiens qui désirent fournir des avis complémentaires qui dépassent le cadre du questionnaire peuvent soumettre des interventions sur les questions et les enjeux présentés dans l’avis au plus tard le 8 février 2016. Avant de déposer des interventions, les intéressés pourraient souhaiter consulter l’avis pour avoir un aperçu des questions soulevées lors de l’instance.

Questionnaire et autres activités

  1. Le Conseil a retenu les services d’une société d’experts-conseils externe, EKOS Research Associates Inc. (EKOS), afin de réaliser une étude sur l’utilisation des services de télécommunication par les Canadiens. Dans le cadre de cette étude, les Canadiens pourront remplir un questionnaire en ligne portant sur les questions liées à la présente instance. Les Canadiens peuvent accéder au questionnaire par le biais du lien suivant : www.ekos.com/crtcf.
  2. Les Canadiens qui ne peuvent pas accéder au questionnaire en ligne peuvent appeler au numéro 1-877-249-2782 pour remplir le questionnaire par téléphone avec l’aide d’un agent ou pour obtenir une copie papier du questionnaire (une enveloppe de retour affranchie sera fournie). Les Canadiens pourraient également envoyer une télécopie au numéro 819-994-0218 pour demander une copie du questionnaire ou pour retourner le questionnaire rempli.
  3. Le questionnaire (dont les réponses peuvent être fournies en ligne, par téléphone, par courriel ou par télécopieur) doit être dûment rempli et reçu par le Conseil au plus tard le 29 février 2016.
  4. EKOS communiquera aussi avec les Canadiens afin de tenir des groupes de discussion dans les petites collectivités et de réaliser des entretiens téléphoniques dans les régions du Canada où une proportion importante de la population est mal desservie ou non desservie par les services de télécommunication modernes. Ces consultations régionales seront menées au plus tard le 29 février 2016.
  5. À la suite de cette période de consultation, EKOS remettra au Conseil un rapport résumant les résultats du questionnaire, des groupes de discussion et des entretiens téléphoniques. Dès qu’il sera disponible, ce rapport sera versé au dossier public de la présente instance sur le site Web du Conseil à l’adresse www.crtc.gc.ca.

Interventions et comparution à l’audience publique

  1. Les intéressés qui souhaitent participer davantage à ce processus public, en plus de remplir le questionnaire, peuvent déposer une intervention et peuvent également demander de comparaître à l’audience publique, conformément aux modalités énoncées ci-après.
  2. Tel qu’il est énoncé dans l’avis, le Conseil tiendra une audience publique débutant le 11 avril 2016 à 9 h, au Centre de conférences, Phase IV, 140, promenade du Portage, à Gatineau (Québec). L’audience devrait durer de 10 à 15 jours.
  3. Les Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (Règles de procédure) s’appliquent à la présente instance. Les Règles de procédure établissent, entre autres choses, les règles concernant le contenu, le format et le dépôt des interventions, et le déroulement de l’audience publique. Par conséquent, la procédure établie ci-dessous doit être lue en parallèle aux Règles de procédure et aux documents afférents, que l’on peut consulter sur le site Web du Conseil à l’adresse www.crtc.gc.ca, sous la rubrique « Lois et règlements ». Les lignes directrices établies dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom 2010-959 donnent des renseignements pour aider les intéressés et les parties à comprendre les Règles de procédure afin qu’ils puissent participer aux instances du Conseil de manière plus efficace.
  4. Les intéressés qui désirent devenir des parties à la présente instance doivent déposer auprès du Conseil une intervention concernant les questions susmentionnées, au plus tard le 8 février 2016. L’intervention doit être déposée conformément à l’article 26 des Règles de procédure et doit comprendre l’un des énoncés suivants dans le premier ou le dernier paragraphe :
    1. Je demande à comparaître à l’audience publique.
    2. Je ne désire pas comparaître à l’audience publique.
  5. Les parties sont autorisées à recueillir, organiser et déposer, en un mémoire unique, des interventions au nom d’autres intéressés qui partagent leur opinion, mais qui ne désirent pas comparaître à l’audience. Des renseignements sur la manière de déposer ce type de mémoire, qu’on appelle une intervention favorable conjointe, ainsi qu’un modèle de la lettre d’accompagnement qui doit être déposée par les parties sont présentés dans le bulletin d’information de télécom 2011-693.
  6. Les parties qui désirent comparaître à l’audience publique doivent expliquer pourquoi leur intervention écrite ne suffit pas et pourquoi une comparution est nécessaire. De plus, les parties qui requièrent des auxiliaires de communication doivent en faire la requête à la première page de leur intervention.
  7. Le Conseil n’invitera à comparaître à l’audience que les parties dont il a déjà accepté la demande de comparution. Une lettre sur l’organisation et le déroulement de l’audience publique, contenant des directives sur la procédure de l’audience publique, sera publiée avant le début de l’audience.
  8. Bien que l’audience publique se tienne à Gatineau (Québec), le Conseil offre la possibilité aux parties de prendre part à l’audience à partir des bureaux régionaux du Conseil par l’entremise de la vidéoconférence. Les parties désirant le faire sont priées d’indiquer, lors du dépôt de leurs interventions, à partir de quel bureau régional elles désirent comparaître. Une liste des bureaux régionaux du Conseil figure dans le présent avis. De plus, le Conseil fera tout son possible pour offrir un accès aux personnes par l’entremise de la vidéoconférence ou de la téléconférence dans d’autres endroits s’il reçoit des demandes à cet effet.
  9. Les parties nécessitant des auxiliaires de communication, tels que des appareils fonctionnels pour personnes malentendantes ou des services d’interprétation gestuelle, doivent en aviser le Conseil au moins 20 jours avant le début de l’audience publique, afin de lui permettre de prendre les arrangements nécessaires.
  10. Le Conseil encourage les intéressés et les parties à examiner le contenu du dossier public de la présente instance sur le site Web du Conseil à l’adresse www.crtc.gc.ca pour tout renseignement additionnel qu’ils pourraient juger utile à la préparation de leurs mémoires.
  11. Les mémoires de plus de cinq pages devraient inclure un résumé. Chaque paragraphe des mémoires devrait être numéroté. La mention ***Fin du document*** devrait également être ajoutée après le dernier paragraphe du mémoire. Cela permettra au Conseil de s’assurer que le document n’a pas été détérioré lors de la transmission par voie électronique.
  12. Les mémoires doivent être déposés auprès de la Secrétaire générale du Conseil selon une seule des façons suivantes :

    en remplissant le
    [formulaire d’intervention]
    ou
    par la poste, à l’adresse
    CRTC, Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0N2
    ou
    par télécopieur, au numéro
    819-994-0218

  13. Les parties qui envoient des documents par voie électronique doivent s’assurer de pouvoir prouver au Conseil, sur demande, le dépôt d’un document en particulier. Par conséquent, elles doivent conserver la preuve de l’envoi et de la réception d’un document pour une période de 180 jours à compter de la date du dépôt du document. Le Conseil recommande aux parties qui déposent un document par voie électronique de se montrer prudentes lors de la signification de documents par courriel, car la preuve de la signification peut être difficile à faire.
  14. Conformément aux Règles de procédure, un document doit être reçu par le Conseil et toutes les parties appropriées au plus tard à 17 h, heure de Vancouver (20 h, heure d’Ottawa) à la date d’échéance. Les parties sont tenues de veiller à ce que leur mémoire soit déposé en temps opportun et ne seront pas informées si leur mémoire est reçu après la date limite. Les mémoires déposés en retard, y compris en cas de retard causé par la poste, ne seront pas pris en compte par le Conseil et ne seront pas versés au dossier public.
  15. Le Conseil n’accusera pas officiellement réception des mémoires. Il en tiendra toutefois pleinement compte et les versera au dossier public de l’instance, pourvu que la procédure de dépôt énoncée ci-dessus ait été suivie.

Avis important

  1. Tous les renseignements fournis par les parties dans le cadre de ce processus public, sauf ceux désignés confidentiels, qu’ils soient envoyés par la poste, par télécopieur, par courriel ou au moyen du site Web du Conseil à l’adresse www.crtc.gc.ca, seront versés à un dossier public et affichés sur le site Web du Conseil. Ces renseignements comprennent les renseignements personnels, tels que le nom, l’adresse électronique, l’adresse postale et les numéros de téléphone et de télécopieur.
  2. Les renseignements personnels fournis par les parties peuvent être divulgués et seront utilisés aux fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis ou compilés par le Conseil, ou pour un usage qui est compatible avec ces fins.
  3. Les documents reçus en version électronique ou autrement seront affichés intégralement sur le site Web du Conseil, tels qu’ils ont été reçus, y compris tous les renseignements personnels qu’ils contiennent, dans la langue officielle et le format d’origine dans lesquels ils sont reçus. Les documents qui ne sont pas reçus en version électronique seront affichés en version PDF.
  4. Les renseignements fournis au Conseil par les parties dans le cadre de ce processus public sont déposés dans une base de données impropre à la recherche et réservée exclusivement à ce processus public. Cette base de données ne peut être consultée qu’à partir de la page Web de ce processus public. Par conséquent, une recherche généralisée du site Web du Conseil, à l’aide de son moteur de recherche ou de tout autre moteur de recherche, ne permettra pas d’accéder directement aux renseignements fournis dans le cadre de ce processus public.

Disponibilité des documents

  1. On peut consulter sur le site Web du Conseil les versions électroniques des interventions et des autres documents dont il est question dans le présent avis. On peut y accéder à l’adresse www.crtc.gc.ca au moyen du numéro de dossier indiqué au début du présent avis ou en consultant la rubrique « Participer », puis en cliquant sur « Soumettre des idées et des commentaires » et ensuite « les instances en période d’observation ouverte ». On peut alors accéder aux documents en cliquant sur les liens dans les colonnes « Sujet » et « Documents connexes » associées au présent avis.
  2. Les documents peuvent également être consultés, sur demande, aux bureaux du Conseil pendant les heures normales de bureau.

Bureaux du CRTC

Téléphone sans frais : 1-877-249-2782
ATS sans frais : 1-877-909-2782

Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
Édifice central
1, promenade du Portage, bureau 206
Gatineau (Québec)  J8X 4B1
Téléphone : 819-997-2429
Télécopieur : 819-994-0218

Bureaux régionaux

Nouvelle-Écosse

Place Metropolitan
99, chemin Wyse, bureau 1410
Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse)  B3A 4S5
Téléphone : 902-426-7997
Télécopieur : 902-426-2721

Québec

505, boulevard De Maisonneuve Ouest, bureau 205
Montréal (Québec)  H3A 3C2
Téléphone : 514-283-6607

Ontario

55, avenue St. Clair Est, bureau 624
Toronto (Ontario)  M4T 1M2
Téléphone : 416-952-9096

Manitoba

360, rue Main, bureau 970
Winnipeg (Manitoba)  R3C 3Z3
Téléphone : 204-983-6306
Télécopieur : 204-983-6317

Saskatchewan

1975, rue Scarth, bureau 403
Regina (Saskatchewan)  S4P 2H1
Téléphone : 306-780-3422
Télécopieur : 306-780-3319

Alberta

220, 4e Avenue S.-E., bureau 574
Calgary (Alberta)  T2G 4X3
Téléphone : 403-292-6660
Télécopieur : 403-292-6686

Colombie-Britannique

858, rue Beatty, bureau 290
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)  V6B 1C1
Téléphone : 604-666-2111
Télécopieur : 604-666-8322
Secrétaire générale

Documents connexes

  • Examen des services de télécommunication de base, Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2015-134, 9 avril 2015, modifié par les Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2015-134-1, 3 juin 2015 et 2015-134-2, 22 décembre 2015
  • Dépôt d’interventions favorables conjointes, Bulletin d’information de télécom CRTC 2011-693, 8 novembre 2011
  • Lignes directrices à l’égard des Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC, Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-959, 23 décembre 2010